Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review August 5, 2003 / 7 Menachem-Av 5763

Steve Young

Steve Young
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


July 30th has come and gone


Someone Owes Hans Blix A Big Apology. Don't Hold Your Breath.



http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Wednesday, July 30. The U.S. has officially been in Iraq for 112 days. U.N. weapons inspectors were in Iraq for 111 days, ending March 18, 2003 when the Bush Administration said "they've had enough time."

Unless we're going to accept that an Iraqi scientist, who on his own, decided to bury some pieces of a nuclear device in his backyard TWELVE YEARS AGO, as evidence of Saddam Hussein's having WMD at the ready, we have officially now spent more time not finding WMD in Iraq than the U.N. inspectors did.

So, any time soon will we be hearing the following from the White House?

"We've had more than enough time," declares President Bush. "I'm giving us 48 hours to get out of Iraq there or we're going in"

I'm not holding my breath.

If I remember it right, Hans Blix and approximate 250 inspectors, were deemed by many as inept. The number of "coalition" forces now in Iraq numbers around 150,000. If I remember it right AM radio added: incompetent, bungling, sloppy and in some cases, in bed with Saddam, to the damning list.

So, any time soon will we be hearing the following from Sean Hannity.

"Mr. President. Our military personnel and intelligence agencies are incompetent, bungling, sloppy and in some cases, in bed with Saddam, wherever he is. My listeners and I are giving you 48 hours to get out of Iraq there or I'm sending Flipper in."

I'm not holding my breath.

Oliver North referred to Han Blix and the UN inspectors as blind mice. I would assume that means he now thinks the U.S. military is blinder mice. Shame on him. A veteran yet.

Should Hans Blix get on the told-ya-so circuit? Why? Surely those who tore him a new one are now ready to sew that one back up. Like say...

"Here's my No Spin Zone Talking Point today. I was wrong about Blix. I was wrong about the WMD. I was wrong about those Hollywood folks. Sorry. Okay. But I still think the French suck. What say you?" Don't hold your breath..

When the U.N. said privately in January 2002 that Blix would lead an inspections team into Iraq, Deputy Secretary of Defense, Paul Wolfowitz asked the CIA to produce a report on why Blix failed to detect Iraqi nuclear activity during the 1980s and 1990s,

Will Wolfowitz now ask the CIA for a similar report on the U.S. military's failure in to find WMD?

Since CIA chieftain George Tenet literally stood (sorry...sat) behind Secretary of State Colin Powell's U.N. accusations and locations of Iraqi WMD will Wolfowitz now ask the CIA to produce a report on the CIA's failure to locate the WMD?

Still holding your breath?

Frank Gaffney, president of the Center for Security Policy said that Hans Blix could not find a smoking gun if it were under his pillow. "I think it's something he's constitutionally incapable of doing, Hans Blix is not up to the job." Will Gaffney join the legions of Conservatives waiting in line to issue mea culpas?

All together now. Exhale.

Fred Ikle, a defense expert with the Center for Strategic and International Studies, said that the idea of the U.N. conducting Iraqi weapons inspections is flawed. "It cannot really work as long as the [Iraqi] dictatorship has control over the people and can intimidate the scientists by killing them or moving their families away or arresting their families," said Ikle

Does Fred think that Saddam is still intimidating the scientists or is the U.S. military now the ones threatened by the Running Man? Will the Center for Strategic and International Studies issue a retraction?

Doubt it.

That's the great thing about centers who issue policy papers and apologist talk radio. The urge to apologize never seems to surface as in a simple "Folks. I got to tell you...I was wrong." As Holly Hunter was asked in BroadcastNews, "It must be hard being right all the time" Not if you're syndicated.

Well, apologies are way past due and just in case the righteous folk who smeared Blix unmercifully are too busy looking for WMD or another scapegoat for our administration's failures and misspeaks, let me save you the breath. Sorry, Hans.

There, I feel much better. How about you?



JWR contributor Steve Young, Prism Award winner and Humanitas Prize nominee for his television writing, is contributing editor at the Writers Guild of America's "Written By" magazine. He is the author of "Great Failures of the Extremely Successful: Mistakes, Adversity, Failure and Other Stepping Stones to Success," "The 130 Tales of Winchell Mink," Harper Collins (Winter, 2003) and the director/writer of "My Dinner With Ovitz." His website is www.greatfailure.com. Comment by clicking here.

07/28/03: Buy Your Very Own Governor on eBay: Recall's On. Count Me In
07/14/03: "THE CIA DID IT." YEAH, THAT'S THE TICKET
07/10/03: OPEN LETTER TO PRESIDENT BUSH: Please Don't Make Me Put My Family Back On Ebay
07/07/03: The failure of our schools stems from our schools' failure to understand the value of failure: Profiting From an Ignored Resource Saves Money And Kids
06/23/03: AN OPEN LETTER TO AL GORE: I Pledge To Be A Great Liberal Talk Show Host
06/17/03: THE CLASS OF '03 MUST BE WILLING TO FAIL: An Unauthorized Commencement Speech
06/12/03: A lib's (maybe) last love letter to Sean Hannity
06/02/03: I WANT TO BE SEAN HANNITY
05/27/03: No popcorn refills? What's next, no stealing Sweet & Low?
05/19/03: Measuring failure of character is an uneven science: Failure May In Fact Be A+
05/16/03: Liar, liar, American Idol's on fire?
04/16/03: TAKE ME OUT OF THE BALL GAME: Politics pitched at national pastime and baseball strikes out
04/11/03: Goodbye Shecky Al-Sahaf, We Hardly Knew Ye
04/04/03: An open letter to the right...and left
03/25/03: Should we be funny during war?
03/19/03: The 2003 Academy aWARds
03/04/03: Energy shortage vs energy profit: A Political Primer
02/28/03: Celebrities for war
02/20/03: So you want to be a liberal talk show host
02/18/03: The Sting, Part II: Osama turns himself in
02/10/03: Michael Jackson threat level raised to "orange"
02/07/03: LET'S GET RID OF SADDAM --- ON EBAY!
01/23/03: Can we really blame HBO for terrorism?
01/09/03: You can buy your very own family...on eBay
01/02/03: A look back at a sorry but pretty funny year
12/30/02: Using 2002ís failures to make a successful 2003
12/20/02: McCartney Credit Reverse Sets A Dangerous Precedent
12/18/02: Radio talk takes a surprise hit
12/16/02: Apologies running rampant: The country is in a sorry state
12/13/02: Lott apologizes for his apologies
12/09/02: FDA OKAYS "SOLARIS" FOR TREATMENT OF SLEEP APNEA
11/26/02: Finding the McTunity within their McFailure
11/15/02: Can the Dems learn from Lincoln's failures?
11/06/02: The Day After... who'll comfort me now?
11/04/02: We can all fight ageism!
10/29/02: Was I totally responsible for the market's upsurge?
10/09/02: Finding The Bull Within: Wall Street Needs To Rethink The "F" Word
10/01/02: Merriam-Webster Needs To Rethink the "F" word
09/25/02: Held up in the passing lane ... and life's other positive curve balls
09/23/02: Shrinking the waist problem: Using Good Old American Failure To Lose Inches
09/17/02: Earth to Florida: No more elections
09/11/02: The humor will return. Just not yet
09/09/02: Bush coalition on fast track
08/30/02: N'Sync's Bass gets NASA okay: Former astronauts Gagarin and Glenn form boy band
08/21/02: Insider trading...it's a good thing
08/05/02: America goes Madison Ave.: The Selling of America
07/29/02: ROCKIN' RENO: The Newest Political Strategy For Filling The Coffers
07/23/02: Is Wall Street the enemy? No, but that's where the enemy hides
07/10/02: Cooking the books
06/27/02: Apocalypse now!?
06/14/02: Coulter for the defense?
05/21/02: SUICIDE BOMBER KILLS SELF! NO ONE ELSE INJURED! Inept bomber is refused entrance into Paradise. 72 Virgins breathe sigh of relief
05/19/02: Hey world! How about trying the shoe on the other foot hypotheses
05/13/02: AM Radio and Enron
05/03/02: "Deep Throat" to Be Revealed ... But will America Swallow It!?
04/29/02: Britney Spears next in line to blast off into orbit
04/22/02: Former Liberal Seeks Conservative Book Deal
04/15/02: If you truly care about America, you'll read this column
04/01/02: My Uncle Miltie
03/27/02: The Fightin' Righties
03/20/02: Woody Allen refuses to cast self...
03/18/02: The Realies
02/19/02: Greenspan Announces Lower (Television Network) Interest Rates
02/15/02: Ken Lay sells soul to the devil: Beelzebub loses life's savings
02/12/02: Enron's Skilling mistakenly takes the Fourth, forcing him to spill his guts
02/06/02: BOOSTING THE SAGGING ECONOMY: Let Green Stamps be our financial brassiere
01/24/02: "I'M THE ONE!"
01/16/02: Goodbye "Rincoln Continental," we hardry knew ye
01/14/02: "But He Was Such A Good Boy" gene, found to be defective
01/04/02: PLAY BUZKASHI!
12/31/01: Come on war. You can do better!
12/26/01: NOT MY OSAMA!
12/24/01: TIME caves
12/20/01: Finally! Friends of Color
12/14/01: Bin Laden's Funniest Home Videos
12/10/01: What if Catching bin Laden is in dispute?
11/30/01: Back to normal...too bad
11/16/01: Osama not enough for some
11/09/01: Networks at war!
11/05/01: Bridges Over Troubled Water
10/29/01: The other terrorists
10/16/01: Diary Of A Young Defense Department Comedy Writer
10/01/01: Playlands, burgers, and family sanity
09/25/01: Dissent is walking on red, white and blue egg shells
09/21/01: OPEN LETTER THE MOST HIGH (RE: Falwell and Robertson comments)
09/17/01: Gary, we miss ya
09/10/01: Smelling out a real hero
09/04/01: Don't give up on that dream!
08/24/01: Pitch day at the Mouse
08/21/01: It Depends On What Your Definition Of "Unlimited" Is
08/06/01: IN OPEN LETTER FROM THE NEWS ORGANIZATIONS AND TALK SHOWS OF AMERICA

Up

© 2002, Steve Young