Jewish World Review Oct. 22, 2004 / 7 Mar-Cheshvan, 5765

Lloyd Grove

Grove
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

Red Sox fans in Yankee land; Moore dodging Arab journalists; Manye-do spirit; Martha's Most Wanted


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | NEW YORK — Some might call them the enemies in our midst.


But the Boston Red Sox fans who happen to live in New York simply call themselves winners.


On Thursday, they were gloating.


Here's a representative sample: Literary agent Esther Newberg: "I was just at Michael's wearing my Red Sox jersey. Steve, the maitre d', had bet me $20 that the Yankees would win the pennant. He hated paying me. Yes, I took money from a working stiff — and I did it with no compassion.


"I turned down a ticket to the last game of the series because I didn't want to be at Yankee Stadium. The last time I was there, they spat on me. But it's a great feeling to wake up to all these headlines. The best one was in The [New York] Daily News: 'HELL FREEZES OVER.' My G-d, it's so satisfying. At my ladies lunch today, there were a couple of Yankees fans, and it was just so humiliating for them. I am totally going to rub their faces in it. They all knew that I would, in fact, be a worse winner than a loser."


WNBC movie critic Jeffrey Lyons: "The night before the final game, there were a lot of Yankee fans sitting below me, yelling insults at me. The best was, 'Joel Siegel is a better critic than you!' Saturday night, I plan to be at Fenway — Mecca — for the first game of the World Series. But beating the Yankees is just so thrilling, everything after that is just gravy."


Bloomingdale's Chairman Michael Gould: "I've been in Chicago on some store visits, so I watched the last game in my hotel room. I was still nervous even when we were winning 10-3 and it was two outs in the ninth inning. Yogi Berra said it's never over till it's over. The lesson is: Never give up if you believe in something. Is it going to change the course of mankind? No. But it's fun."


Public-relations doyenne Lois Smith: "I've had a bad cold, and it made me feel so much better."


GQ publisher Peter Hunsinger: "Reverse the curse! What a great story of redemption! I'm in Milan on a sales trip, so I didn't get to watch, but the first thing this morning I called Michael Gould to celebrate. And I can tell you that all the Italians are very excited."


KANYE-DO SPIRIT


Say what you will about rap star Kanye West, he's not overconfident.


"I'm really skeptical about a lot of things, including myself," the 27-year-old hip-hop "It" boy confessed to this column the other night. "If I do say a statement and it comes off as arrogant or whatever, it only comes off arrogant because people can't handle the truth. So I'll say a statement: 'I brought Polo back.' It's not arrogant, it's the truth — it's up 30 percent this year!"


West still seemed stunned by the wild success of his 2.3 million-selling 2004 solo debut album, "The College Dropout."


"I was confident that I was going to put out the best product that I could, but I wasn't confident I was going to sell as many records as I did," he said. "I would have been happy just to go gold."


West sat with his mom, Donda West, at a Bulgari and GQ dinner for "Men Who Embody New York's Spirit and Style" at Table 50, where everyone from Al Sharpton to actor Stanley Tucci also feasted.


West's ideal fantasy guest-list?


"Dr. King, Jesus Christ — man this is a real serious question — Tupac, and I'd say my dad. Although in a way, any of those three — Dr. King, Jesus and Pac, are kinda like my dad."


THE BRIEFING


MARTHA'S MOST WANTED: I hear that NBC reality show guru Mark Burnett and reps for jailed domestic diva Martha Stewart have sealed the deal for an "Apprentice"-type reality show in which contestants compete for Stewart's approval. NBC and Burnett declined to comment Thursday, with Burnett cautioning: "Out of respect for Martha and out of respect for the legal system, I can't and won't talk about business with Martha because it's not appropriate." Stewart is forbidden from doing business while incarcerated at Alderson Federal Prison Camp in West Virginia. Dawn Zobel, a spokeswoman for the women's prison, said that any footage of Martha — for possible use in the show — must follow rigid guidelines: "Before anyone videotapes, we confer with the regional office and make sure that everybody agrees it's conducive to the mission and we're not violating security. Videotaping is only allowed on one wall in the visitation room during non-visitation days. The inmate needs to be stationary in a chair in one place." Doesn't sound terribly TV-friendly.


MOORE DODGING ARAB JOURNALISTS: The online news service Canada Free Press reports that Al Jazeera, the Arab television network prominently featured in Michael Moore's "Fahrenheit 9/11," is having trouble getting an interview with the liberal-populist filmmaker. "No problem, talk to my publicist," Marinka Peschmann's story says Moore told New York correspondent Abderrahim Foukara at the Democratic Convention. Nearly three months later, no interview. "I'm amazed that the maker of a controversial film wouldn't address 40 million Arabs throughout the world about issues that have a direct relevance to them," Foukara tells Peschmann. Moore's PR rep didn't respond Thursday.



Comment by clicking here.

Up

10/15/04: Jon Stewart: Novak "evil"!; stomach-turning Hollywood!; artful pander; more
10/13/04: Leonardo as Natural Man; Fake news vs. real news; The politics of Botox?; more
10/11/04: Edwards vs. Edwards?; hip-hop hatchet job; Martha & dirty — the new Regis & Kelly?; ground control to Major Dave
10/06/04: High Times over for marijuana mag?; CELEBRITY SYNERGY! MOBY DECONSTRUCTS THE OLSEN TWINS!; Too hot Hannity?
10/04/04: Black Rock third-degree; to live and fight in L.A.; more
09/29/04: Father's Day — NOT!; Strategy open to debate; Rocky loses to 65 year-old former boxer; more
09/24/04: Best of friends: Barbara, Dan and Martha; Bush debate; not so friendly
09/22/04: Will 'Details' writer sleep with the fishes?; THE FONZ SPEAKS!; Kerry a cheapskate?; the power of personal pronouns; more
09/20/04: Bow down to King Val; the campaign according to Graydon Carter; the Simple-minded; more
09/15/04: SMACKDOWN! "Access Hollywood" vs. "The Insider"; The red face; Love among the ruins?; more
09/10/04: Powell's 'crazy' quote; Gores, Gores everywhere; more
09/08/04: Like a lead balloon; first relief, then worry; godless elitism?; more
09/03/04: Zell gives Chris hell; But, wait, aren't they the First Daughters?; vote or die" plays the Garden; more
09/01/04: Angels — or devils?; Political stilettos?; Squirrely Furio?; Fraken crashes; joy of the Giulianis
08/27/04: Michael Moore in New Yawk; Red-State comedy; more
08/25/04: GOP glamour?; twins on the march!; Nick Berg's father is PO-ed
08/20/04: Kerry: The novel candidate?; introducing Miss Kimberly Jones; Is Paris Fry[ing]? 08/19/04: The rude, the bad, the ugly
08/17/04: Kerry's bad hair day?; spin control?; more
08/06/04: Flap at Ground Zero; weird premonition?; more
08/04/04: Teresa nailed?
07/30/04: Bubba goes shopping; in the Bono bubble; more
07/28/04: Hall of mirrors; clothes declare the candidate; more
07/26/04: Ethan's big night in L.A.; finally, a role for Al Gore?; that other MTV reality show Simpson; more
07/21/04: Love among the ruins; he ain't heavy, he's my brother; talk about playing Hardball!
07/16/04: Bad taste at James Beard Foundation; Hunted at Prey?; more
07/14/04: Sophie's fall; Bush's covert ops; celeb stew
07/09/04: Low-budget director in high-budget race; Warner Wolf's imaginary wild side; more
07/07/04: Spiderman fan shows Moore having trouble coping with his predictable fade; rock the vote?; more
07/04/04: Perky Katie: 'Our bad'; Skull & Bones may break him; more
06/30/04: Paul Bremer's rich narrative; lonely rich guy?; Jessica Simpson, patron airhead?; more
06/25/04: "Don't jump!"; Rocco's rocky night; Rules? Which rules?; more
06/18/04: NBA numbers crunch; rap reversal?; strange bedfellows; more
06/19/04: I caused Howard Stern to go berserk
06/16/04: Lindsay Lohan is so, um, differently abled; Bill (O'Reilly) is busted!; naughty Natalie; more
06/04/04: Gwyneth gets hers in the U.K.; lost — and found — in translation; ladies who lunch — and the men they won't eat with; more
06/02/04: Stern warnings; X-Tina, the brand name; separating the Olsen Twins
05/28/04: "Sly Fox" outwits New York Times review; talk to the animals; Can't this man be stopped?; more
05/25/04: Picking over Bones; "W" this!; Motherhood, anyone?; more
05/21/04: Not so Ruff Ryders; fantastic voyage; sweeps month stunt?; more
05/19/04: A hex on 'Mr. and Mrs. Smith'?; girls just wanna get mad; more
05/14/04: What it was like to be Kerry's 'mistress'; Curious George (Stephanopoulos); more
05/13/04: The young (and snarky) JFK; Did Ford have a better idea?; more
05/07/04: Teresa on TV; Joan Rivers: "C-Class" at best; red-faced apology; more
05/05/04: Burger brouhaha over meat movie; the Age of Adu; what a difference an indictment makes; more
04/23/04: Ahoy, Katie!; Barbara and Martha, together again!; unreality TV?; more
04/21/04: Things don't go better with Coke?; swipes from the grave; "Mami" to the rescue; more
04/16/04: Does this ‘Apprentice’ need some etiquette lessons?; Kerry's laff-riot stepson; fully baked?; more
04/14/04: Dick Clark's diabetes; Barbara Walters' $6 Million book; reality (television) bites; more
04/09/04: S-e-x and the Koran; PETA targets Beyonce; more
04/08/04: Stephen King vs. ABC; trapping the love rat; Liv-ing it up; more
04/02/04: Don't mess with Brooke Hogan's dad; lawyers dancing on the head of a pin?; Trump vs. Trump?; more
04/01/04: D'OH! "Simpsons" actors in dispute with Fox; Diane Sawyer and Janet Jackson won't be bosom buddies; Condi and Maxim?
03/31/04: Hair-raising day on Wall Street; Foxy lady loses 50 Cent; How do you say "party animal" in Hebrew?; Rev. Al and Janet Jackson; more
03/26/04: Bye, bye Banfield; from porn to politics?; more
03/24/04: The perils of film criticism; Dole-ing out compliments; but what about a cure for career lag?; more
03/19/04: Trump trumps everything; Mario vs. Joe; Trudeau pays up; more
03/17/04: Remembering Hillary %*&$#! Clinton; PUT AWAY THAT KRYPTONITE!; more
03/12/04: OOPS!, did Jayson Blair do it again?; skewing Young; more
03/10/04: The laugh that dare not speaks its name; Mistaken identity? NAH!; Is this a great country or what?
03/05/04: Bush vs. Kerry: a Skull session; Kramer vs. The Times, scorch session; enthusiasm curbed; (Tina) Brown-nosing?
03/03/04: Oscars memorialize Hitler's fave filmmaker; baubles, bangles and Kelly Osbourne; moonwalking through cyberspace; more
02/27/04: Regan rebellion; Ed Limato strikes again!; tears for Tom; more
02/26/04: McCain predicts a nasty campaign; the misdirected missive; Janet Jackson, the interview; more
02/20/04: Introducing the Kerry sisters; cyberflap!; Snoop Dogg v. O'Reilly?; more
02/18/04: John Kerry's Friendster?; On the mend?; food for fraughtm; more
02/13/04: John & Carolyn, redux; Zell Miller shows the flag; kill Quentin?; more
02/11/04: HE FEELS BAD!; Dick Cheney, still not dead; more
02/06/04: Glittering Grammys; a laurel for Janet; Haryl's heart
02/04/04: Shriver quits NBC; "Marshmallow" Mike Tyson?; Super Bowl propriety?; MTV's next production?; more
01/30/04: The political forehead front; Alies meets Franken; the art of the hype; arrested career development?
01/28/04: Eyebrow-raising politics; call him indescribable; Woods vs. Williams; more
01/23/04: Eyebrow-raising mystery; who's punk'd anyway?; don't curb your enthusiasm; more
01/21/04: Ridiculous lives of the self-important stars; long arm of the law; all's fair in love and literature
01/16/04: Global warming at a glacial pace; targeting pop culture; Is 'the price of loyalty' too high?
01/14/04: Busting on the "cult buster"; Sarsgaard thinks globally; one angry woman; more
01/08/04: Sitcom star won't be excused from Blake murder trial; fierstein on fire; Drudge & Blumenthal, together again
01/07/04: Bono hits a brick wall; Britney, before the nuttiness; the Arianna primary; more
01/02/04: Where have you gone, Joe DiMaggio!?; "Bachelor" bruises; Returning to the scene of the crime?
12/31/03: Disaster for the defense; no-war Omar; the shoe must go on; more
12/19/03: Bob Shapiro's free commercial?; Are sophisticated and hip New Yawkers easily duped?; Positive Saddam fallout?; Ratty insult?
12/17/03: Magic Mystery Tour?; Russell Simmons battles ink by the barrel; Would it have killed her to say 'get well soon'?; no Gest room
12/12/03: Karenna defends her dad; now she tells us!; say it ain't so, Mo!; more
12/10/03: Man & wife, interruptus; pepperoni has feelings, too; more
12/05/03: The knives are out; Who's sorry now?; JWR in the news
12/04/03: The war of the gest-minnellis; something borrowed, something cashmere; fashion trendsetter, nailed!
12/03/03: Colombian grace under pressure; Lord of the Screwups; more
12/02/03: Curb your anti-Semitism?; fame fatigue?; bowing to pressure?; more
12/01/03: Dennis the Menace strikes again; first literary feud of the holiday season; Norma Jean & Hef in heaven?; the fog of McNamara; more
11/26/03: Catherine Crier raps Jacko's TV defender, refuses on-air hint of racism; At 50, Tina's in full cry; STAY OUT OF HER WAY!; more
11/25/03: The mogul strikes back?; go ahead, make Harvey's day; more
11/24/03: Georgette's pilfered baubles; prosecutor of pop?; absent but not missed?; Norman Mailer's prescription for education reform; more
11/20/03: Is a movie career in store for Maria Bartiromo?; People for the Unethical Treatment of Humans?; more
11/19/03: Scientologists on Razor's edge?; picking a winner?; source on a hot tin roof?; more
11/18/03: Clay Aiken neuters PETA?; THEM'S FIGHTIN' WORDS!; a mural for Joe
11/17/03: When networks attack!; leaky Fawcett; forget the Paris Hilton video!; more
11/13/03: Publicity hounds; Prophetic priest; Dumb and Dumber
11/12/03: Not so Rosie; do you believe in miracles?; catalogue of sins; My Heart Belongs to Koppel
11/10/03: Gen. clark on the Subway diet; life of the party; MTV's Dumb and Dumber?; the hug issue; but does the $6,000 shower curtain convey?; red faces at Buckingham palace?
11/06/03: Let them eat pita?; verbal jousting; pretenders to the throne?
11/05/03: Will Harvey Weinstein and Gregg Easterbrook now be pals?; crazed Quentin; more
11/04/03: Herding off the hipsters; more
11/03/03: Dean's tell-all on himself?; Lisaraye vs. Mya?; the odd couple; no need to panic; just don't call him "Scooter"!; Rosie scenarios
10/30/03: Autumn of the editor?; Cynthia Nixon's split may be costly; 'Burning' questions
10/29/03: Ah-nold, unauthorized!; a dilemma for Melissa Gilbert? not even Frank Gifford can help him now!; nobody wanted Elizabeth Hurley
10/28/03: It's Cher calling!; Brown Alert
10/27/03: Paparazzi uncensored!; where's Aaron Brown?; postcards from the middle; invasion of the party snatchers?; House flooded when not afire?; suspenders of disbelief?
10/23/03: Ace up Howard Dean's sleeve; Woody's ordeal; Paul Simon's kid makes good; the non-beginning of a beautiful friendship?
10/22/03: Showing the flag; Joe Frazier, smokin'!; see Carville bruised-up — sort of
10/21/03: Morris & Jaci's charm offensive; Hell hath no fury; Wintertime for Hitler
10/20/03: Isn't it rich?; men (and the occasional woman) behaving badly; peacenik John Lennon supporting the U.S. military?; courageous Connie
10/16/03: George Clooney and intolerable Drudgery; Cameron goes native; and you thought the war in Iraq was nasty?; now it can be revealed; star wars?
10/15/03: Kerik into the breach?; holiday pander?; "the Dink" corrects the record; more
10/14/03: Madge gets mad, lips are sealed; the candidates who listen; he who hesitates is Beatty
10/13/03: Clothes, but no cigar; New Yorkers put a Sox in it; mad at Matalin?; more
10/09/03: Gray Davis goes to the movies; Ali Wentworth, working blue; Law & Order?; pot of gold at the end of the rainbow room?
10/08/03: Art-time for Hitler; the actress who hates movies; lying "Liam"
10/07/03: Pond scum of the rich and famous
07/24/03: Ali and George, living it up; Mel Gibson's Washington power play
07/21/03: White House smear?
07/17/03: Yet another intern scandal; it's her party and she can pay if she wants to
07/14/03: On the auction block: JFK'S boxer shorts; love bytes the maestro
07/10/03: A hairy situation at Homeland Security; Van Susteren v. Orth
06/30/03: Rep. Patrick Kennedy: I've never worked a (bleeping) day in my life; Drudge's dressing down; Ken Lay's Kerry connection
06/26/03: Rapping the beat
06/23/03: Another Watergate scandal?; AL GORE TV!
06/19/03: Tony Snow, rocker?; that won't be crow on Mr. Carlson's plate
06/16/03: Missing dog, ransom demand, Hollywood ending
06/12/03: Giving both parties the needle
06/09/03: WHAT DID SHE KNOW, AND WHEN DID SHE KNOW IT?
06/05/03: Incoming from Barbara Bush?
06/02/03: Bob Dole's plan for fighting unemployment
05/29/03: Newt's new novel
05/27/03: Hitchens & Blumenthal, together again; He still believes in a man called Hope
05/09/03: Close, but no cigar; Romeo & Juliet with a happy ending?; Geraldo to help Heebs?
05/05/03: So Bill Gates and Tom Brokaw walk into a coffee bar . . .; hotel hell; more

© 2003, Creators Syndicate