Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sep 9, 2013 / 5 Tishrei, 5774

Presidential Dithering

By Michael Reagan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | John Kerry put on quite a war dance in the Senate on Tuesday.

The Secretary of State, backed up by Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel and Joint Chiefs Chairman Martin Dempsey, went before the Foreign Relations Committee to urge senators to support the newly drafted resolution giving President Obama authorization to use airstrikes in Syria.

Kerry made some impressive arguments in favor of military action.

He said the evidence is undeniable that Assad's military forces used chemical weapons to kill nearly 1,500 men, women and children in Damascus.

He said that if the United States does not act to punish Assad it will send the wrong message to every rogue regime in the world.

And at one point, cranking up the rhetoric, Kerry said, "This is not the time for armchair isolationism. This is not the time to be spectators to slaughter."

At about this point in the proceedings, I began to wonder if Kerry's talking points had been written by George W. Bush.

When I closed my eyes, I swear I heard the voices of Colin Powell, Dick Cheney and Donald Rumsfeld explaining why the United States had a moral duty to invade Iraq and take out Saddam Hussein.

Kerry's running argument with Sen. Rand Paul of Kentucky about whether the Obama administration was going to go to war even if Congress didn't give its permission brought me back to 2013 -- and reminded me how horribly President Obama's indecisiveness has botched Syria.

Let's say everything Kerry said the other day about Assad being responsible for the gas attack and the importance of the civilized world punishing him is true.

Let's say President Obama is not playing some cynical political game with Congress, or trying to win points with the public, and that he knows every single claim Kerry made is absolutely true.

Then what is the president waiting for? Why in God's holy name hasn't Obama already kicked Assad's butt?

Two weeks after Assad gassed his own people and crossed the president's imaginary red line, we're still debating in Congress and worrying if Vladimir Putin will get mad at us if we beat Russia's favorite Middle Eastern pet.

As I said last week, President Obama should have done the same thing in Syria that President Ronald Reagan did in Libya when he had to wise-up Gadhafi about the cost of waging his terrorism campaign against the West.

My father acted the way the president of the United States should act -- decisively. He made no calls to the United Nations asking for permission to bomb Libya.

He orchestrated no debates in Congress. He acted with resolve and ordered bombs to be dropped, not coalitions to be formed or opinion polls to be taken.

Long before Assad had a chance to launch a poison gas attack, our cut-rate commander-in-chief should have ordered a few cruise missiles fired at Assad's head to get his full attention -- or better yet, kill him.

It's too late for such presidential decisiveness now. President Obama needed to show Assad that he -- and the United States -- meant business a long time ago.

But his administration dithered for more than two years, and 100,000 Syrians died in a civil war that now has so many rebel factions no one can tell the good guys from the bad.

Sen. Lindsey Graham was right when he said this week that it's already too late for the United States to come up with a Syria strategy. He said our best options already are in our rear-view mirror.

At this point, all we can do is drop some leaflets on Damascus telling the Syrians how sorry we are that we have a president who still can't get his act together.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Reagan is the son of President Ronald Reagan, a political consultant, and the author of "The New Reagan Revolution" (St. Martin's Press). He is the founder of the email service reagan.com and president of The Reagan Legacy Foundation. Comment by clicking here.


© 2013, Michael Reagan

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast