Jewish World Review March 18, 2003 / 14 Adar II, 5763

Jack Kelly

Jack Kelly
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


South Koreans no longer behaving as if they were the French of Northeast Asia --- why?


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | "The anti-American demonstrations here have suddenly gone poof," began a story, datelined Seoul, in the Washington Post March 14. "The official line from the South Korean government is: Yankees stay here."

Until recently, the South Koreans have been behaving as if they were the French of Northeast Asia. The new government of Korean President Roh Moo-hyun implied that the U.S. was as much to blame for tensions on the Korean peninsula as were the North Koreans. In a poll in January by the Korean Gallup Organization, 53 percent of respondents said they disliked the United States.

What caused the sudden change in attitude? The subhead above the Washington Post story provides a clue: "Change Follows Rumsfeld Suggestion of Troop Cut."

As the thought sunk in that they might actually have to defend themselves from the murderous madmen in the North, South Koreans have come to view Americans with new respect. Roh ran nearly as anti-American a campaign as did German Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder. Now he wants more American soldiers in his country, not fewer.

Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld said the United States was considering withdrawing Army troops from the DeMilitarized Zone, and pulling some out of South Korea altogether.

The step is long overdue. When the United States intervened after North Korea invaded South Korea in 1950, we did so because North Korea was part of an international Communist effort to conquer the world, and because South Korea was too weak to defend herself.

Russia is no longer communist, and China is communist more in name than in fact. South Korea today has more than twice the population, and nearly 40 times the national wealth of North Korea. South Korea has the resources to defend herself by herself, if she has the will to do so.

That will has been waning. South Korea spends only about 2.8 percent of its gross domestic product on defense, about 25 percent less than we do. This is not prudent when you have a nuclear-armed madman for a neighbor. But, as with the French and some others in Western Europe, the South Koreans felt they could rely upon us for protection even as they kicked us in the shins.

Having (inaccurately) criticized President Bush's approach to Iraq for being "unilateral," Democrats are insisting that he abandon the multilateral approach he has taken toward North Korea, and accede to North Korea's demand for bilateral talks. This is crazy.

Geopolitically, we don't have a dog in this fight anymore. North Korea is a nation on the verge of collapse, a nation which would have collapsed by now if the Clinton administration, Japan and South Korea had not supplied it with massive aid in exchange for North Korea's swiftly broken promise to end its nuclear program.

North Korea is a big danger to South Korea, but probably couldn't defeat South Korea even if we didn't intervene. North Korea is a problem for Japan and China, and a lesser problem for Russia. But North Korea is a problem for us only to the extent to which it is a supplier of weapons of mass destruction to other rogue nations and to terror groups.

As in 1994, North Korea is trying to extort aid with threats of violence. North Korea's trump card is that no matter how a second Korean war would come out, it can devastate Seoul, which is in artillery range of the DMZ.

Seoul is to South Korea what New York, Los Angeles, Chicago and Washington D.C. combined are to us. We cannot, morally or politically, take unilateral action that puts Seoul at risk without South Korea's explicit consent.

North Korea has this trump whether we have the two brigades we have now on the DMZ, or 20, or none at all. We should withdraw all but two battalions of soldiers from South Korea, and redeploy these to defend our air bases in that country. This will reduce the ability of the North Koreans to claim Yankee provocation. And if the prospect of an American withdrawal forces the South Koreans to act like grownups, so much the better.

Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

03/11/03: Ultimatum's moment of truth 03/11/03: Thank you, Turkey, we needed that
03/07/03: The fight against Saddam isn't a distraction from the war on terror --- it's is the main event
03/04/03: Bioterror nightmare approaching --- how it could likely happen
02/27/03: Iranian student: Can America hurry up with Iraq already, so they can get on with attacking us?
02/25/03: Yahoos on both the Left and the Right are trying to prevent government from maximizing technology in protecting us
02/20/03: Anti-war group gets it right about great humanitarian tragedy in last Gulf War
02/18/03: Iraqis: Why are these people marching for tyranny?
02/07/03: French kiss(ed)-off
02/05/03: Does the FBI have the ability to protect us from terrorists already here?
02/03/03: The "Axis of Weasels"
01/29/03: A bit of the jitters
01/27/03: The world's mediocre intelligence agency
01/21/03: By reaffirming GOP opposition to racism, president demonstrates willingness to confront liars
01/16/03: Why the United States should withdraw all of its military forces from South Korea as rapidly as we reasonably can
01/14/03: Federal incompetence driven by political correctness, not trampling of civil liberties, is what we should fear
01/09/03: Bag this boondoggle: The V-22 Osprey would hurt our national defense
01/07/03: Another Korean war?
01/02/03: Ostriches
12/26/02: Learning from Canada's economic suicide
12/24/02: A moral dilemma: Support a vicious fascist dictator or the poor and downtrodden?
12/20/02: Time to tell the truth: The great movement of blacks to the Democratic Party took place for economic reasons, not because of civil rights
12/18/02: Nothing better illustrates Trent Lott's unfitness for the post of Senate Majority Leader than his desperate efforts to cling to it
12/16/02: Debunker mentality: It's hard work not seeing ties between Iraq and al-Qaida
12/12/02: GOP ideologues turning on Lott --- better sacrifice the leader than the party
12/06/02: Curing our democracy of afflictions
12/02/02: Conscription, like the horse cavalry, is an artifact of a bygone time
11/27/02: What Saddam faces
11/25/02: Why war with Iraq can be averted
11/19/02: A draft would harm the military
11/12/02: The 2002 elections and Nixon
11/07/02: Democratic overreaction to our recent "cosmically important" election
10/30/02: Show North Korea we're serious: Polish off Saddam
10/22/02: The squealing in the Pentagon is a proof of Rummy's effectiveness
10/16/02: The tactical challenge we face
10/10/02: Silence more despicable than seditious noise
10/08/02: Bu$h and the bu$ine$$ of war
10/01/02: Gore's calculated risk may well get him the Dems' nomination
09/25/02: Schroeder may find the fruits of victory sour
09/25/02: Making Saddam change his spots
09/19/02: Bush's resolve already has paid dividends
09/17/02: Courageous Iranians
09/13/02: If you never served in the military, you have no right to an opinion
09/10/02: Why the 'air marshals' will fail
09/05/02: Resurrecting the "Happy Darky"
08/31/02: Are Bush's inactions against Iraq calculated?
08/23/02: Dems can't take the minority vote for granted any longer
08/20/02: No proof of Saddam's wrongdoing? Yeah, right
08/15/02: Mineta's war on what?
08/13/02: When Gore said he wanted to be his 'own man,' what was he thinking!?
08/08/02: Picking a tree for Cheney's hanging
08/06/02: Fears about the Department of Homeland Security are misplaced
08/01/02: The greatest strategic deception since Eisenhower convinced Hitler the Allies were going to land at the Pas de Calais?
07/30/02: State Dept.'s anti-American actions
07/26/02: Journalists are making sure Americans can't differentiate between the stock market and the economy
07/23/02: Iran's is on the verge of a social and political explosion. So why is media ignoring it?
07/17/02: FBI isn't supposed to stand for Foolish, Blind and Incompetent
07/12/02: The ICC tramples on rights Americans take for granted
07/09/02: Was LA International Airport shooting, in fact, good news?
07/02/02: What the "intelligence community" can learn from Alexander the Great
06/28/02: Muslim link in Oklahoma City bombing revisited
06/25/02: A good environmental scare needs two ingredients - an impending catastrophe, and someone to blame for it
06/21/02: Stirring the security pot
06/18/02: Why the military is so messed up
06/14/02: Vast majority $68.7 billion proposed for weapons will be spent on systems of little use in the war on terror
06/12/02: Bush saw them and raised them, and he's holding the aces
06/10/02: Some heads need to roll
06/04/02: A new draft for the 'war on terror'?
05/31/02: So the FBI has finally caught up to our priorities?
05/29/02: Taking on common sense
05/23/02: Political terrorists
05/21/02: There is a great deal to fret about, but I've never been more optimistic
05/15/02: If there is a way for America to lose the war, Gen. Tommy Franks can find it
05/13/02: Impartial justice against Americans by the UN?
05/07/02: Want to win the 'war on terror'? Reinstate the draft
05/03/02: An expanded NATO is needed as a counterweight to the UN and the EU
04/29/02: Islamic 'smarts'
04/26/02: Did Bush play his Aces with Abdullah wisely?
04/23/02: Why peace in the Mideast is closer than ever
04/19/02: What the Arabs of Gaza and the West Bank gained from the "peace accords"
04/17/02: Logical Muslim allies
04/10/02: How to guarantee an infinite Mideast war
04/08/02: Saddam's American friends
04/05/02: Arab winners and sinners
04/01/02: Why is the commander of U.S. Central Command not coming clean to the American people?
03/31/02: Dubya under attack by conservatives
03/26/02: Saddam watch coming to an end?
03/21/02: Get the Jews!
03/19/02: It's time pols and gov bureaucrats be held to the same standard of accountability we insist for corporate execs
03/15/02: Khaki Throat
03/12/02: Making foreign cheaters pay
03/08/02: Timidity and indecision by senior American commanders
03/04/02: Why 9-11? Ex-CIA officials come clean
02/25/02: Don't rule out a quick victory --- even if prez says otherwise
02/21/02: Saving our military from itself
02/19/02: Front Page fiction
02/15/02: Our European allies are like the fat kid who wants to play quarterback
02/13/02: Is the Army in danger of becoming "irrelevant"?
02/11/02: So, I "propagate hatred"
02/06/02: Bush whacking the media
02/04/02: Why serious folks disregard the European Union --- and why Bush must, too
01/30/02: Give economy pneumonia in order to protect it from a cold
01/28/02: Media is its own worst enemy
01/25/02: Journalists making road to peace a bumpy ride, or: A case study in stupidity
01/23/02: Toward a stronger defense at a lower cost
01/21/02: How Bush could be Generations X and Y's Kennedy ... and guarantee a GOP victory in the midterm elections

© 2002, Jack Kelly