Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review Sept. 11, 2000 / 10 Elul, 5760

Anne B. Adams and Nancy Nash-Cummings

Question Mark
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Debbie Schlussel
Sam Schulman
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Cathy Young
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Poem to all parents


http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- DEAR ANNE AND NAN: I don't know if you can help me or not, but I sure hope you can. I don't have much information to go on, and I'm not really even sure if it's a poem, but it goes, "our children aren't really ours; God only loans them to us and can call them home any time." That's all I have. -- S.M. from Pa.

Dear S.M.: The poem you are looking for was written by Edgar Guest. It was first published in a 1938 collection of his poetry, titled "All In A Lifetime."

To All Parents

"I'll lend you for a little time
A child of mine," He said.
"For you to love the while he lives,
And mourn for when he is dead.

It may be six or seven years,
Or 22 or three.
But will you, till I call him back,
Take care of him for me?

He'll bring his charms to gladden you,
And shall his stay be brief.
You'll have his lovely memories
As solace for your grief.

I cannot promise he will stay,
Since all from earth return,
But there are lessons taught down there
I want this child to learn.

I've searched the wide world over
In my search for teachers true.
And from the throngs that crowd life's lanes
I have selected you.

Now will you give him all your love,
Nor think the labor vain?
Nor hate me when I come to call,
To take him back again?

I fancied that I heard them say,
'Dear L-rd, thy will be done.
For all the joy thy child shall bring,
The risk of grief we'll run.

We'll shelter him with tenderness,
We'll love him while we may.
And for the happiness we've known,
Will ever grateful stay.

But shall the angels call for him
Much sooner than we planned,
We'll brave the bitter grief that comes,
And try to understand.'"

FEEDBACK: Laura Forbes of Lisle, Ill., wondered if anyone knows the words to a lullaby her mother sang to her over 50 years ago. She remembers only the first verse and the refrain: Rock-a-bye my little owlet/ In thy mossy, swaying nest/ With thy little woodland brothers/ Close thy eyes and go to rest. Refrain: To-whoo, to-whoo, to-whoo.

We were stumped, but thanks to many readers who sent in both music and verses, we now know the poem is "Indian Lullaby" by Henry W. Longfellow, set to music by Walter H. Aiken.

The second and third verses are as follows: Hush-a-bye my little owlet/Many voices sing to thee, "Hush-a-bye," the water whispers/ "Hush!" replies the tall pine tree. (Refrain) Sleep, O sleep, my little owlet/ Through our tent the moon shines bright/ Like a great eye it will watch thee/ Sleep till comes the morning light.


Write to "Ask Anne & Nan" at P.O. Box 240, Hartland, VT 05048.


08/31/00: Love those pot handles
08/28/00: Bluing stains vintage quilt
08/21/00: Old Faithful runs out of steam
08/17/00: Find it in Vermont
08/14/00: Keys to worm-composting
08/10/00: Need sun protection?
08/09/00: Earth shoe improves posture
08/07/00: Fend off freezer burn
08/03/00: Patterns go high-tech
07/31/00: How to remove a heat stain from a dark dining room table
07/24/00: New strings renew glove
07/17/00: Returning Vietnam POW bracelet
07/10/00: Rockwell plates, and more
07/07/00: Hot water powers dishwasher
07/05/00: When bath towels become unraveled
06/28/00: Revive your flat carpet; hand-made ice cream
06/23/00: Dishwasher rust stains dishes
06/14/00: Making a tea-bag potpourri
06/13/00: It's "Where can I find?" time again!
06/12/00: Aging mars heirloom table
06/07/00: Tips for cleaning glassware
06/06/00: Dirty windows are a pane
06/05/00: Reader tears up the down
06/02/00: Get gook off washer
06/01/00: Potty-train with style
05/31/00: Outboard motors are a big hit
05/30/00: Getting crayon off the TV
05/24/00: Keeping kitty off of car
05/11/00: Searching for missing dad
05/10/00: Take care with old chairs
05/08/00: Toy stove heats up in value
05/06/00: Finding organic fertilizer
05/04/00: Sniffing out Tattle Tales
05/03/00: Replacing typewriter ribbon
05/01/00: Rare-book preservation
04/28/00: Donating to war memorial
04/25/00: Where-to-find roundup
04/24/00: Explosion loosens tiles
04/19/00: Is `Little Irene' worth a little more?
04/18/00: Old-fashioned jingle bells
04/14/00: Finding lost poetry in leaves
04/13/00: Inexpensive wedding gifts
04/12/00: Finding floral hankies
04/10/00: Find almost everthing here
04/07/00: Lots of reader feedback
04/06/00: Maggot munchies
04/04/00: Definitions of sounds in a car
04/03/00: Cleaning burn stains
03/31/00: Reprinting a favorite
03/30/00: Finding extra-long sheets
03/29/00: Help for a devoted fan
03/28/00: Cleaning an old silk lampshade
03/27/00: Keeping gardens cat-free
03/23/00: Collectible outboard motors
03/22/00: Removing crayon stains
03/21/00: Appraising antique miniature table
03/20/00: Removing hair dye from skin
03/17/00: Traditional anniversary gift list
03/16/00: Write to the stars
03/14/00: Cleaning stains on Formica
03/13/00: Homemade drain cleaner
03/09/00: Where to find laundry soap
03/07/00: Where to find box-springs covers
03/07/00: Turn old T-shirts into a quilt
03/06/00: Removing driveway stains
03/03/00: Caring for ivory
03/02/00: Getting pet stains out of carpet
02/28/00: Getting rid of hard-water deposits
02/25/00: Houseplants may help sinuses
02/24/00: A safer way to make soap
02/23/00: Cleaning and storing crochet work
02/22/00: Summer Macs vs. winter Macs
02/18/00: Removing rust stains in bathroom
02/17/00: Finding the perfect steam mold
02/15/00: Caring for down comforters
02/14/00: How virtual publishing works
02/11/00: Silver-plating table ornaments
02/09/00: Caring for poinsettias year-round
02/08/00: 'Where Can I Find?' responses
02/04/00: Homemade tarnish remover
02/03/00: Our readers to the rescue
02/02/00: Cutting down on catalog mail
02/01/00: Flattening a latch-hook rug
01/28/00: Old appliance? Join the club!
01/27/00: Where can I find... ?
01/26/00: Getting crayon stains off Formica
01/20/00: Handy-dandy pie-crust bag
01/20/00: Must we keep all those receipts for taxes?
01/19/00: Vermont Country Store to the Rescue!
01/18/00: Fireplace guards for curious babies
01/14/00: Olympian stamp not worth much
01/13/00: Recycling old furs
01/12/00: Getting mustiness out of cupboards
01/11/00: Odd-sized ironing board covers
01/06/00: Getting ink out of dolls
01/05/00: Getting rust out of Grandpa's kettle
01/04/00: Caution for Aruba tourists
01/03/00: "Don't Stand at My Grave and Weep"
12/29/99: Antiquing kit no longer available
12/28/99: Wooden needles and kitty jerky
12/27/99: No safe way to fix canning crocks
12/23/99: Stove-top egg poachers
12/22/99: Getting smoky grime off cabinets
12/20/99: The ABCs of P's and Q's
12/17/99: Feedback, stumped and a needle in a haystack!
12/16/99: Searching for Spike Jones
12/15/99: Are aluminum pots and pans dangerous?
12/13/99: Repairing heirloom brushes

© 2000, NEA