Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 28, 2013 / 25 Kislev, 5774

Giving Thanks, Keeping Hope

By Michael Reagan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's been an up and down, rough and tumble, crazy, sad, frustrating year for America the Beautiful so far.

As usual, except for the parade of hurricanes, tornados, fires and floods, most of the trouble and strife in our lives came from the professional nincompoops and evildoers in Washington.

The Obama regime and its congressional flunkies and loyal bureaucrats did their best to make our lives worse while the mainstream media pretended, as usual, not to notice.

We spent the first couple months of 2013 watching Big Media ignore the leftover scandals from President Obama's first four years of follies.

The Benghazi lies and cover-up. The IRS abuse of conservative political groups in the months before the 2012 election. And let's not forget the seizure of Associated Press reporters' phone records by Eric Holder's Injustice Department.

They're all long-forgotten now, first-term footnotes eclipsed by the "national crises" of 2013 -- all of which were exaggerated, all of which were created in the first place by the dysfunctional Washington "elites."

"The Fiscal Cliff" came and went and, as anyone with a subscription to People magazine could have told you, we didn't go over it.

We survived the "Government Shutdown," which served no purpose, but did help the Democrats.

If the president hadn't used it as a weapon to selectively inflict pain on park-goers and others to get media attention, hardly anyone would have noticed or cared that the federal government was closed for 16 days.

Then, of course, Obamacare arrived with a sickening thud on Oct. 1, proving for the ten-thousandth time in recent history that government is incapable of planning or doing anything well, efficiently or equitably.

Obamacare was such an obvious failure, such a perfect "Saturday Night Live" skit on the inherent incompetence of government, that even some Democrats in Congress and the mainstream media noticed.



When the president wasn't trying to destroy our health care system, or exploiting mass murders by calling for greater gun control, or off playing golf, he was pandering to his core constituents by playing the race card.

He played it on the year's most overhyped media event, the George Zimmerman/Trayvon Martin trial. And he played it when the Supreme Court gutted an obsolete part of the 1965 Voting Rights Act.

Our promiser-in-chief was just as hapless abroad as he was at home. He toughly drew a red line in Syria, then didn't know what to do when Bashar Assad crossed it.

The president had to be saved from his own dithering and blustering by that great statesman, Vladimir Putin, who stepped in with a plan that averted a war with Syria that Obama's foreign policy team would have handled as deftly as he handled Libya and Egypt.

Maybe Putin will help our president figure out what to do with Iran, too.

But let's be fair. Obama wasn't the source of all our pain this year.

Republicans did their part. They continued to fight among themselves over immigration, and sniped at each other for either being too conservative or not conservative enough.

The GOP also proved how desperately it needs a leader who can unite its factions and take advantage of the serial failures of President Obama and the Democrats.

America is troubled in many serious ways. The economy continues to underperform. We're short of good jobs and long on taxes and regulations.

We badly need a smaller federal government. We desperately need rational -- and humane -- immigration reform, not to mention a sound and sane Middle East policy.

Most of all, we desperately need to cast out the dangerous crazies running this country and replace them with sensible people who don't want to make us turn in our guns, ride bikes to work or become Europe II.

But it's Thanksgiving in America and we should give thanks.

By some miracle we still live in the greatest country the world has ever known. And, if we have the brains and will, we have it within our power to start all over again.

Happy Thanksgiving, America.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Reagan is the son of President Ronald Reagan, a political consultant, and the author of "The New Reagan Revolution" (St. Martin's Press). He is the founder of the email service reagan.com and president of The Reagan Legacy Foundation. Comment by clicking here.


© 2013, Michael Reagan

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast