Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review Jan. 5, 2000 / 10 Teves, 5761

Michelle Malkin

JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

Cop-haters welcome
in Hollywood -- TOM ALCIERE, an obscure Republican lawmaker from New Hampshire, received nationwide media attention this week for posting remarks on the Internet about killing cops. What a fool. If Mr. Alciere had written his crude rantings in rhyme and embarked on a music career instead of a political one, he'd be making millions of dollars and winning Grammy Awards. Here are some of the statements Mr. Alciere sent to various online discussion groups:

  • "The Bill of Rights never got through a cop's head. The only thing that ever gets through a cop's head is a bullet."

  • "They're ALL enemy officers. Nobody will ever be safe until the last cop is dead."

  • "Nothing wrong with (killing an officer), since cops are nothing but a bunch of vicious, brutal, crooked, racist, obnoxious, perjuring, bullying thugs anyway."

  • "Speak highly of the cop-killers, for they are America's only hope. If you kill a cop, the news is fleeting, your message broadcast on one evening's news if you live to make it to trial. But cop-killers are there, and we can spread the glory of their deeds."

  • "There's nothing wrong with wasting cops. They go around threatening innocent, random people at gun point, and they whine about it when one of us humans kills a cop."

Outrageous rhetoric. But it's tame stuff compared to the violent sentiments spread by some of the country's most acclaimed rock and rap stars. Take Rage Against the Machine, the Grammy Award-winning band that has raised tens of thousands of dollars for convicted cop-killer Mumia Abu-Jamal and campaigns for the release of Leonard Peltier, convicted of killing two FBI agents in 1975.

The band's guitarist, Tom Morello, once said: "A good song should make you wanna tap your feet and get with your girl. A great song should destroy cops and set fire to the suburbs." Among Rage Against the Machine's "great songs" are the subtlely titled "Bullet in the Head" and "Guerrilla Radio," an ode to Mumia, which goes in part: "All you pen devils know the trial was vile/Army of pigs try to silence my style/Off em all out…"

Another angry tune, "Killing in the Name," shares Mr. Alciere's belief that cops are racist: "Some of those that work forces are the same that burn crosses…Born to die unjustified you wearin' the badge and your chosen white…Come on, f*** you, I won't do what you tell me."

Profanity is the key ingredient missing in Mr. Alciere's Internet expressions of hatred for law enforcement. To be successful in the anti-police niche of the entertainment business, he should take a few lessons from rapper Ice Cube and the lads of N.W.A., who penned the masterpiece, "F*** tha' police:"

A young n***** on the warpath
And when I'm finished
It's gonna be a bloodbath of cops
Dead around my way
Yo b****, I got somethin' to say

F*** the police, f*** the police, f*** 'em! (Surprise)
F*** the police, f*** the police, f*** 'em! (Surprise)
F*** the police, f*** the police, f*** 'em! (Surprise)
F*** the police (You're mothaf***in' right)

Also worthy of Mr. Alciere's study is the graphic reverie of Ice-T, the former Time-Warner rap star who crooned the classic "Cop Killer:"

"I got my twelve gauge sawed off
I got my headlights turned off
I'm ‘bout to bust some shots off
I'm ‘bout to dust some cops off!
Cop killer, it's better you than me
Cop killer, f*** police brutality
Cop killer, I know your family's grieving (F*** ‘em)
Cop killer, but tonight we get even (ha, ha, ha, ha, yeah!)

What's lunatic in New Hampshire is lucrative in Hollywood. When it comes to musical cop-haters, the mainstream press barely musters a peep of complaint. Mr. Alciere should resign from public office, buy a pair of dark sunglasses, gold chains, and a microphone, and call MTV. The next Eminem is on his way.

JWR contributor Michelle Malkin can be reached by clicking here.


01/02/01: Ignoring a hate crime in D.C.
12/26/00: Use ultrasound to combat abortion
12/26/00: Pardon Clinton? Just say no!
12/21/00: Smacking down free speech
12/18/00: Brace yourselves for Floridation
12/14/00: Blame enviros for electric mess
12/11/00: UNICEF's deadly mission
12/06/00: The Amish vs. the feds
12/04/00: Downey and the Drug War
11/29/00: Let the sun shine on the Supremes
11/22/00: Peace prize for a murderer?
11/20/00: Baby Boom parents are asleep on the job
11/15/00: Fog horns of the Fourth Estate
11/10/00: Who cares about election fraud now?
11/08/00: Ms. Houston, you have a problem
11/03/00: The Million Mom Murmur
11/01/00: GOP revolutionaries head for the hills
10/27/00: My impeachment referendum
10/25/00: Gore’s Good Daddy Gambit
10/23/00: Tribulations of a dubious 'tribe'
10/20/00: Pharmaceutical butchers of Beijing
10/16/00: How the West was seized
10/12/00: Fight the anti-pesticide pests
10/10/00: Moochers at the multiplex
10/05/00: Pay for your own day care
10/02/00: Not every senior demands a handout
09/27/00: Racial hype at the Olympics
09/25/00: Watch the other Washington
09/20/00: Textbook case of media arrogance
09/18/00: New York: Land of medical pork
09/13/00: Voices from the womb
09/11/00: No cure for generational pain
09/08/00: Notes on a West Coast wilding
09/06/00: Race matters at Washington Post
09/01/00: For those who labor 24/7
08/28/00: There's something about Rudy
08/25/00: A conservative case against Napster
08/22/00: Death Row Marv mocks justice
08/18/00: The party of Maxine Waters
08/14/00: "Make-A-Wish" shoots down dreams
08/10/00: Who will stop Bill Lann Lee?
08/07/00: Emily Dickinson's lesson for rude drivers
08/03/00: Leave the slogans behind
07/31/00: Hey, GM: Build cars, not quotas
07/28/00: Stop milking The Juice
07/24/00: Silencing Jeff Jacoby
07/21/00: Score another one for TV execs who want to keep us brain-dead
07/17/00: Can somebody say McStupid?
07/12/00: Beware of Ugly Building Syndrome
07/10/00: The miracle of a lead pencil
07/07/00: Partying on the people’s dime
06/29/00: When "Indians" exploit their own
06/23/00: Kids in a public school daze
06/21/00: Fed up with Fannie and Freddie
06/19/00: D.C.'s gag order for Christians
06/16/00: Dads, daughters, and PETA's spoilsports
06/13/00: Tune out Eminem's pitiful "poetry"
06/07/00: "Pained" Dem leader Torricelli deserves to feel some; Why hasn't he?
06/05/00: Tom Green's hidden health-care lesson
06/01/00: Farming out the pork
05/30/00: The perils of medical quackery
05/26/00: Awarding medals by race is a disgrace
05/22/00: Have Simon & Schuster execs lost their minds!?
05/17/00: Sports plebes vs. plutocrats
05/15/00: Whitewashing Red China's record
05/12/00: Our mothers' hands
05/08/00: Focus on the real Waco
05/05/00: An Internet victim's sad story
05/03/00: Phony pooh-bahs of journalism
05/01/00: Zoo tragedy triggers dumb reaction
04/24/00: Ecoterrorists on the loose
04/19/00: Beware of Elian's psychobabblers
04/17/00: The truth about Erin Brockovich
04/13/00: In defense of an armed citizenry
04/10/00: Playing hardball with taxpayers
04/06/00: Read W.'s lips: More new spending
04/04/00: The liberal media-in-training
03/31/00: Sticking it to the children
03/28/00: Declaring war on HOV lanes
03/22/00: Clinton and the Echo Boomers
03/17/00: Is Bush a Liddy Dole Republican?
03/13/00: Katie and the politics of disease
03/10/00: Maria H, Granny D, and the media Z's
03/07/00: Bubba Van Winkle wakes up
03/03/00: Double standard for day traders?
02/28/00: Sluts and nuts --- and our daughters
02/24/00: Zoning out religious freedom
02/15/00: The Baby Brain Boondoggle
02/10/00: Buddhist temple untouchables
02/08/00: CDC: Caught Devouring Cash
02/04/00: Hillary's poisoned poster child
02/01/00: Corporate welfare on ice
01/28/00: The silly sound of silence
01/26/00: The Old Media meltdown
01/20/00: The pied pipers of KidCare
01/18/00: Our imperious judiciary
01/14/00: Tune out Columbine chorus
01/12/00: Dying to be an American
01/10/00: Time for smokers' revolt?
12/30/99: Reading, writing, PlayStation?
12/27/99: Fight money-grubbing mallrats
12/23/99: Christmas for Cornilous Pixley
12/20/99: Who will help the Hmong?
12/16/99: Shame on corn-fed politicians
12/13/99: EPA vs. the American Dream
12/09/99: Look behind the Pokemon curtain
12/06/99: Amateur hour in Seattle
11/30/99: Stop the Ritalin racketeers
11/23/99: Welfare for a sports fatcat
11/19/99: Jeb Bush's political ploy of the week
11/16/99: Ben & Jerry serve up junk science
11/12/99: A monumental waste of our veterans' resources
11/10/99: Tax-and-spend schizophrenia
11/05/99: Spooky Guy Haunts the Capital
11/02/99: Mourning the loss of the last Liberty Tree
10/27/99: AOL goes AWOL on parents
10/22/99: The persecution of Harry Potter
10/20/99: Don't doctor the law
10/14/99: The trouble with kids today
10/12/99: Pro-animal, pro-abortion, anti-speech?
10/07/99: Beltway press corps needs more skunks
09/30/99: ESPN overlooks athlete of faith, grace, and guts
09/27/99: Personal freedom going up in smoke
09/15/99: Farewell, "Miss" America
09/10/99: Will George W. work for a color-blind America?
09/03/99: Feminization of gun debate drowns out sober analysis
08/27/99: America is abundant land of equal-opportunity insult
08/10/99: Protect the next generation from diversity do-goodism
08/04/99: Sweepstakes vs. state lottery: double standards on gambling
07/21/99: "True-life tales from the Thin Red Line" (or "Honor those who sacrificed their lives for peace")
07/21/99: Reading, 'Riting, and Raunchiness?
07/14/99: Journalists' group-think is not unity
06/30/99: July Fourth programming for the Springer generation
06/25/99: Speechless in Seattle
06/15/99: Making a biblical argument against federal death taxes

© 2000, Creators Syndicate