Jewish World Review Sept. 5, 2003 / 8 Elul, 5763

Joe Scarborough

Joe Scarborough
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


‘The Real Deal ’ on Air Force pork barrel


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | This week, as many of you know, Rush Limbaugh blasted away at the Republican Party's wasteful spending habits. And, for months, I've been telling you how the party of Ronald Reagan has been too willing to spend lavishly as the Democrats on Capitol Hill. Well, today, John McCain took up the fight on Capitol Hill by trying to block a multibillion dollar sweetheart deal for Boeing.

Senator McCain has launched an investigation into exactly how the Air Force came to the conclusion that it would be better to lease planes at a higher price than buying them outright. Senator McCain also asked the question of why the Air Force never requested these planes until Boeing's lobbyists on K Street began their full-court press in Congress.

And last month, we learned that one of those lobbying for the lease was none other than Tom Daschle's wife. Today, Citizens Against Government Waste rightfully called this deal the worst example of corporate welfare in recent memory. And, as we've reported several times on this show in our "Capitol Offense" segment, the leasing plan is going to cost you, the American taxpayer, almost $7 billion more than if the Air Force bought the planes outright.

Now, if that doesn't make sense to you, maybe it's because you never worked the halls of Washington. But John McCain and I know that this deal is all about Boeing flexing their political muscles and passing out campaign checks. And you know what? It's an ugly business.

And it's a betrayal of the American taxpayer.

Donate to JWR

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Former Congressman Joe Scarborough (R-Fla.) hosts “Scarborough Country,” 10 p.m. ET, weeknights on MSNBC. Comment by clicking here.



09/04/03: How one man's investigation has blown the lid off of Saudi Arabia's partnership with Osama bin Laden
09/02/03: Why send post-war help with so much opposition to U.S.?
08/29/03: Alabama outcry is downright wrong
08/28/03: Time for feds to pull the trigger on a new law
08/27/03: No easy access for foreigners
08/18/03: How we don't take care of our troops: It's a national disgrace
08/07/03: Making good on our promises
08/05/03: Don't deal with thugs
08/04/03: The Buzz
08/02/03: Bush is ‘The Real Deal’
07/31/03: Liberal hypocrisy at its worst
07/30/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on Worldcom/MCI
07/24/03: Burying an Iraqi myth
07/22/03: How my mom would prosecute the Kobe case
07/18/03: The U.N. and gun control
07/17/03: Impeaching Bush
07/15/03: NAACP is getting a tax-free ride
07/14/03: No wonder most Americans hate politics
07/13/03: This time, Robertson did it to himself
07/11/03: Iraq uranium flap: What did Congress know and when did they know it?
07/10/03: Turning a blind eye to corporate crimes and playing fast and loose with your money
07/09/03: Crime pays if you're wearing a white collar
07/08/03: And freedom continues to ring
07/03/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on amnesty for illegal aliens
07/02/03: Free the Dog!
07/01/03: A letter-writing campaign can work wonders
06/27/03: More bad news for the Bush haters
06/26/03: Cancer or arousal?
06/25/03: Will institutional — and, now, governmemt-endorsed — racism ever end?
06/23/03: Held in Saudi Arabia against their will --- for oil!?
06/20/03: They're organizing to prohibit police from pursuing criminal suspects who refuse to stop
06/19/03: What burglars know about the Second Amendment
06/18/03: CBS courtship of Pfc. Lynch: Big media tries to win the heart of a teenage girl
06/13/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on White House hypocrisy
06/12/03: What's wrong with the way policy is made in Washington, D.C.?
06/11/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on Hillary and media double standard
06/09/03: Not in Babs' backyard!
06/06/03: 'The Real Deal' on Hillary's book deal
06/05/03: The way we get our news has been altered forever
06/04/03: 'The Real Deal' on the Martha Stewart witch hunt: Making a big deal while others get away
06/03/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on Sean Penn’s screed
06/02/03: “Alternative-lifestyle bachelor”?
05/30/03: Amnesty International makes U.S. the number one human rights villain
05/29/03: Why do we ignore home grown terrorism?
05/23/03: Bizarre Blair
05/21/03: ‘Capitol Offense’
05/20/03: A life in jail for 'conduct unbecoming'!?
05/19/03: You spoke, MCI listened
05/16/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on the Democrat attacks: Tasteless, and also untrue
05/15/03: ‘Capitol Offense’ goes postal
05/14/03: L.A. Times Book awards honor a child abuse manual
05/13/03: Reporter spills the beans on media's bias in covering Iraq
05/12/03: Danny Glover's supporters start letter writing campaign with ugly, racial overtones
05/09/03: Berkeley's Center for Middle East Studies funded by al Qaeda financial supporter?
05/08/03: Why they love Castro
05/07/03: Book industry finally opening doors to conservatives
05/06/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on ABC News: Another media insider expose
05/05/03: Why, despite recent successes, re-election is not a sure thing
05/02/03: ‘Capitol Offenses’
05/01/03: ‘The Real Deal’ on Hillary Clinton
04/30/03: The Iraq-al Qaida link: The elitists were wrong
04/29/03: Shiites biting the hand that released them
04/28/03: What the capitulation of Iraqi Deputy Prime Minister, Tariq Aziz, means for the rest of the world's tyrants
04/25/03: Noble-sounding names mask political motives
04/22/03: Bill Clinton should heed Paul McCartney's advice
04/21/03: The president with an I.Q. of a pot of clay has made New York City elitists look like a bunch of bumbling idiots
04/16/03: Russia, France and Germany: Not stupid, just immoral
04/15/03: CNN's too little, too late apology
04/14/03: Who's the first elitist to admit they were wrong about the war?
04/10/03: He's baaack --- and his terror tactics deserve an 'F'
04/09/03: Iraqi lawyer and American teenaged girl proved themselves to be 'The Real Deal'

© 2003, MSNBC