Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 23, 2006 / 27 Sivan, 5766

My Girl Friend's Back: Makeup humor. It's the best kind

By Gene Weingarten


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As is well known to the regular, loyal reader of this column (Rodney Lardbotham of Gaithersburg), I used to engage in frequent debates about gender differences with feminist scholar Gina Barreca. These debates ended suddenly, about a year ago. What people do not know is why they ended: Gina and I had a fight.

Gina: It was not a "fight." That is such a male term.

Gene: It was most certainly a fight. Gina and I became

extremely angry with each other over something she did that I strongly disapproved of.

Gina: I was not "angry." I was never "angry."

Gene: Stop interrupting.

Gina: I will stop interrupting when you begin to characterize things accurately. You were "angry" with me. I was "disappointed" in you.

Gene: "Disappointed in you" is icy womanspeak for white-hot fury. The point is, for over a year, Gina and I did not work together, but we recently met in Denver for a long-scheduled joint appearance. At dinner, I asked her if she wanted to discuss what had happened and why, and she said no. The earth trembled. Angels wept. I am pretty sure this was the first time in recorded history that a woman — given the opportunity by a man — did not want to discuss their relationship. This bore further inquiry. And so here we are. Gina, explain yourself.

Gina: I didn't want to discuss the situation because I didn't want to offer you yet another platform to destroy whatever pathetic remnants of self-esteem I had managed to patch together in the last year.

Gene: So, you admit you were wrong!

Gina: Oh, for heaven's sake.

Gene: What?

Gina: You clearly have no understanding of feminist theory, or you would not have embarrassed yourself with that ignorant question. If you had ever read the works of Gilligan, you would realize that, in addition to infantile senses of humor, males also have an infantile sense of right and wrong. They are born that way, and never mature.

Gene: Did he write that before or after he was on the island?

Gina: See my first point, above. As far as a male sense of ethics, it is all black and white; good and bad; you're wrong, I'm right; bite me. Women understand that judgments about morality and ethics should be more nuanced and situational and defy toggle-switch logic, and also must be governed by a sense of proportion. Carol Gilligan actually confirms this.

Behavioral research has shown that when boys are on a playground playing some game and a dispute arises, they will argue about who is right until the bell rings to end recess. Then, after school, they'll continue the debate; fisticuffs may or may not ensue. Whereas, if girls are playing and there is a dispute, they change games, because they understand that preserving friendship and harmony is more important than arbitrary, artificial and ultimately meaningless constructs about ethics or fairness. That's why girls play together so much better than boys.

Gene: Okay, then if what you did to incur my anger is situationally defensible, you will have no objection to my describing it right here in lavish detail.

Gina:

Gene: Well?


Donate to JWR

Gina: I'm thinking strategically here.

Gene: Women are good at that! Take your time.

Gina: All right. If my pain will bring you pleasure, if that is the nature of your appetites — the sort of thing you need to achieve satisfaction — I will submit.

Gene:

Gina: Do it.

Gene: Very, very good.

Gina: Thank you. Listen, I understand that you were angry, and because I adore you, I am self-laceratingly sorry you were angry. Your response was to instantly banish me from your life with no appeal, whereas my response was to want to set myself on fire. Self-immolation seemed the only reasonable choice.

Irrationally strong internalization of guilt remains an enormous character flaw in the otherwise highly evolved modern feminist. I would hope that the next generation of feminists would respond by wanting to set you on fire. But we are not there yet. We may never get there.

Gene: You adore me?

Gina: Yes.

Gene:

Gina: That is another flaw in the modern feminist.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Gene Weingarten writes the Below the Beltway humor column for The Washington Post. To comment, please click here.


Archives


© 2006 WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles