Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 19, 2005 / 18 Kislev, 5766

Matching Granddad? He wins hands down

By Ruben Navarrette Jr.


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Supreme Court nominee Samuel Alito Jr. has a top-notch resumé that suggests an interesting life. So I was intrigued when I read an article that mentioned how Judge Alito had said that he's convinced that the life story of his immigrant father — who died in the mid-1980s — is, hands down, much more interesting.


I can see why. The elder Alito was born in Italy and brought to this country as a toddler by his parents. Despite having to learn English, he excelled in school, graduating from college and then earning a master's degree from Rutgers University. The Los Angeles Times reports that his wife said that Sam Sr. would copy by hand the contents of textbooks he couldn't afford to buy.


The elder Alito taught public school before taking a job with the New Jersey Office of Legislative Services, which provides research and advice to the New Jersey Legislature. He eventually became director of the office, where he earned a reputation for, as the Times put it, his "penetrating mind and exemplary work." Because of his knowledge and objectivity, he was called as an expert witness in a court case challenging the state's redistricting system.


About all this, Sam Jr. is very proud. As he makes the rounds visiting senators, the nominee refers often to his father and the lessons he learned from him. It's clear that the son — who went to Princeton and Yale Law School before becoming an assistant U.S. attorney, an assistant solicitor general and a federal appellate judge — considers the father a role model.


I like the nominee already. Which is not to say that I think Alito would make a good justice. I need to see his confirmation hearings before I can decide that. I'm concerned about the fact that Alito, as a judge of the U.S. 3rd Circuit Court of Appeals, so often seems to side with police and prosecutors in criminal cases. In light of the 9/11 attacks, it has never been more important that defendants get a fair shake and due process. And if the folks in the black robes don't make sure that happens, no one will.


Still, it speaks well of such an accomplished individual that he can look back on the experience of someone who came before him and feel humbled.


I know the feeling, and so do some of my readers.


During a recent television interview, I mentioned that I've always been secretly grateful that I don't have to compete for jobs with either of my now-deceased grandfathers.


I've had a good education, and I'm not afraid of hard work. Still, I know that — if it just came down to work ethic alone — I'd be no match for them.


There are jobs that I, as a second-generation American, wouldn't do and wages I flat wouldn't accept. My grandfathers happily did any kind of work for whatever wages the jobs paid.


After the interview aired, I got a note from a reader who was struck by the line about competing with my grandfathers. That's how it was with him and his father, he said. His master's degree was no match for the stamina his father showed as he worked long hours in a steel mill.


The exchange reminded me of another. About 10 years ago, while I was living in my native Central California, I wrote a column in which I talked about how — while I'm the one who had the educational opportunities — it was my grandfathers who seemed to have the innate wisdom.


A few days after it ran, a local television personality came up to me and thanked me for the column. He knew exactly what I meant, he said. His father had migrated from Greece, and, he said, the migrant had a better grasp on most things than his college-educated children.


In America, it is assumed that each generation will be more successful than the one that came before it. But here's the rub: Real success isn't just about pressing forward. It's also about knowing how to look back with respect and admiration, and maybe even a bit of awe.


That's a lesson not lost on the son of an Italian immigrant seeking a seat on the nation's highest court.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.

Archives

© 2005, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles