Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review August 10, 2004 / 25 Menachem-Av, 5764

Bill Steigerwald

Bill Steigerwald
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
James Glassman
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Sam Schulman
Amity Shlaes
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports

The IRS & the $250 billion question … 10 minutes with House Speaker Dennis Hastert


http://www.NewsAndOpinion.com | Dennis Hastert of Illinois has had a wild ride since becoming Speaker of the House in 1998, starting with the Clinton impeachment and moving through the 9/11 attacks to our wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

The former high school civics teacher and wrestling coach has documented his experiences as the third most-powerful person in the federal government in his new book, "Speaker: Lessons from Forty Years in Coaching and Politics."

In "Speaker," Hastert espouses pro-market, pro-growth policies that include urging President Bush to push for a new tax system that would eliminate the IRS and the income tax. I talked to Speaker Hastert Wednesday by phone from his offices in Washington.

Q: You're making headlines because you're proposing to basically remodel the federal tax system.

A: I think it's important. We've talked about it as Republicans for a long time. We need to look over the horizon. Democrats talk about outsourcing of jobs. We outsource jobs because we're not competitive overseas. We need to basically do three things:

We need to change our tax system, because with the income tax we have today, if you take a tree in a forest and move it to a widget that you're going to export overseas, you may go through six or seven or eight processes.

We have corporate taxes, and corporations pay taxes, but you may have seven or eight or nine layers of taxes embedded in a product. It could be that 20 percent or 25 percent of that product is actually embedded taxes.


Donate to JWR


The other things we have are litigation costs that other countries don't have. We call that the "tort tax." And we also have regulation costs that most countries don't have.

When we try to compete with other countries, it's not our labor costs -- our labor costs are basically commensurate with the labor costs of Japan or Germany or France -- it's these other embedded costs that really kill us.

If we go to an ad valorem tax or VAT tax or a consumer tax of some kind, what you really do is relieve taxpayers of spending $250 billion to comply with IRS collections. That's what we spend every year just to pay our taxes.

Q: Which tax do you prefer -- the flat tax, the national sales tax or the VAT tax?

A: From my personal preference, either the sales tax or consumption tax or VAT tax are the best.

Q: And that would be like the Fair Tax, the national sales tax being proposed by various congressmen?

A: John Lindner is taking the lead on that in the Congress. We'll have to go through a process. But what I'm trying to get at is that we can reduce the cost of our products. We think we can bring capital back to this country -- in the hundreds of billions of dollars -- and jobs. The consequence of going to a VAT tax or a consumption tax is that you don't need an IRS anymore.

Q: I don't think there is anybody who doesn't work for the IRS who is against abolishing it. But is this thing doable? Or is it just another one of these things we libertarians and people who wish for limited government are always getting disappointed about?

A: If you don't talk about it, you don't get people excited. But I think if we control the House of Representatives and we have a Republican president who would sign this bill -- and I think the president would -- this is our one chance in maybe 40 years to get it done. And if you don't talk about it, don't focus on it, it'll never happen.

Q: You've talked to President Bush about this. What does he think?

A: I've talked to the president, and I've also talked to some of his people. The president is certainly noncommittal. I don't think this is one of the issues he wants to talk about in this campaign. I would talk about it, but this is the president's choice, obviously. He's focusing on terrorism and the economy, although I think this is a big part of the economy.

But I think that they have to be aware of this, and I believe it is something that they're having an internal discussion about in the White House right now -- whether they would move with it or how quickly.

Q: Republicans have been roundly criticized for being spendthrifts, especially since Mr. Bush has become president. Is that something you are comfortable with?

A: Well, you're never comfortable with what your criticisms are, but the facts are that when President Bush became president, we had a downturn in our economy. What people really talk about is the deficit and keeping the budget balanced. The first three years I was speaker, we paid down $550 billion in public debt, because we didn't increase spending. We used that surplus to pay down debt to help keep interest rates down.

In addition to the downtown, we also had a war with Iraq. We had a homeland defense issue, which we had to turn around in this country with some extraordinary spending and investment. Our defense spending and our homeland security spending, sure, it did give us a deficit.

