Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review Dec. 22, 2003 / 27 Kislev 5764

Steve Young

Steve Young
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


2003's Great Failures, 2004's Benefits

http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | "When one door closes, another opens."
     "Problem are only opportunities in work clothes."
               "What does not kill us makes us better."


Great sentiments all, but when you're in the midst of some adversity, the only person you want killed is the one who has the gall to dare try to encourage you with some goody-goody rationale However, these oft expressed beliefs, obnoxious as we may find them, are true, but only if you take the action to make them so.


2003 brought us a great many failures, mistakes and adversity, but in each disappointment and disaster there lie a seed of something better. If only we would plant the seed and take the actions necessary to make it grow. It's called learning from your mistakes. Of course, some people never learn. And if the offending party chooses not to make hay from their faux pas, that's not to say the rest of us can't. It was Elizabeth Roosevelt who gave us another failure positive adage of which we can all take advantage: Learn from the mistakes of others. You can't live long enough to make them all yourself.


2003's Best Failures:


2003 Adversity: Michael Jackson dangles his son over a balcony.


What he could have learned: You don't play dangerously with children.


Did he learn?: Jackson is arrested for child abuse of someone else's son.


How we can benefit in 2004: Never let your ten-year-old child accept a sleepover invite from a forty-five year-old child who's erased his face.


2003 Adversity: Gigli starring Ben Affleck and Jennifer Lopez


What could they have learned: Never make another movie where they both appear.


Did they learn? : Jersey Girl (2004)


How we can benefit in 2004: Do not let yourself or your children or your children's children buy a ticket (or even use a free pass) to see Jersey Girl.


2003 Adversity: CBS president Les Moonves greenlights, The Reagans, an MOW that seemed to denigrate former President Reagan unfairly and ended up had to take a financial bath by sending over to Showtime.

Donate to JWR

What could he have learned?: Never mess with a sensitive subject when it's so darn obvious that you're playing with fire, it has no real creative justification and it's just plain asinine to air it.


Did he learn? : Michael Jackson CBS Special


How can we benefit in 2004? : Watch HBO.


2003 Adversity: It is revealed that Bill Bennett, author of "Book of Virtues" gambled away millions of dollars.


What he could have learned: People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.


Did he learn?: He defended this particular sin was not one of the sins he spoke out against.


How we can benefit in 2004?: Learn that the loftier the pedestal the more painful the fall (and it wouldn't hurt to build your house with a minimal amount of glass).


2003 Adversity: Bill O'Reilly and Fox sue Al Franken for using Bill's likeness and Fox's "Fair and Balanced" slogan.


What he could have learned: Let sleeping dogs lie, especially the ones eating out your insides.


Did he learn?: He then blasted NPR's Terry Gross for interviewing him unfairly causes Gross's "Fresh Air" ratings through the roof.


How we can benefit in 2004: Anyone planning to write a book only needs to add a chapter castigating Bill O'Reilly so that he makes it a talking point, or G-d-willing, forces Fox News to sue you. Should work for children's picture's books too: I'll get you started.


See Al ridicule Bill.


See Bill get red.


See Bill get real red.


See Bill sue.


See Al's book go to number one on Amazon.


See Al smile on the way to the bank.



JWR contributor Steve Young, Prism Award winner and Humanitas Prize nominee for his television writing, is film correspondent for BBC radio. He is the author of "Great Failures of the Extremely Successful: Mistakes, Adversity, Failure and Other Stepping Stones to Success," "The 130 Tales of Winchell Mink," Harper Collins (Winter, 2003) and the director/writer of "My Dinner With Ovitz." His website is www.greatfailure.com. Comment by clicking here.

12/08/03: FOR CONSERVATIVES ONLY: Settle My Bet With An Absolutely Anonymous Talk Show Host
12/02/03: Will Nike Soon Be Scouting In Elementary School? In Utero?
11/24/03: Where were you? New JFK Book Illustrates That Celebrity Doesn't Protect One From Our National Pain
11/11/03: Pride more precious than lives?: Sean Hannity is the right man to reverse the maddening trend
11/06/03: Everyone will be disappointed with "Saving Jessica Lynch" — except the audience
10/27/03: First It Was Reagan, Now There's A Possibility It's Lynch: Is Hollywood Determined To Turn Out Their Own Truth?
10/24/03: RUSH'S FAILURE CREATES POSSIBILITIES FOR US ALL: A Thank You To JWR Readers
10/16/03: This ‘flaming lib’'s wishes for Limbaugh
09/03/03: The louder the bias, the greater the audience: Interrupting Opposing Views Has Become An Art
08/12/03: Lib judges will be the ruin of civilization At Least The Comedy Part
08/06/03: Bozo drops out : "California race too silly," says top clown
08/05/03: July 30th has come and gone
07/28/03: Buy Your Very Own Governor on eBay: Recall's On. Count Me In
07/14/03: "THE CIA DID IT." YEAH, THAT'S THE TICKET
07/10/03: OPEN LETTER TO PRESIDENT BUSH: Please Don't Make Me Put My Family Back On Ebay
07/07/03: The failure of our schools stems from our schools' failure to understand the value of failure: Profiting From an Ignored Resource Saves Money And Kids
06/23/03: AN OPEN LETTER TO AL GORE: I Pledge To Be A Great Liberal Talk Show Host
06/17/03: THE CLASS OF '03 MUST BE WILLING TO FAIL: An Unauthorized Commencement Speech
06/12/03: A lib's (maybe) last love letter to Sean Hannity
06/02/03: I WANT TO BE SEAN HANNITY
05/27/03: No popcorn refills? What's next, no stealing Sweet & Low?
05/19/03: Measuring failure of character is an uneven science: Failure May In Fact Be A+
05/16/03: Liar, liar, American Idol's on fire?
04/16/03: TAKE ME OUT OF THE BALL GAME: Politics pitched at national pastime and baseball strikes out
04/11/03: Goodbye Shecky Al-Sahaf, We Hardly Knew Ye
04/04/03: An open letter to the right...and left
03/25/03: Should we be funny during war?
03/19/03: The 2003 Academy aWARds
03/04/03: Energy shortage vs energy profit: A Political Primer
02/28/03: Celebrities for war
02/20/03: So you want to be a liberal talk show host
02/18/03: The Sting, Part II: Osama turns himself in
02/10/03: Michael Jackson threat level raised to "orange"
02/07/03: LET'S GET RID OF SADDAM --- ON EBAY!
01/23/03: Can we really blame HBO for terrorism?
01/09/03: You can buy your very own family...on eBay
01/02/03: A look back at a sorry but pretty funny year
12/30/02: Using 2002s failures to make a successful 2003
12/20/02: McCartney Credit Reverse Sets A Dangerous Precedent
12/18/02: Radio talk takes a surprise hit
12/16/02: Apologies running rampant: The country is in a sorry state
12/13/02: Lott apologizes for his apologies
12/09/02: FDA OKAYS "SOLARIS" FOR TREATMENT OF SLEEP APNEA
11/26/02: Finding the McTunity within their McFailure
11/15/02: Can the Dems learn from Lincoln's failures?
11/06/02: The Day After... who'll comfort me now?
11/04/02: We can all fight ageism!
10/29/02: Was I totally responsible for the market's upsurge?
10/09/02: Finding The Bull Within: Wall Street Needs To Rethink The "F" Word
10/01/02: Merriam-Webster Needs To Rethink the "F" word
09/25/02: Held up in the passing lane ... and life's other positive curve balls
09/23/02: Shrinking the waist problem: Using Good Old American Failure To Lose Inches
09/17/02: Earth to Florida: No more elections
09/11/02: The humor will return. Just not yet
09/09/02: Bush coalition on fast track
08/30/02: N'Sync's Bass gets NASA okay: Former astronauts Gagarin and Glenn form boy band
08/21/02: Insider trading...it's a good thing
08/05/02: America goes Madison Ave.: The Selling of America
07/29/02: ROCKIN' RENO: The Newest Political Strategy For Filling The Coffers
07/23/02: Is Wall Street the enemy? No, but that's where the enemy hides
07/10/02: Cooking the books
06/27/02: Apocalypse now!?
06/14/02: Coulter for the defense?
05/21/02: SUICIDE BOMBER KILLS SELF! NO ONE ELSE INJURED! Inept bomber is refused entrance into Paradise. 72 Virgins breathe sigh of relief
05/19/02: Hey world! How about trying the shoe on the other foot hypotheses
05/13/02: AM Radio and Enron
05/03/02: "Deep Throat" to Be Revealed ... But will America Swallow It!?
04/29/02: Britney Spears next in line to blast off into orbit
04/22/02: Former Liberal Seeks Conservative Book Deal
04/15/02: If you truly care about America, you'll read this column
04/01/02: My Uncle Miltie
03/27/02: The Fightin' Righties
03/20/02: Woody Allen refuses to cast self...
03/18/02: The Realies
02/19/02: Greenspan Announces Lower (Television Network) Interest Rates
02/15/02: Ken Lay sells soul to the devil: Beelzebub loses life's savings
02/12/02: Enron's Skilling mistakenly takes the Fourth, forcing him to spill his guts
02/06/02: BOOSTING THE SAGGING ECONOMY: Let Green Stamps be our financial brassiere
01/24/02: "I'M THE ONE!"
01/16/02: Goodbye "Rincoln Continental," we hardry knew ye
01/14/02: "But He Was Such A Good Boy" gene, found to be defective
01/04/02: PLAY BUZKASHI!
12/31/01: Come on war. You can do better!
12/26/01: NOT MY OSAMA!
12/24/01: TIME caves
12/20/01: Finally! Friends of Color
12/14/01: Bin Laden's Funniest Home Videos
12/10/01: What if Catching bin Laden is in dispute?
11/30/01: Back to normal...too bad
11/16/01: Osama not enough for some
11/09/01: Networks at war!
11/05/01: Bridges Over Troubled Water
10/29/01: The other terrorists
10/16/01: Diary Of A Young Defense Department Comedy Writer
10/01/01: Playlands, burgers, and family sanity
09/25/01: Dissent is walking on red, white and blue egg shells
09/21/01: OPEN LETTER THE MOST HIGH (RE: Falwell and Robertson comments)
09/17/01: Gary, we miss ya
09/10/01: Smelling out a real hero
09/04/01: Don't give up on that dream!
08/24/01: Pitch day at the Mouse
08/21/01: It Depends On What Your Definition Of "Unlimited" Is
08/06/01: IN OPEN LETTER FROM THE NEWS ORGANIZATIONS AND TALK SHOWS OF AMERICA

Up

© 2002, Steve Young