Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 28, 2008 / 22 Adar I 5768

Why this Passover will be different from all other Passovers — at least for some of us

By Ariella Marcus

Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's no reason to be bashful about saying it: Passover is probably the only Jewish holiday that's both loved and dreaded.

Those who strictly observe the 8-day celebration, enjoy the annual spiritual boost it provides. There's the traditional Seder(s) where family and friends gather, of course. But then there's the remainder of the week. With chametz — leavened products — forbidden, menus are limited. Matzah is a staple. So are potatoes and chicken and meat. And how can one forget the miracle of macaroons? Being at the mercy of Manischewitz … well, don't get me started.

Friends, family and others who partake of my annual fine whine are always quick to remind me of "kosher for Passover" hotels. As if a middle middle-class family can afford two grand per family member.

This year, though, Susie Fishbein will be leading me into a different sort of Promised Land.

Fishbein is the author of a series of cookbooks, Kosher by Design, that have been run-away bestsellers. Together, they've sold more than a quarter of a million copies.

I just reviewed Fishbein's latest, Passover by Design. After flipping through just a few of the recipes and pictures, my anticipation shifted from monochrome to technicolor. Now I'm actually looking forward to Passover. My whines will be corked.

Let me say this: Visually, this is a stunning cookbook.



EXPERIENCE THE BOOK FOR YOURSELF …

by clicking HERE. You can actually "turn" its pages and see the book as if you are "holding" it.

(Order info is also available. It's currently discounted, with sales helping fund JWR).


I'm not sure how Fishbein did it, but she's created kosher for Passover recipes that look like year round foods. For example, she concocted a Teriyaki sauce that isn't soy based; ergo we can enjoy it for Passover! (I love the adjacency of those two words: Enjoy — Passover! After nearly three and a half decades, this could be a whole new exodus — from food fatigue!)

Passover by Design is signature Susie — simple elegance, beautiful photos, and delicious results. It contains over 170 recipes. I recognize many of them as Kosher by Design favorites that have been completely reformulated and adjusted to the more rigorous standards of Passover preparations. Passover involves a great deal of ingredient substitution, which can drive someone crazy trying to calculate how much potato starch to substitute for the recipe's recommended amount of flour.

Along with the Passover-adjusted favorites, Fishbein includes over 30 brand-new recipes. Some of them — like the Creamy Peach Soup — are very simple. Others are more gourmet quality in presentation and taste, such as the Beef Roulade on Creamy Parsnips. (This is one of several she developed with Manhattan's kosher catering maven Moshe David of Infinity Catering by Moshe.)

There's a cosmopolitan theme running through some of the recipes, as the names reflect: Teriyaki Chicken Satés, Thai Quinoa, Salmon Tataki, Veal Scaloppini, even a Matzo Primavera! I noticed some new cooking techniques I hadn't seen in previous Kosher by Design cookbooks, particularly with the Steamed Thai Sole Rolls. I also noticed what appears to be a killer Chocolate Chip Cheesecake!

While most of us can eat pretty much anything anytime, there is an allergen-afflicted segment of our society that will find some year-round relief in this Passover-centric cookbook. I'm speaking of those gluten-intolerant persons who suffer from Celiac Disease, a severe allergic sensitivity to wheat products. While all of the Passover by Design recipes are free of chametz (yeast or leaven), 130 of the recipes are "non-gebrochts", which means they are also free of any gluten. ("Gebrochts" means that the recipe calls for matzah meal or even broken pieces of matzah. While they will certainly eat baked matzah separately, some Jews avoid "eating gebrochts" for part or all of the Passover week.)

I had a gluten-intolerant guest for a meal last year. She felt apologetic that I had to make separate foods for her. If I'd had Passover by Design, I could have whipped up something we could have equally enjoyed.

The 140+ stunning photos were shot by world-class food photographer John Uher, whose client list includes Godiva Chocolates. Susie includes some great tablescaping and entertaining ideas in this beautiful book.

I've seen Susie in action in a cooking demonstration. She's a dynamo of enthusiasm, credibility, and a "you can do it" attitude. She's also a homemaker, a wife, and mother of four who has a very down-to-earth attitude we can all relate to. That's likely the secret ingredient of her personal success. I remember when her very first cookbook (Kosher by Design, March 2003) sold 24,000 copies in the first 10 days. Passover by Design pre-sold 20,000 copies before hitting the store shelves on February 28th. But Susie seems unaffected by the national exposure she's achieved. She's held solid, consistent, and true to her standards, in the face of detractors, naysayers, and imitators. The popularity of her cookbooks is a fitting tribute to a working mom with a simple vision to turn kosher into classy. Kudos to Fishbein. Now . . . let's cook up some of these recipes!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washinton and the media consider must reading. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.

Ariella Marcus is a media producer in New York and likes to experiment with creative Jewish cooking.




© 2008, Ariella Marcus