But regular, other discretionary spending stayed with inflation, and last year and this year we have level spending -- zero increase in discretionary spending that isn't defense spending and it isn't homeland security spending. So we're doing this job.

If you want to make sure that we can handle the cost of our debt in the future, especially in Social Security and Medicare trust funds, you need to grow the economy. The best way to grow the economy is to do the three things I said. I think we can double the economy in 15 years. And all of a sudden what looks like mountains become mole holes.

Q: We have heard rumors that Congressman Bob Ney of Ohio is being groomed as your successor. Any truth to that?

A: You know what? I'm running for speaker again. There are a lot of good people -- even in Ohio. Bob Ney is a great guy in Ohio. Rob Portman is a great guy in Ohio. John Boehner is a good guy in Ohio. So there is a lot of leadership. The fact is that I'm going to do this job for another two years and as long as I can be effective at it. I'm sure someday there's going to be a lot of people looking to move up.

Q: What's the most important lesson you learned in coaching and wrestling that has served you best in politics?

A: Never take your opponent for granted. And the way to win is that you have to start early, you have to work hard, you have to train, you have to set goals and objectives. If you start three weeks before the election or three weeks before the tournament, it's too late. Perseverance.

Q: And in reforming the tax system, you're going to apply these same principles?

A: Absolutely. Sometimes it takes a long time. But we've been talking about this for a long time. It's time that we start to do something about it.

Q: Do you have the numbers to make this happen?

A: I think, L-rd willing, if we keep the majority in the House, I think we can pass it through the House. We need to encourage people to pass it in the Senate and then get the president to sign it.

The biggest negative here is that people are apprehensive, because it's the devil you know as opposed to the devil you don't know. I think it's important that we get this thing done, and we need to move forward and have that national debate.


Enjoy this writer's work? Why not sign-up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




JWR contributor Bill Steigerwald is an associate editor and columnist at the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. Comment by clicking here.

08/09/04: Tight scripts and loose cannons
07/27/04: Still George McGovern
07/06/04: High time to eliminate drug laws?
06/28/04: Iraq: ‘Mission impossible’ ... 10 minutes with terror expert Yossef Bodansky
06/22/04: Get ready to rumble ... 10 minutes with Michael Barone
06/11/04: Ready for the 'fair tax'? 10 minutes with …Georgia Republican Saxby Chambliss
06/08/04: Wal-Mart is an undeserving whipping boy
06/01/04: So, what is a 'neocon'?
05/17/04: Editors play armchair general
05/04/04: Chasing tornadoes; how modern day sports photography was born
04/29/04: Rigged for the rich ... 10 minutes with author David Cay Johnston
04/27/04: Are the 'Greens' killing blacks?
04/19/04: A moving, if skewed, tribute to rock
04/11/04: Stay the course in Iraq ... 10 minutes with Oliver North
04/05/04: Iraq needs 'social capital' ... ten minutes with Ray Salvatore Jennings of the United States Institute of Peace
03/31/04: Congress must come to terms ... ten minutes with Rep. Dick Armey
03/22/04: How to win the terror war ... 10 minutes with terrorism expert Steven Emerson
03/16/04: Religion, spiritual freedom & Ronald Reagan … 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
03/10/04: America's materialism keeps world in tune
02/24/04: Our new epoch in history ... 10 minutes with philosopher/political thinker/novelist Lee Harris
02/20/04: Vanity Fair, SI sink lower than ever
02/13/04: A rare libertarian among Big Media liberals — up close and personal with John Stossel
02/10/04: Young innovators changing the rules
02/03/04: Now, the election fun begins … 10 minutes with Charlie Cook
01/30/04: Dem Dems
01/16/04: Caucuses bore you? You're not alone
01/14/04: Paradise lost? Ten minutes with … Victor Davis Hanson
01/09/04: Howard Dean week?
12/26/03: How is the magazine sector doing?
12/17/03: 10 minutes with Thomas Sowell
12/15/03: Journalism 'watchdog' displays bad reporting
12/09/03: Book lovers are losing a good read
12/05/03: 'South Park' has unlikely audience tuning in
12/03/03: An odd lot of 35 'heroes'
11/24/03: 'We'll learn the truth someday' … 10 minutes with JFK expert Cyril Wecht
11/18/03: Exposer of the idiocy of bureaucracy and the threat to individual freedom posed by government … Ten minutes with author James Bovard
11/14/03: Two stories examine Wal-Mart's domination
11/07/03: The real Rumsfeld … 10 minutes with author Midge Decter
11/05/03: Lights! Camera! Fudge!?
10/31/03: The straight dope on hate, drugs, Jon Stewart
10/24/03: See what federal $$$ does?
10/21/03: Esquire recalls its glory days
10/14/03: A 784-page biography hatchet job that only Clinton-haters will love — published by Random House? Ten minutes with Nigel Hamilton
10/10/03: Bush adviser girds for a tough fight ... 10 minutes with Mary Matalin
10/07/03: Forbes gives advice on making rich list
09/30/03: A 20th Century American tour
09/26/03: Reagan's life in letters
09/24/03: Bin Laden and Boy Bill
09/22/03: Dennis Miller makes funny business of politics
09/16/03: Famous 'bad girls' clear the air
09/12/03: Ben Stein gets serious: Davis is a 'thug in a gray flannel suit'
09/09/03: Smart(-Alecky) mag's very different 'swimsuit issue'; Murdoch might not be as bad as we thought
09/02/03: Ex-teacher lambastes our schools
08/25/03: Vanity Fair strives to be more than glamorous
07/22/03: Title IX's original intent … Ten minutes with Eric Pearson
07/11/03: Vanity Fair dishes it out on JFK Jr., N.Y. Times
07/09/03: Why Ben Franklin should be the "Father of Our Country" ... 10 minutes with Walter Isaacson
07/07/03: Honoring nation's first celebrity superstar
06/27/03: Reader's Digest can't help but act its age
06/24/03: Dick Morris, consultant for hire, reveals the inside story
06/20/03: Move over, Hillary. Here comes a better work of fiction
06/10/03: Publications take us away from Middle East
06/03/03: Dear graduates: Work for freedom … 10 minutes with Penn Jillette
05/30/03: National Geographic goes to the top of the world
05/23/03: Editors dabble in history, fiction
05/16/03: The Old Grim Lady gets covered
05/09/03: Political parties fighting over Iraq's wreckage
05/07/03: 10 minutes with a big-city Dem mayor who loathes budget deficits, the federal highway program, taxpayer-funded sports stadiums and the meddling (and aid money) of Washington
05/02/03: Are you sufficiently terrified?
04/29/03: Finally, a president defending American principles in the Middle East ... 10 minutes with Alexander Haig
04/25/03: Newsweeklies starting to lose interest in Iraq war
04/21/03: There's bias, and then there's bias
04/11/03: Planning future of Iraq, world
04/04/03: Newsweeklies come back with graphic look at war
03/28/03: Newsweeklies try to keep up with TV war coverage
03/26/03: Wen Ho Lee whistle-blower says beware of China
03/21/03: America's ready for war ... and peace
03/18/03: Baseball limping, not dead … 10 minutes with author Andrew Zimbalist
03/14/03: Vanity Fair gets us ready for month's big event
03/11/03: A road map for Iraq's liberation devised by James Madison? … 10 minutes with James S. Robbins
03/06/03: Iraq war will come and go before we know it
02/28/03: America takes time out for swimsuits
02/26/03: 'We shall be seen as liberators' .... 10 minutes with noted Brit commentator David Pryce-Jones
02/21/03: Terrorism one of many losing battles
02/14/03: Editors planning for the day after Gulf War II
02/12/03: The 'religiosity' of Ronald Reagan … 10 minutes with author Paul Kengor
02/10/03: Should the shuttle crash be the end of NASA?
02/06/03: Dear Joan ...
01/31/03: Newsweek, Nation ponder pros, cons of Gulf War II
01/24/03: 'Original' ideas follow New Deal philosophy
01/22/03: When handicapping 2004, watch the economy: Ten minutes with … Charlie Cook
01/17/03: New Republic fans hatred for SUVs
01/14/03: 10 minutes with Santorum on ... taxes, steel and Lott
01/10/03: Newsweeklies move on to latest menace
01/07/03: The best of the Q&As
12/30/02: Rosie's demise tops list of 2002 highlights
12/23/02: GOP must stick to its principles: 10 questions for ... Bill Kristol
12/20/02: Lott fiasco uncovers bigger problem
12/18/02: Free markets king in Sweden, at least for a day: Ten minutes with …. Donald Boudreaux
12/13/02: Corruption of Indian casinos no surprise
12/06/02: Giving credit to young philanthropists
12/02/02: Ten minutes with …. Chris Matthews
11/26/02: It's critical to memorialize communism's victims: 10 minutes with … Lee Edwards
11/22/02: JFK's secret health woes are revealed
11/19/02: “It's best to contain Saddam”: Ten minutes with … Col. David Hackworth
11/15/02: Brushing up on the affairs of a wild world
11/12/02: Make Dems filibuster … 10 minutes with … Robert L. Bartley
11/08/02: National Geographic: Urban overpopulation is good
11/05/02: The bloody consequences of a broken INS: Ten minutes with … Michelle Malkin
11/01/02: Going to pot; thank heaven for media overkill
10/29/02: It's all about federalism: Ten minutes with … Jonah Goldberg
10/25/02: Frank Sinatra, Kurt Cobain, Mad Magazine will never die
10/22/02: Here's why Orwell matters: Ten minutes with … Christopher Hitchens
10/18/02: The sniper knocks Iraq off the covers
10/15/02: Iraq, oil and war: 10 minutes with ... economist/historian Daniel Yergin
10/11/02: England's gun-control experiment has backfired
10/04/02: Buchanan the media baron?
09/27/02: Analyzing Esquire, GQ is not for the squeamish
09/20/02: CEOs: The rise and fall of American heroes
09/13/02: Skeptics remind U.S. to calm down
09/10/02: 'A failure to recognize a failure': 15 minutes with ... Bill Gertz
09/06/02: Rating the 9-11 mags
08/30/02: Bad trains, bad planes, and bad automobiles
08/28/02: Baseball, broken, can be fixed: 15 minutes with George Will
08/16/02: 9-11 overload has already begun
08/13/02: Tell us what you really think, Ann Coulter
08/09/02: A funny take on a new kind of suburb
08/02/02: It's not the humidity, it's the (media) heat wave; the death of American cities
07/12/02: Colombia's drug lords are all business
07/09/02: If capitalism is 'soulless' then show me something better: 10 minutes with … Alan Reynolds
06/25/02: Origins of a scandal: 10 minutes with … Michael Rose
06/21/02: 9/11 report unearths good, bad and ugly
06/18/02: The FBI is rebounding … 10 Minutes with Ronald Kessler
06/14/02: U.S. News opens closet of Secret Service
06/11/02: 10 minutes with … William Lind: Can America survive in this 'fourth-generation' world?
06/07/02: America, warts and all
05/30/02: FBI saga gets more depressing
05/13/02: The magazine industry's annual exercise in self-puffery
04/30/02: 10 Minutes with ... The New York Sun's Seth Lipsky
04/26/02: Will the American Taliban go free?
04/23/02: 10 minutes with ... Dinesh D'Souza
04/19/02: Saddam starting to show his age
04/12/02: Newsweek puts suicide bombing in perspective
04/09/02: How polls distort the news, change the outcome of elections and encourage legislation that undermines the foundations of the republic
04/05/02: Looking into the state of American greatness
03/25/02: The American President and the Peruvian Shoeshine Boys
03/22/02: Troublemaking intellectual puts Churchill in spotlight
03/20/02: 10 minutes with ... Bill Bennett
03/18/02: Suddenly, it's cool again to be a man
03/12/02: 10 minutes with … Ken Adelman
03/08/02: TIME asks the nation a scary question
03/05/02: 10 minutes with ... Rich Lowry
02/26/02: 10 minutes with ... Tony Snow
02/12/02: Has Soldier of Fortune gone soft?

© 2002, Bill Steigerwald