Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 13, 2010 / 27 Teves 5770

It's about Time

By Richard Lederer

Bill O'Reilly
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Welcome to two thousand ten, or is it two thousand and ten, or is it twenty ten?

I contend it's twenty ten, and here's why:

During most of our lives we used the following formula to name years: nineteen forty one, nineteen eighty four, and nineteen ninety nine.

Then we reached the year two thousand, after which, when we tried to say twenty one, we realized that we would be ambiguous because twenty one could mean 21. So we started saying two thousand two, three, etc. This new formula was probably influenced by Arthur C. Clarke's fantasy Two Thousand and One: A Space Odyssey, which preceded the year two thousand and one by 33 years.

But now that we've arrived at 2010, we realize that saying twenty ten is not ambiguous. Twenty ten allows us to return to the template of the nineteen hundreds, and saves five letters, one syllable, and one word.

That's the American way: When you can save letters and syllables, you go for it. That's why we usually say (or write) done instead of finished and despite instead of in spite of. That's why I predict that twenty ten (eleven, etc.) will win out over two thousand ten (eleven, etc.).

Letter from JWR publisher


Then there's the decade debate. Does 2010 mark the beginning of a new decade, or does that milestone not appear till first second of next year? To hear and read the dozens of decade-nt summaries of the years 2000 through 2009 that recently appeared in newspapers and magazines and whizzed around the Internet, you'd think that the first decade of the 21st century ended just as 2009 ticked into 2010.

But bear in mind that Christ was one year old at the end of the first year A.D. and that the first decade A.D. did not run its course until the end of the year 10. Each new decade, then, begins with a year ending with the number one, not zero, so that the second decade of this century (and millennium) will begin at the first breath of 2011, not 2010.

And that first decade of the new century and millennium will have remained nameless. Some of us recall the Twenties, Thirties, and Forties; and more of us have lived through the Fifties, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties, and Nineties.

Then, starting January 1, 2001, came the first nameless decade of our lives. We could have called it The Zeros, but that would have been too dismal. The Noughts or Naughts? Too negative. The Aughts or Oughts? Too prescriptive and ambiguous. The Ohs? Exuberant but also ambiguous. So we didn't call that decade anything.

And what shall we name the next decade, starting January 1, 2011? The Teens leap to mind, but 2011 and 2012 will not include numbers in the teens. Maybe we'll embrace The Teens when 2013 dawns.

Finally, let us note that the second day of this year — 01/02/2010 — reads the same forward and backward, coming and going . The next such January 2 will not occur for another 10,000 years —01/02/12010. Left-to-right-and-right-to-left patterns in language are called palindromes, from single words such as deified to compounds such as race car to statements such as the astonishing Doc, note. I dissent. A fast never prevents a fatness. I diet on cod.

Mirror-image dates — the next one will wink out at us on 11/02/2011 — are commonly called numerical palindromes. I suggest a more compact sobriquet — calindromes.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Richard Lederer Archives

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Richard Lederer is a language maven. More than a million of his books, which have been Book-of-the-Month Club and Literary Guild alternate selections, are in print. His latest work is Presidential Trivia: The Feats, Fates, Families, Foibles, and Firsts of Our American Presidents


© 2010, Richard Lederer

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles