Clicking on banner ads keeps JWR alive
Jewish World Review June 16, 1999 /2 Tamuz, 5759

Mona Charen

Mona Charen
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Tony Snow
Michael Barone
Dave Barry
Kathleen Parker
Dr. Laura
Michael Kelly
Bob Greene
Michelle Malkin
Paul Greenberg
MUGGER
David Limbaugh
David Corn
Marianne Jennings
Sam Schulman
Philip Weiss
Mort Zuckerman
Richard Chesnoff
Larry Elder
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Don Feder
Linda Chavez
Mona Charen
Thomas Sowell
Walter Williams
Ben Wattenberg

Econophone

Hide and seek

http://www.jewishworldreview.com --
WEDGED UNDER DAVID'S BED, hidden by the trundle, I lie in the dark listening to the patter of my three sons. We are playing hide and seek -- not everyone's idea of a good way to settle the children before bedtime -- but it's our way. Rarely during the day do I witness the kind of brotherly cooperation and elan that the three boys demonstrate when searching for Mom. Jonathan, 7, attempts to take command of the operation.

"OK," he announces, in his best platoon-leader voice, "she's not in here. We need to split up. David, you go that way. Ben, you check in there. I'll go this way."

Benjamin, at 3, is wary of hunting around for a missing mommy all alone. "I think we need to work together as a team," he advises Jonathan. Jonathan is willing to let Ben tag along, just so long as the action continues and the talking is kept to a minimum. David follows. So much for Jon's plan.

When they do eventually find me, the moment is one of surpassing excitement and delight. There are shrieks and war whoops and victory dances. But while David and Ben are enjoying the moment, relishing their discovery, Jonathan is already chasing out of the room, shouting, "Let's do it again!" He is a man of action.

It confused me mightily, when Jonathan was younger, that he didn't like to be read to. Later, we discovered that he has difficulty understanding spoken language. Thirty or 40 percent of the words he hears don't get processed, which is frustrating for him and for those around him. Add to that the physical need to be active -- this is a child who does cartwheels while putting on pajamas -- and you have a challenge.

Now that he is reading, his innate preference for visual learning can open the world to him. If he can hold still long enough to find it ...

But at bedtime, asking Jonathan to read quietly to himself is like asking the bullet train to pull cargo. Only after he has discharged some of his rocket thrusters can he imagine settling into bed.

The oldest child sets the tone for the family in very many ways. And though David and Benjamin love to read and be read to, they soak up Jonathan's energy when he's around. Many is the night when I stand in the kids' bathroom, a Barney toothbrush in hand, while a blur of children flies by. I announce, with varying degrees of exasperation, "There will be no 10 minutes tonight if I don't see three boys in this bathroom by the time I count to 3." ("Ten minutes" is code for the special playtime before bed. It is also wildly inaccurate, since it always stretches to at least 30 minutes.) Good cheer and a sense of humor are vital tools in the parental arsenal. It is so easy to feel persecuted by children, annoyed by their dawdling, exasperated by their lack of forethought, appalled by their table manners. But if you can manage to keep your sense of humor, you can assert authority without feeling or acting churlish.

And let's face it, children are incredibly easy to entertain. We do our own version of Fractured Fairy Tales, in which I tell a familiar story using the wrong words ("Little Red Riding Wood") or mispronounced words ("If you give a moose a muddle"). This reduces the younger two to such paroxysms of hilarity that tears roll down their dewy cheeks and they gasp for breath. With adults, I can make the occasional (OK, once in a blue moon) witty riposte, but with children, I am Bill Cosby.

They are all beyond babyhood now. None in diapers. The bottles have all been stored away. The crib stands empty, as Ben has decamped permanently for David's trundle bed. Ben is still round and diminutive, but the older two are beginning to look like little men. David is planning to be a paleontologist and president of the United States (his platform: He will not lie). Jon is going to be an athlete. Ben is thinking of becoming a fireman/astronaut/cowboy.

I am savoring their evanescent youth.


JWR contributor Mona Charen reads all of her mail. Let her know what you think by clicking here. Please bear in mind, though, that while all letters are read, due to the heavy amount of traffic, not all letters can be answered.


Up

06/14/99: Impervious to the evidence
06/09/99: Unsung heroes
06/01/99: For $ale
05/26/99: Best friend these girls ever had
05/24/99: Baby Hope continued
05/20/99: Say no to the Gore tax
05/17/99: Baby Hope
05/13/99: Other high crimes
05/10/99:Three cheers for uniforms
05/05/99: Voucher opponents' worst nightmare
05/03/99: Lessons of Columbine High
04/28/99: Kevorkian is stopped
04/26/99: "Senseless tragedy"?
04/22/99: Hey, hey, ... Bubba
04/19/99: Why we are in Kosovo
04/15/99: Hooray for the NYPD
04/09/99: How to do something about taxes
04/06/99:Can the private sector handle foster care?
03/31/99: The Flower Child goes to war
03/29/99: Foreign-policy meltdown
03/25/99: 'Just doin' it'
03/22/99: Return of pay equity?
03/16/99: St. Hillary
03/10/99: Rodney King in perspective
03/08/99: Monica's story: No morals
03/04/99: Not home but library alone:
3/02/99: Tuning our racial sensitivities
2/27/99: Cease-fire in war between sexes?
2/23/99: Where were the religious voices?
2/19/99: Depends what you mean by "acting"
2/17/99: As Minn., goes so goes the nation?
2/09/99: Prepare for post-impeachment spin
2/03/99: Teaching morality
2/01/99: What did he say?
1/26/99: The truth about the Peace Process
1/22/99: The vulgar decade
1/19/99: Was Jefferson libeled by DNA?
1/13/99: The backlash picks up speed
1/11/99: Who invented politics of personal destruction?
1/07/99: Shall we dance?
1/05/99: Try him!
12/30/98: The price of virtue
12/28/98: The gift of giving
12/22/98: Party of shame, party of shamelessness
12/18/98: Wag the country
12/16/98: Is this impeachment constitutional?
12/14/98: Republicans find courage
12/09/98: Nappy Hair and other racial slurs
12/07/98: Stranger in a strange land
12/02/98: Dangerous ground
11/30/98: Involuntary fatherhood?
11/24/98: Lies, damned lies, and sex lies
11/18/98: Another victory for cowardice
11/16/98: Separatism plus welfarism equals a dead end
11/10/98: Did conservatism lose campaign '98?
11/06/98: Democrat venality, Republican timidity
11/04/98: Are girls being shortchanged?
11/02/98: Believe the children?
10/28/98: What 'Measure 58' would do
10/26/98: The officers are bailing out
10/20/98: Using Matthew Shepard's murder
10/19/98: The school voucher that saved a family
10/14/98: Are powerful women different?
10/09/98: Can just sex be impeachable?
10/07/98: Repeal Miranda
10/02/98: Understanding the polls
10/01/98: What school texts teach about marriage
9/28/98: Fear of choice
9/23/98: A fork in the road: Bubba's fate and ours
9/18/98: Christianity and the Holocaust
9/16/98: The national dirty joke
9/11/98: Are we in crisis?
9/09/98: Does Burton's sin let Clinton off the hook?
9/07/98: Liar's Poker
9/01/98: One, two, three
8/28/98: Fat and folly
8/25/98: When homework is a dirty word
8/21/98: The unravelling
8/18/98: The wages of dishonesty
8/17/98: Sex, honor and the presidency
8/12/98: Pro-choice extremist
8/10/98: Switch illuminates biology's role
8/05/98: The presumption of innocence and the American way
8/03/98: An American hero
7/29/98: Lock up those who need psychiatric care
7/24/98: Making the military more like us
7/22/98: The 'Net sex hoax... and us
7/20/98: Disappointed by Cosbys
7/15/98: Feelings, not morality, rule
7/10/98: Guns as the solution?
7/8/98: Teacher preacher
7/6/98: The China behind the headlines
7/1/98: What is the First Amendment for?
6/26/98: The Republican city
6/24/98: Poison pen
6/22/98: Clinton: inventing his own reality?
6/16/98: Senator mom?
6/12/98: Wisconsin: a trail blazer?
6/9/98: These girls say no to sex, yes to excellence
6/5/98: Lewinsky's ex-lawyer would feel right at home as Springer guest
6/2/98: English? Si; Republican? No!
5/29/98: The truth about women and work
5/27/98: Romance in the '90s
5/25/98:Taxing smokers for fun and profit
5/19/98: China's friend in the White House
5/15/98: Look out feminists: here comes the true backlash
5/12/98: The war process?
5/8/98: Where's daddy?
5/5/98: The joys of boys
5/1/98: Republicans move on education reform
4/28/98: Reagan was right
4/24/98: The key to Pol Pot
4/21/98: The patriot's channel
4/19/98: Child-care day can't replace mom
4/15/98: Tax time
4/10/98: Armey states obvious, gets clobbered
4/7/98: A nation complacent?
4/1/98: Bill Clinton's African adventure
3/27/98: Understanding Arkansas
3/24/98: Jerry Springer's America
3/20/98: A small step for persecuted minorities
3/17/98: Skeletons in every closet?
3/13/98: Clinton's idea of a fine judge
3/10/98: Better than nothing?
3/6/98: Of fingernails and freedom
3/3/98: Read JWR! :0)
2/27/98: Dumb and Dumber
2/24/98: Reagan reduced poverty more than Clinton
2/20/98: Rally Round the United Nations?
2/17/98: In Denial
2/13/98: Reconsidering Theism
2/10/98: Waiting for the facts?
2/8/98: Cat got the GOP's tongue?
2/2/98: Does America care about immorality?
1/30/98: How to judge Clinton's denials
1/27/98: What If It's Just the Sex?
1/23/98: Bill Clinton, Acting Guilty
1/20/98: Arafat and the Holocaust Museum
1/16/98: Child Care or Feminist Agenda?
1/13/98: What We Really Think of Abortion
1/9/98: The Dead Era of Budget Deficits Rises Again?
1/6/98: "Understandable" Murder and Child Custody
1/2/98: Majoring in Sex
12/30/97: The Spirit of Kwanzaa
12/26/97: Food fights (Games children play)
12/23/97: Does Clinton's race panel listen to facts?
12/19/97: Welcome to the Judgeocracy, where the law school elite overrules majority rule
12/16/97: Do America's Jews support Netanyahu?


©1999, Creators Syndicate