Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Man's role -- and goal -- in prayer is often misunderstood

By Rabbi Berel Wein


Man to sky. Emotional scene from Bigstock


In less than 750-words, an internationally acclaimed scholar explains the original monotheistic religion's teachings and expectations


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Prayer, in its most formal sense, comprises an important part of daily Jewish life and ritual. Daily morning, afternoon and evening services are the staple rhythm of activities in every synagogue and home throughout the Jewish world. There are many dimensions of prayer in Jewish tradition and thought. And perhaps no subject has been explained and scrutinized as closely in the writings of the great Jewish scholars of the ages as has been prayer.


Prayer in Judaism is at one and the same time composed of rigid formality and set legal (Halachic) rules, and the necessity for personal emotion, devotion and intent. Reconciling these two apparently contradictory motives is and always has been a daunting task for the individual Jew who prays regularly.


On one hand it can become purely a matter of rote and habit, something that one does, so to speak, in a mental and emotional state of stupor and absentmindedness. On the other hand there are times when one experiences intense emotional feeling and this is especially true when one offers particular personal requests before one's Creator.


And the necessity for devotion and meaning in prayer is present at all times during prayer, even in the most formal and regular circumstances. So I think that we can all agree that achieving meaningful and spiritually satisfying prayer on a regular basis is a most challenging and taxing goal.


This being the case, in this current season when meaningful prayer occupies our minds and hearts we are often perplexed by the nature and results of prayer itself.


Basically, the idea of prayer in Jewish life is made up of two components. One is the concept of praise, wonder and awe that comprises our relationship with the Almighty. It is an acknowledgement of our faith in a universe created ex nihilo by an omniscient and omnipotent Supreme Being. Prayer in Judaism is a daily recommitment to the essential belief in a universal and active G0D.


The second element of prayer is our request from Heaven of earthly blessings and personal wishes. Though even these prayers are formed in decided and formal language and terms, the requests are decidedly personal. There even exists latitude for more personal and individual formulations of wishes for health, family, prosperity and the like. There are also requests for the national salvation of Israel and for a hoped for betterment of the human condition generally, and for the betterment of all humankind.


Part of the sophistication and elegance involved in the formulation of traditional Jewish prayer over the millennia has been the ability to blend these two differing purposes into one almost seamless whole. Prayer was therefore meant to be a serious exercise in thought, life-analysis, and faith. It was also always meant to be emotional, meaningful, soulful and exalted. It never really was intended to be easy on the mind and the clock nor was it necessarily supposed to be entertaining or "cool." In order to achieve this precarious balance the rules of Halacha were formulated to govern prayer. Deviating from these rules engenders a loss of prayer's essential balance and a forfeiture of its necessary holy aura.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


But what are we to think when our prayers and requests seemingly go unanswered? It is painful in the extreme to the human psyche to be ignored or rebuffed. And yet we never have any guarantee that our particular prayers and requests will evoke a response from Heaven, which will be discernible to us. In fact all of us feel at certain moments of our lives that our prayers have gone unanswered.


There are those that say that "no" — being ignored and unanswered is also an answer. But that is really an answer that only again begs the question. It is obvious that we should not deal with prayer as an application to Heaven that must immediately be acted upon. The rhythm of Heaven is not that of our earth and prayers that seemingly went unanswered for centuries suddenly and unexpectedly receive response and fulfillment.


Thus prayer, though intended many times by the person praying to be seen as short-term and immediate, in reality is always long-term and can affect generations currently yet unborn. Prayer as a consequence becomes part of the inscrutable nature of all things governed by Heaven and Divine Will. It is our task and obligation to pray and request, to praise and to renew our faith in our Creator. Heaven will deal with our prayer in Its own perfect and beneficial judgment.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Rabbi Berel Wein is a historian, author and international lecturer.


© 2013, Rabbi Berel Wein