Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review Feb. 15, 2001 / 22 Shevat, 5761

Bruce Williams

Bruce Williams
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Term insurance on what terms?


http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- DEAR BRUCE: When talking about term insurance, you have often said that there are a couple of things that you are looking for, but, for the life of me, I cannot remember what they are. Could you please tell me again? -- E.M., DuVall, Wash.

DEAR E.M.: With regard to term insurance, it is my suggestion that (1) any policy be convertible, which means it can be changed to whole life at any time at the insured's request; and (2) it must be renewable without evidence of insurability, which simply means that the policy can be renewed even if you have a fatal disease. There are more than 1,000 companies issuing term insurance, so shop carefully.

DEAR BRUCE: I am a residential loan broker, and I generally deal with relatively modest sums of money. I now have a client interested in funding a large commercial venture -- $70 million. I was referred to a company overseas that says they will fund the project 100 percent for a fee of 5 percent at a rate of 6 percent interest on a 25-year term. They have asked my client to wire a due-diligence fee of $100,000 to cover insurance binders, accounting, etc. I think that this sounds too good to be true. -- Sony, via e-mail

DEAR SONY: I think so too. Six-percent money on a commercial venture? It's unheard of. And all they need is $100,000 up front. Not my $100,000, without an enormous amount of investigation! I think that you will find that, as you have said, it is too good to be true.

DEAR BRUCE: How is it that you can refer to making money in the stock market as "not rocket science," but in the next breath you say that you send your money to an investor and don't care what she buys? I was wondering how that works. You must really know where your money is going, don't you? -- G.B., via e-mail

DEAR G.B.: What I have said is that in my opinion investing money is like any other part of life. I believe in using the best experts I can find. When my body is in need of surgery, I want the best surgeon possible. If I have legal problems, I want the best lawyer possible. And when it comes to investing, I want the best advice possible.

I do not follow each individual trade on a day-to-day basis, as I feel that the lady that I use for this type of work is far better qualified than I am. Very candidly, I would find that type of stewardship rather boring. Her track record over a number of years demonstrates to me that she is far more competent than I am; she has done well by me, so I am agreeable to trusting her just as I would any other professional. This is not to say that I don't look over the monthly statements, but on a day-to-day basis, I feel that she can do better than I could.



Send your questions to JWR contributor Bruce Williams by clicking here. (Questions of general interest will be answered in future columns. Owing to the volume of mail, personal replies cannot be provided.) Interested in buying or selling a house? Let Bruce Williams' "House Smart" be your guide. (Sales of the book help fund JWR).

Up

02/13/01: Must I charge tax? Can dotted property line stop us from building on our land?
02/12/01: Picking the 'best' lawyer
02/08/01: Who has the best mortgage rates?
02/05/01: No life insurance to cover a loan; notch babies and social security; avoiding paying a lot of tax on severance pay
02/02/01: Life insurance for regular people?
01/31/01: Debt free
01/29/01: A house divided; I won the jackpot --- but the IRS took the winnings
01/24/01: Sons as landlords
01/23/01: Pitfalls of buying land; cleaning up a financial mess
01/22/01: Aiming for partnership; Have investments in the child's name?
01/19/01: Roths and young people
01/17/01: Home-sellers must disclose; IRS can still get you --- even after a divorce
01/15/01: Advice on buying a business
01/11/01: Credit cards and 401Ks
01/09/01: Power of Attorney questioned
01/08/01: An 8-year-old unpaid bill
01/04/01: Accidents where the victim is responsible; health club heartache; laptop lunacy
01/03/01: Towing a new car; Must reveal my insurer's name?
12/28/00: Paying off a mortgage; Borrow yourself to prosperity?
12/26/00: My dad won't make a will
12/22/00: Most work-at-home offers cater to fools; trust deed investments
12/20/00: Your son needs tough love
12/18/00: Time to move on
12/14/00: Should we move retirement account?
12/13/00: U.S. notes can be the answer
12/08/00: Series EE, I, EE, I, Oh!
12/07/00: Paying mortgage twice a month instead of once
12/05/00: IRA vs. 401(k) investing; "gofer" gripes
12/01/00: Those credit card "checks"; non-compete agreements
11/30/00: Dumped by insurers when I did nothing wrong
11/27/00: Collision insurance is a waste?
11/23/00: Rent our house or sell it?
11/21/00: Fixed or adjustable rate?
11/20/00: Debt consolidation requires discipline
11/16/00: Ten-year fixed-rate mortgages
11/15/00: Higher interest means higher risk
11/10/00: Maybe a mobile home
11/09/00: At 21, save for today and tomorrow
11/08/00: Can I shelter my severance pay?
11/06/00: I don't wanna save for retirement!
11/03/00: Getting your money back is enough
10/31/00: Employment ads that make you pay
10/27/00: Reader takes on Bruce
10/26/00: Tell your kids to 'get real'
10/25/00: Don't pay 'the rascals'
10/23/00: Mickey Mouse tax steps
10/18/00: Economizing is not always wise
10/17/00: Young investors should start a Roth IRA
10/13/00: Maybe your prices are too low
10/12/00: Dealing with underground home oil tanks
10/11/00: Go with simple interest!
10/05/00: When property is worth more than the home
10/04/00: Put part of windfall in a Roth
10/03/00: Not paying taxes on interest from house sale
09/28/00: Protection by Medicaid and Medicare
09/27/00: Refinancing home without alerting crooks
09/26/00: Base investments on trust
09/25/00: Do we really need a will?
09/21/00: She took off with the car
09/20/00: Diversify your financial advisers?
09/18/00: How to inherit a house
09/15/00: The tax scoop on student loans
09/14/00: House buying only for the young?
09/13/00: No reason to give credit
09/11/00: Must I pay for my gifted child's college tuition?
09/08/00: We got bitten on purchase of dog
09/06/00: Pools can soak you
08/28/00: When the insurance company has an 'out'
08/25/00: When to buy a home
08/24/00: More 'interest' to live on
08/22/00: Paying for private school
08/18/00: Don't make huge down payments
08/16/00: IRAs for people with pensions
08/15/00: She doesn't deserve a break
08/11/00: Her shopping will ruin us
Yes, a contract means something
08/10/00: Her shopping will ruin us
08/09/00: A $1,500 car ... for $3,000
08/04/00: Time to take on the airlines
08/02/00: How can I retire at 62?
08/01/00: Cash in your savings bonds
07/28/00: Hold onto a mortgage under 7 percent
07/26/00: I want my partner to buy me out
07/25/00: Negotiate with your neighbor
07/21/00: How can I finally start saving soundly?
07/20/00: Where's my prize?
07/18/00: Getting out of an upside-down loan
07/13/00: Death is no escape
07/12/00: Multiplying dollars
07/10/00: Making sense of retirement investing
07/07/00: 'Bankruptcy does follow us around'
07/06/00: In which state should I file my income tax?
07/03/00: When to diversify assets
06/30/00: I'm buying my dad's house
06/29/00: How social security seniors should invest
06/27/00: Waiting before re-establishing credit
06/21/00: Insuring an older car
06/19/00: Take the money and run!
06/16/00: Utility company incursion
06/15/00: Insurance settlement is no bargain
06/13/00: A straightforward form of bankruptcy
06/08/00: In the computer's clutches
06/07/00: The trouble with tenants
06/05/00: Do I really need title insurance?
06/01/00: The truth about nursing home insurance
05/30/00: Keep mother-daughter loan simple
05/25/00: CDs for security, not investment
05/24/00: Battling with collection agency
05/22/00: Are callable CDs a waste of time?
05/18/00: Building a college fund
05/16/00: Even death brings no relief
05/15/00: House is 'worth' what's offered
05/12/00: Borrow from Mom and Dad?
05/11/00: Your heirs, your choice
05/09/00: Mutual-fund investigations
05/05/00: Credit cards vs. debit cards
05/04/00: Lawyer are good for something
05/03/00: The binding nature of contracts
05/02/00: You know you are in trouble when ...
05/01/00: Can primary residence be rented out?
04/28/00: A full refund after five years?
04/25/00: Get a homeowner's title policy!
04/24/00: Beware of errors in your favor
04/18/00: $10,000 limit on gifts
04/17/00: Invest or repay student loans?
04/13/00: Beware of Internet auctions
04/11/00: Six percent is a pittance
04/10/00: Married couples should share windfall
04/07/00: How not to blow an inheritance
04/06/00: Get genetic screening for Tay-Sachs
04/05/00: Beating the look-back period
04/04/00: Providing for retirement
04/03/00: Readers disagree on time shares
03/30/00: The road back to good credit
03/29/00: Pre-tax dollars in IRA taxed later
03/27/00: Gambling on business ventures
03/22/00: Old cars as hobby, not investment
03/20/00: Tax on foreign gifts?
03/16/00: How to buy government bonds
03/13/00: Buying treasury instruments
03/09/00: Subcontractors must pay S.S.
03/08/00: Real-estate lawyers are essential
03/07/00: Don't expect compensation for ideas
03/06/00: Too rich for a Roth IRA?
03/01/00: Is time-sharing a scam?
02/29/00: Paying for nursing-home care
02/28/00: Rely on a real-estate lawyer
02/23/00: Keeping child's money safe from divorce
02/16/00: Just how important is a 401(k)?
02/14/00: Shaky partnership buying house
02/11/00: Protection by residential zoning
02/09/00: Benefiting from a reverse mortgage
02/07/00: Ensure your insurability
02/04/00: Absurd community zoning laws
02/02/00: Money or securities?
02/01/00: Can we KO a custodian?
01/31/00: Why sell a home you love?
01/26/00: Everyone needs a will
01/25/00: Will splitting stocks affect rollover?
01/24/00: Should early retirees contribute to SEP?
01/21/00: Strategies for paying off debt
01/20/00: Is 15-percent growth achievable?
01/19/00: Selling a second home
01/18/00: Running from a time-share
01/14/00: Don't be a spendthrift!
01/13/00: Who gets the house?
01/11/00: It all depends on size of estate
01/06/00: Check references before hiring an advisor
01/04/00: Savings bonds a bad investment
12/31/99: Out of state ain't that great
12/29/99: Warranty rip-offs
12/27/99: Checking up on investment handlers
12/23/99: Options good only when company's strong
12/20/99: Capital gains tax sometimes best
12/17/99: Don't give up your nest egg
12/15/99: Small-claims court no panacea
12/13/99: Termite company not liable for termites?
12/10/99: Services provided must be paid for
12/06/99: How do we minimize house-sale gain?
12/06/99: Maximize your tax shelter!
12/02/99: My neighbor won't maintain even a modicum of civility
12/01/99: Long-distance rentals a bad idea
11/29/99: Mortgage strategy A-OK
11/18/99: Students can work and learn
11/16/99: Value is what will sell
11/11/99: Y2K: No big deal for real estate
11/08/99: Real life is tough luck
11/03/99: The right time to cash a savings bond
11/01/99: Slow road for savings accounts
10/29/99: What do you want from insurance?
10/27/99: You have a right to see your tax forms!
10/25/99: Why own a house at 65?
10/22/99: Online fine, but CDs?
10/20/99: Love, honor -- and separate credit
10/18/99: Find the value of your stocks
10/15/99: Property lien prevents trade
10/13/99: Clear up debt, only then tie the knot
10/11/99: If it ain't broke...
10/04/99: Should I stick with the company IRA?
10/04/99: Get a financial education!
10/01/99: Insurance: Not much one person can do
09/30/99: Lost tickets are lost cash
09/29/99: Trusting only one financial planner
09/27/99: Adult children should help out
09/24/99: Tips for first-time home buyers
09/21/99: Use the rule of 72s!
09/17/99: Legal strategy can be a pain
09/15/99: Teen drivers drive up insurance
09/13/99: Always use an attorney!
09/10/99: Whose taxes are they, anyway?
09/08/99: How do I roll over my 401(k)?
09/03/99: How can I work out my IRS payments?
09/01/99: When your company can't pay you
08/30/99: Beware of shady viatical investments
08/26/99: Landlords vary on security deposits
08/25/99: Educational IRAs must be spent on education
08/23/99: Finding out the value of old stocks
08/20/99: How to get an FHA refund
08/19/99: 100 percent financing is a scam
08/16/99: Will I have to pay a capital gains tax?
08/16/99: Thinking about PMI
08/13/99: Short-term mutual funds a-OK
08/11/99: It's your job to shop around
08/10/99: Sometimes, roots need to be uprooted
08/09/99: 'Pre-approved' doesn't mean a thing
08/06/99: Only you can determine your investments
08/04/99: Bank IRA the lowest-risk option
08/03/99: Reverse mortgages good for the elderly
08/02/99: Get the survey BEFORE you buy the house!
07/28/99: Get a lawyer -- it's worth it!
07/27/99: If it ain't broke...

©1999, NEA