Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 31, 2013 / 27 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Most divisive president in history finally a uniter

By Michael Reagan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Mr. President,

Thank you, thank you -- sort of.

You have been able to do something my father was never able to do -- bring my sister Patti and me together politically.

You remember my rebellious sister Patti Davis? The liberal activist?

Maybe you saw her in Playboy in 1994. Or read one of many good books, or seen her latest, "The Blue Hour," which is a ghost story.

But really she's most famous for publicly falling out with her father over his conservative politics.

Patti's almost as liberal as you are, Mr. President.

We disagreed on my father's presidency. We disagree on abortion. We disagree on gay marriage. We disagree on guns.

Heck, we've disagreed on every big and little political issue in the last 20 years.

But now, thanks to you and that train wreck of yours called the Affordable Care Act, Patti and I have been brought together.

She and I are both asking the same question about Obamacare:

Why are we losing our private health insurance when you promised over and over that we could keep it?



Patti generated some publicity for herself (and her latest book) last week when she tweeted what millions of other Americans would like to know:

"Could the president'' — i.e, you, Mr. Obama — "please explain why I and others are losing our health ins. plans? Wasn't supposed to happen!"

Poor Patti.

Now she knows what it feels like when you and your soul mates in Washington dump one of your sweeping, coercive, bureaucratic, socialist government programs on the rest of us.

She's feeling the same pain as hundreds of thousands of people in Florida and Pennsylvania who've been dropped by their insurance companies.

Or those employees at companies like IBM that have decided to drop their company-provided health coverage and have their workers get coverage through state marketplaces.

Patti's been hit upside the head by your pipe dream to turn us into Europe Lite. And it's knocked a little sense into her.

She's seriously disappointed in you, Mr. President. You're apparently not as perfect as she thought you were when she voted for you twice.

Earlier this month, in an open letter to you on her website, she even expressed her displeasure to you for the way you dealt with the government shutdown:

"We all remember your campaign tag of 'no drama Obama,'" she wrote. "Interesting that there has been one drama after another in your presidency, this last one really tipping the scales."

I could have written that line myself.

That's scary, Mr. President. You're slowly turning my sister into a non-liberal.

She's starting to emulate -- or at least channel -- her older brother. She even compared your "me-me" persona unfavorably with her father's humbler, drama-free conduct.

I don't want to rub it in, Mr. President, but Patti scored another point with me when she noted that for a saint, you had a bad attitude.

You seem to be "annoyed" when you talk to our fellow Americans, "as if this job you campaigned for is keeping you from something else you'd rather be doing."

Did Patti mean golf, Mr. President?

Don't worry, Sir. My sister is still a true-blue liberal.

Like members of the mainstream media, she thinks Republicans were mostly to blame for that over-hyped, politically manipulated government shutdown you tried to scare us into thinking was a national crisis.

But I'm afraid you've lost Patti's unconditional love, Mr. President.

She's learned what we non-liberals have been trying to warn everyone about for years— that Obamacare is an absolute train wreck for the people of America.

So thanks again for your bad work, Mr. President. I hope this is a beginning of a new relationship between my sister and me. Next time I go on vacation, maybe I can get her to write one of my columns.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Reagan is the son of President Ronald Reagan, a political consultant, and the author of "The New Reagan Revolution" (St. Martin's Press). He is the founder of the email service reagan.com and president of The Reagan Legacy Foundation. Comment by clicking here.


© 2013, Michael Reagan

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast