Jewish World Review Feb. 6, 2004 / 14 Shevat, 5764

Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Arianna Huffington
Jeff Jacoby
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Chance for big money slips through her fingers

http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | I was lugging groceries into the house, when I fumbled with the door and dropped one of the bags on my foot. The two girls immediately spun around and yelled, "SUE!"


"Are you crazy?" I snapped.


"A woman dropped a bag of groceries from Wal-Mart on her foot and is suing for $30,000," the youngest said. The kid jerked off my tennis shoe and peeled off my sock.


"What in blazes are you doing?" I asked. "We've got groceries to put away."


"I'm checking your toenails for damage. The woman suing filed a 14-page complaint citing injuries that included cracked and damaged toenails."


She carefully inspected my foot, turning it from side to side, top to bottom, paying particular attention to the baby toe. "Yes! You're in luck, Mom! I see blood."


"That's not blood, that's red nail polish."


"Do you feel any pain in your foot?" she asked.


"Only when you twist and turn it."


"Do you think anything might be broken? Try, Mom! It doesn't have to be a big bone; a tiny bone will do."


"My bones are fine."


"Could you walk with a limp? You won't have a chance in court without at least a limp."


"Forget it!" I said.


At that instant, the oldest daughter skidded into the kitchen with the bathroom scale in her arms.


"This is a strange time for a weigh-in, isn't it girls?"


"This isn't for you, it's for the groceries. The woman who's suing was carrying a bag packed with a jar of Miracle Whip, a bottle of ketchup, three cans of fruit, a bottle of ranch salad dressing and a bottle of mustard."


They gathered up the groceries scattered across the floor and gingerly piled them on the scale.


"Bad news," I overheard one of them said. "The woman suing had seven items in her bag, and Mom only has five."


"Yes, but the rump roast and fresh pineapple will make up the difference in weight," said the other.




Donate to JWR


"When did you two turn into Johnnie Cochrans, and what did you do with my daughters?" I demanded to know.


"Mom, you need to think carefully. The woman suing says the store overloaded her bag and put her in a 'position of peril.' At any time, did the store put you in a 'position of peril.'"


"Definitely. When I went through bakery and saw French bread was 'Buy one, get one free,' my diet and I were in a position of peril. When I went through frozen foods and saw vanilla fudge swirl ice cream on sale, when I saw the Sara Lee — "


"Mom, you can't blame the store for everything."


"You can't?"


"No, but according to this lawsuit you can blame them for almost everything. Did you ask the bagger to double or triple bag?"


"No. I only asked about the weather and his mother."


"We're running into a dead end, unless you think dropping this bag of groceries would, um, somehow, um, affect Dad."


"What do you mean?" I asked.


"Well, the woman's husband is also suing for $30,000 for loss of comfort."


"Your father turns to sports for comfort. As long as the remote works, we don't have a case. Besides, I know precisely what cause this accident. It was my own clumsiness, my own fault, my own stupid mistake."


"Maybe," the youngest said, "but you'll never get rich talking like that."

Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids and "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.). To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

01/30/04: Profanity brings out the f-word (fury)
01/23/04: Lots of labels in this union
01/16/04: Cheap eats in college? Use your noodle
01/02/04: 2003 boasted a cast of colorful characters
12/19/03: Hours at the stove, moments at the table
12/12/03: The way they dress, "boxers or briefs?" isn't a question
12/05/03: Hey, hey, we're the monkeys (or close enough)
11/26/03: Hardship? We don't know the meaning
11/21/03: Good kids! Wonder who raised them
11/14/03: Safety first, even when danger has passed
10/24/03: NFL fan learns to handle heightened sensations
10/03/03: Chipping away at misunderstood lists
09/26/03: Boundaries disappear, society pays the price
09/19/03: Easy (bike) rider
09/12/03: Got Mom?
09/05/03: S'Mores Maker threatens all we hold dear (and gooey)
07/25/03: Private journals, public records
07/25/03: Star appears bright-eyed, bushy-tailed
07/18/03: Girls pool talents for commercial success
07/11/03: Summer; the living is easy
07/03/03: Terrible twos make terrific workout
06/27/03: Emergency a matter of definition
06/13/03: A Father's Day roast for Mother Goose
06/05/03: Good examples of bad parenting
05/23/03: Faulty equations on the love calculator
05/16/03: Busted for Oreos!
05/09/03: Mom plus shipping equals excitement
05/02/03: Mom shudders at thought of the m-a-l-l
04/21/03: Mother Confessions
04/11/03: Husband snoring: Hit or mist
04/04/03: Flip flops hashed at the lunch table
03/28/03: Bare facts on protesters
03/21/03: Madonna: Like an Author
03/17/03: Mom develops rapport with son's answering machine
03/07/03: The call for courage
02/28/03: My relationship with Mister Rogers
01/31/03: Mom pushes memories out the door
01/24/03: Picture this! Human 'beans'
01/10/03: Password, please!
12/31/02: Who it was a good year for
12/06/02: Radio show guarantees family-size audience
12/02/02: High-seas adventure would enlist few takers today
11/15/02: Frozen turkey makes cook chicken out
11/15/02: What's going on with "going out?"
11/01/02: The crazy mind of middle-age
10/25/02: Relationship rooted in willow talk
10/18/02: The challenge of being spontaneous
10/11/02: No wheels, no keys, no problem?
10/04/02: Lessons of a childhood survivor --- my children's
09/20/02: "Cutting the Cord" to the Tube
09/13/02: Over there
08/30/02: The Last One Left
08/23/02: Rare sighting made on the patio
08/16/02: Kids get reality paycheck
08/08/02: We look like this . . . no, Kidman!
08/02/02: We should be a nation of 'nuts'!
07/26/02: Hold your applause --- please!
07/19/02: Greed and Mints on the Pillows
07/12/02: Remodeling: Blueprint for Disaster
07/08/02: The Botox wrinkle
06/28/02: One perfect day
06/21/02: Flush with excitement
06/14/02: The Ways a Father Says "I Love You"
06/07/02: Garage Sale Treasures
05/31/02: No Pudgy Hour at the gym
05/19/02: Ozzy, if you come for dinner, bring change
05/19/02: Instant Messaging and LOL
05/10/02: Some mothers get something more
05/03/02: I Nudge, Therefore I Am
04/25/02: Motherhood is seasonal work
04/19/02: Paper trail to college
04/12/02: What to cook or not to cook
03/31/02: Mom and Dad Break Curfew
03/22/02: Introducing P.P.M. (Partners Per Month)
03/15/02: Birth of a Pothole
03/08/02: When Enron Momma gets mad
03/01/02: Little hope for bookaholic
02/22/02: Wrestling with prejudice
02/15/02: Say What?
02/08/02: Kitchen intelligence
02/01/02: Age-old words
01/25/02: Abortion: Switching Sides
01/18/02: Kids, take note
01/11/02: The heart-stopper e-mail
01/04/02: The slightly sunny side of 2001
12/28/01: The Way Things Work
11/30/01: The Leftover Shuffle begins
11/27/01: Glasses bring age into focus
11/16/01: A different portion of Thanks
11/09/01: The Next Stage of Parenting
11/01/01: Of boys and patriotism
10/26/01: College Son the Invisible Man
10/19/01: Out of the closet ... and into the school
10/12/01: A Parent's Guide to Dating
10/05/01: "Taking Care of You"
09/28/01: Time indivisible
09/24/01: Refueling capitalism
09/14/01: A time to mourn
09/07/01: Lack of modesty stirs the troops
08/31/01: Scholarship search an education
08/24/01: The test for parents
08/17/01: Immodest proposals
08/10/01: Trying to R-r-r-re-re-relax
08/03/01: It may be shabby and chic, but it ain't cheap
07/20/01: Bride showered with sage advice
07/13/01: Baby Bear Finds Driving "Just Right"
07/06/01: Pale at the Thought of Bronze
06/29/01: A Dog's Best Friend
06/22/01: Rethinking fatherhood
06/14/01 Don't forget to lock the door
06/07/01 How grandma punishes her kids
06/01/01 Hearing voices
05/25/01 Cyborgs for Better or Worse
05/18/01 The death of Common Sense

© 2001, Lori Borgman