Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 16, 2021

Rogue Report

By Argus Hamilton





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Biden took heat for wearing a mask outdoors Sunday days after he announced masks were no longer necessary if you’ve been vaccinated. He’s been besieged by fuel shortages, labor shortages, inflation and border chaos. I could sure go for a mean tweet and two-dollar gas right now.

Bloomberg Business News raised a warning flag Monday that the U.S. economy may be headed for a long period of high inflation. Economists say corporate demand is upending global supply chains. The price of lumber is so high I decided to sell my house for parts, and my landlord is furious.

President Biden addressed reporters in the White House Monday and urged the Israelis and Palestinians to come to the negotiating table and stop firing rockets at each other. They would do well to follow Joe’s example. He’s proof that whichever side stays in the basement can win this thing.

President Biden will fly to Britain in June for a G7 Summit at Cornwall and for bilateral talks with Prime Minister Boris Johnson in London. Our two countries are mirror images of each other. For instance, actresses in England have just launched their own Me, Too movement, called I, As Well.

Prince Harry discussed his life in Los Angeles in a podcast Sunday and complained about all the tabloid photographers and their First Amendment rights. He added it wasn’t easy growing up royal. Harry cried for years about the hardships he went through and not one servant would listen.

Life Hack website lists ways you can assess a person’s character by their compassion, honesty, kindness and temperament, but I won’t judge a man if he’s a drunk, a womanizer or a showoff. I am just as big a rascal today, 35 years sober, as I was drunk. My life coach just put me in right field.

Saturday Night Live satirized Dr. Fauci for his year-long, shifting pronouncements regarding everything you may do, everything you must wear and everywhere you may go. He’s not about to exit quietly. Dr. Fauci responded by announcing you no longer have to wear socks with your sandals.

Senate Republicans urged the president to end added federal unemployment benefits because so many businesses need workers. This labor shortage is for real. Two weeks ago, when I needed to get some milk, I walked into Trader Joe’s wearing a Hawaiian shirt and today I’m the store manager.

GET ARGUS' DAILY SMILES to your inbox. Sign up for the JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

The Pentagon will soon release long-awaited Top-Secret information revealing what we know about UFOs and where the UFOs might come from. What I want to know is, when will we get to the truth about Chicken McNuggets? I’m tired of pretending that those things come from chickens. Amazon is reported to be in talks to buy MGM Studios to access its movie library to Amazon’s two hundred million Amazon Prime members. I’m one, but I’m skittish about having my debit card number on file at Amazon. If someone figures out my password, I’m going to have to re-name my dog.

Variety reports anxiety in the movie studios over low box office and public indifference to the Oscars. Hollywood people are in constant need of reassurance. Years ago a pal told me he'd just gotten a small part in a porno film, and I had to reassure him there are no small parts in a porno film.

The White House issued a mask policy that takes your word you've been vaccinated if you are not wearing a mask indoors or outdoors. It's the same as the Biden policy that accepts that you are who you say you are when you mail in your ballot. It's the same great principle of trust between Americans that allowed Broadway show backers to own six thousand percent of Springtime for Hitler.

McDonald's announced Friday it's raising hourly wages to combat the worker shortage as are Subway and Dunkin Donuts. Last year the nation honored nurses, this year, we honor fast food workers. Taco Bell is now the only place in America where you can still get gas for under two dollars.

US News and World Report says gas stations on the Eastern Seaboard were slow in restocking their supply of gasoline last week and it had some drivers not thinking clearly at all. One man in North Carolina died while trying to siphon gas from a car. It was a Tesla and he was electrocuted.

The White House was beset by figures Sunday showing eighty percent of Washington DC gas stations are out of gasoline due to the shortage. This is on top of inflation and tensions with Iran. I wouldn't say that Jimmy Carter is getting a second term, but Hunter Biden just endorsed Billy Beer.

Colonial Pipeline paid the ransom to hackers Friday and reactivated their pipeline and put an end to the panic gas buying back East. Fist fights broke out when drivers tried to cut in line for gas. Back in my day, the only time we started panic-buying was when the bartender shouted last call.

Southern California began returning to normal with restaurants, clubs and amusement parks re-opening at limited one-fourth capacity last weekend. Disneyland is leading the way back to normal. Disney ruled that Prince Charming may go back to kissing sleeping women without their permission.

The Rolling Stones No Filter Tour this summer of North America was postponed due to Covid safety concerns for the protection of the legendary rockers. Mick Jagger is seventy-seven, Keith Richards is seventy-six and Ronnie Wood is seventy-six. Rappers are obviously doing the wrong drugs.

Willie Nelson hosted fellow cannabis entrepreneurs at his Austin ranch last week to celebrate his eighty-eighth birthday. The next time that you think rock ‘n roll stars were anti-establishment rebels, consider country music stars. Willie Nelson might have proved that marijuana is good for you.

Great Britain will announce that vaccinated U.S. tourists are welcome to England this summer as our Mother Country starts to open up. In addition British health officials loosened the nation's social distance rules Monday and said casual sex is back on the table. I prefer it in bed, to be honest.

President Biden last week cut off all incoming flights from South Asia due to the deadly new strain of Covid that's been infecting the sub-continent recently. The order was too late. It wasn't in circulation one week before Elizabeth Warren claimed she'd tested positive for the Indian Variant.

West Bank violence flared back up as Israel fired rockets that destroyed Palestinian buildings in reprisal for Palestinian rocket attacks on Israel. The exact same thing happens every uprising. Perhaps the Palestinians should start firing rockets at their own buildings and cut out the middle man.

Israel fired rocket attacks into Ramallah destroying buildings on the West Bank after Hamas fired hundreds of missiles into Israel over new Jewish settlements in the West Bank. It looks hopeless. On the bright side, after a year of Covid, it's nice to see things getting back to normal again.

Florida governor Ron DeSantis struck a casino deal with the Seminole tribe. Andrew Jackson invaded and routed the Seminoles for staying loyal to England and exiled them to Oklahoma, in the only war in U.S. history where the losers got the oil land. To this day, the Cheneys refuse to discuss it.


Archives

JWR contributor Argus Hamilton is the host comedian at The Comedy Store in Hollywood. To comment or arrange for speaking engagements. Comment by clicking here.


© 2020, Argus Hamilton

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast