' Bob Tyrell
Jewish World Review March 19, 2004 / 27 Adar, 5764

Bob Tyrrell

Bob Greene
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

College daze


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | The other day, while happily contemplating the corruption that is turning up at the United Nations, my plans to contemplate what it all means were disrupted by a telephone call from a college student in tears.

No, it was not a young man in tears, but a young woman — and so you will understand why I packed away the stories of corruption in the United Nations. Reporters at The Wall Street Journal and elsewhere have found that Saddam was paying off world leaders — one being a powerful bureaucrat at the United Nations — with billions of dollars skimmed from the famed oil-for-peace program. This, along with mounting evidence that the Europeans were prospering handsomely by supplying arms to Saddam and any other well-heeled tyrant, might explain why "world opinion" was so opposed to our invasion of Iraq. Documents in Baghdad amount to a veritable corpus delicti.

Yet there will always be time to ventilate the misbehavior of the hypocrites at the United Nations and in foreign capitals. For now, I have my troubled young friend to contend with. She is a student finishing a college degree on a major American college campus, and her recent experience reminds me of a matter that has fetched my attention frequently of late — to wit, many college students do not have much to them. In a word, many are vacuous.

My friend had been visiting with some male and female friends in her off-campus apartment. The friends were slow to leave as the evening dragged on, and so she went to bed, expecting them — all good friends — to depart soon after she disappeared. When she awoke the next morning, she found one of the young men had drunk his way through the night in her living room, watching DVDs and emptying her refrigerator. By 9:00 a.m., he was stupefied and mildly abusive but otherwise preparing to drink his way through the day. My friend sent him packing, but she was deeply troubled and I suspect alarmed. She had never seen the young man act that way before.

I guess this is what is called "binge drinking," and apparently there is a lot of it on college campuses nowadays. When I was a student in the 1960s, I knew of students who drank their way through the weekend and would sozzle themselves on an occasional weeknight. That was a lot of drinking, but apparently students today drink with even more abandon. On college campuses, there is not much more to do. Rendering oneself comatose is the most interesting pursuit available.

Donate to JWR


Certainly the college curriculum on most campuses is neither interesting nor demanding — which is the crux of the matter. Anyone who has had an opportunity to compare the workload of a generation ago with the workload carried by college students today knows why college students have a lot of time on their hands. The profs demand much less reading and writing today than in the 1960s, when campus reformers began to gut the curriculum. The reformers relaxed the rigor of college studies. Today's profs must have a lot of time on their hands, too. Maybe they, too, binge drink — but more discreetly.

Actually, the very best students today are probably as good as the best students were in years gone by. Their performance upon graduation suggests that. But it is the lesser students who strike me as so empty. When I encounter them, they seem almost always to be very amiable but also ignorant, aimless and bland. Today's youth culture lacks esprit . I suspect this is because so little is demanded of the rank and file. They have their cars and high-tech entertainments, ample funds and time on their hands. They are a pale rendition of generations past.

I was struck by the vacuity of today's college students while watching CNN's documentary of the rise and fall of Dr. Howard Dean. Much of his support came from college students. They were the contemporary version of the 1960s collegians who campaigned for Sen. Eugene McCarthy's insurgent presidential bid against President Lyndon Johnson by getting "Clean for Gene."

Those students had some fizz to them. They sang folk music, and they sang well. They composed slogans, and they were literate. I disagreed with them, but they were for the most part learned, highly principled political activists. Dean's youthful volunteers brigades were dopes, and untalented dopes. Unless CNN was befooling us, the kids were listless, vacant and not even very convincingly angry. The songs they sang were infantile.

If I were among the bored and the under-employed on campus today, possibly I, too, would become a binge drinker. Yet it seems like an awful waste of time and, for that matter, of good booze. Perhaps they could steal a chapter from 1920s collegians and become goldfish swallowers — assuming the animal rights indignados would not object.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

03/11/04: The understandably confused are confused
03/04/04: Hillary, the loyalest of the loyal
02/19/04: Hannity's optimism
02/12/04: The moron vote
02/05/04: At least Lieberman stood for something
01/29/04: Surprised by the government vendetta against Rush?
01/15/04: Eight Angry Men
01/09/04: Doc, the greatest swim coach of all time
01/02/04: It’s lying time again
12/29/03: Alternative "Person of the Year"
12/18/03: Dean and me
12/11/03: Long live Bob Bartley
12/04/03: "Hit 'em when they're down!"
12/01/03: The Wright Stuff
11/13/03: How wrong the naysayers and the utopians have been
11/06/03: Will I be banned from America's campuses?
10/30/03: They don't care about restraint
10/24/03: "The Reagans" and the evidence of a historic life
10/17/03: The Moron Vote
10/09/03: The politics of groping and the groping of politics
10/03/03: Is there a witch doctor in the house?
09/26/03: Funny Girly-Boy
09/18/03: Send Arafat to Paris!
09/15/03: The soi-disant party of Latinos comes down hard on a successful Latino
09/05/03: Placating the carpers
08/29/03: A melange of one-issue enthusiasts will win?
08/07/03: Angry partisans
07/31/03: Why no ‘holy cities ’ in America?
07/25/03: They underestimate not only the president, but the American people
07/18/03: The irascible, bigoted Harry Truman was a product of his times
07/11/03: A grand affair of hot colors and surprisingly sedate audience participation
07/04/03: In search of anti-Americanism and the perfect bullfight
06/26/03: Calling on London
06/20/03: Too upsetting for the evening news?
06/12/03: Rain(es)ing Clintoon myths
06/05/03: Hillary-ous is pathetic
05/29/03: Shakedown
05/22/03: End of the last great persecution of the 20th century?
05/15/03 :‘Grey’ turns to grim at Times
05/08/03: The only intellectual force in Western history to gain moral superiority by being wrong
05/01/03: Dinning with Tom Wolfe: More lessons in nusual aspects of American life, hitherto ignored
04/28/03: Ambuscade at scholarly frontier
04/21/03: Stars in search of a galaxy
04/10/03: Baghdad Bob and Tom Daschle
03/31/03: When the media itself becomes the story
03/20/03: Revealed! Estrada is a gifted linguist -- a Japanese-American fluent in Spanish
03/14/03: Genuinely in charge
03/10/03: Stalin and Saddam
03/05/03: They just cannot stomach a protracted alliance with the Bushies
02/25/03: Identity gridlock
02/18/03: People calling Dean a fruitcake are underestimating his political savvy
02/13/03: The new political establishment
01/30/03: The time is now
01/27/03: Witnessing self-love by people completely incapable of self-criticism
01/21/03: Of course our kiddies are depressed
01/13/03: Why is it that Official Washington still believes that a tax reduction means a revenue reduction?
01/02/03: Missing Moi
12/27/02: The grizzled and menacing-looking senator in Confederate drag is … a Dem
12/24/02: Uprooting Christianity in the Holy Land
12/20/02: Under fire, Lott showed an ignobleness that is embarrassing
11/26/02: Bartley's enemies have been routed
11/14/02: Clarence Thomas and the segregationist Mississippi sheriff
11/07/02: I muffed up
10/31/02: Is the American university turning its back on change, on progress?
10/24/02: So why aren't the Dems buoyant?
10/17/02: Mourning the loss of the "yellow-belly"
10/10/02: American politics at its most ignominious
10/03/02: A man above the law, a bully
09/26/02: Is Bob Greene a victim of an anti-Clinton backlash?
09/19/02: I knew Mafiosi and …
09/12/02: Chickens and poseurs
09/05/02: Sympathizing with the Europols
08/29/02: 9-11 did not change us forever
08/22/02: Public persons frivoling with serious matters
08/15/02: Beachcombing among the fat of the land
08/08/02: They pave the way for corruption, not personal responsibility
08/01/02: Believing the unbelievable
07/25/02: The congressional posse comitatus
07/18/02: Cosmopolitan Arab fashion
07/11/02: What the prez actually knows
07/04/02: The vindication of a truly original thinker
06/27/02: The perfect book for Hillary
06/20/02: To say that they were ordinary is not to slight them
06/13/02: Daschle must begin to act like an adult
06/06/02: Lack of "intelligence" --- and sheer stupidity
05/30/02: Revealing a carefully guarded media secret
05/23/02: In these times, thank Heaven for Clinton!
05/16/02: Fast Times at the Church of the Nativity
05/09/02: "Name the Prettiest Suicide Bomber"
05/02/02: Vindication for the Boy Scouts
04/25/02: A topic almost no other columnist will touch
04/18/02: 'Conventional Wisdom' --- and those who defy it
04/11/02: Let the Sun shine in
04/05/02: Hooded men of color in sheets
04/01/02: A McCain-Feingold Act for Hollywood
03/21/02: Yakkin' on Yates
03/15/02: No role for Paul Volcker in Enron: the movie
03/07/02: My membership in the Communist Party U.S.A.
02/27/02: This award is bestowed by 'contrarians'
02/21/02: Mike Tyson: Made for Washington?
02/14/02: Enron as underdog?
02/07/02: Freed from the presence of money -- hard or soft -- most politicians would be just as bad
01/31/02: Needed: Bush to make a preemptive strike against his enemies …. Ones who'd like to see him fail even during war
01/24/02: Hucksters will move on to make their next marks
01/17/02: Debonair prez should begin to do the High Life
01/10/02: Move over Twinkies --- "the acne medicine made him do it!"
01/03/02: Leaving the Nazis looking comparatively humane
12/27/01: A "self-made journalist"
12/20/01: Calamities and unanticipated benefits
12/13/01: America's grief ought not to give comfort to those who caused it
12/06/01: Leahy, the strict civil libertarian!? A short-term exploiter of the Constitution is more like it
11/29/01: Welcome to Afghan, Maryland?
11/26/01: So, why don't more folks hate us?
11/15/01: America's quagmire and other certainties
11/09/01: No longer the smug statists, the prodigal Keynesians?
11/01/01: The New Seriousness
10/25/01: Bright lights and the Taliban
10/18/01: Is bin-Laden propaganda from Western intelligence?
10/12/01: No yellow ribbons
10/05/01: Bubba's back --- again!
09/28/01: Exposing peacetime's frauds
09/21/01: So protected, we're vulnerable
09/14/01: At Barbara Olson's home
09/11/01: Duh! All conservatives are racists
08/31/01: Arafat's terrorists have created their own hell
08/24/01: Time for some political prophecy
08/16/01: They claim to be doing so much good
08/10/01: Visiting the source of the White House braintrust
08/03/01: Morality and reality
07/31/01: Blinded by success?
07/24/01: The latest Kennedy capitulation in Massachusetts
07/13/01: Talk about tawdry
07/06/01: Delighting in the Dictator
06/29/01: The G-dphobes
06/21/01: Fashionable Washington is sempiternally in a stew
06/15/01: The limits of hypocrisy
06/08/01: Flagging our general apathy

© 2001, Creators Syndicate