Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 20, 2013 / 12 Tammuz, 5773

The mess that is Mexico: What few have the cojones to say

By Michael Reagan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What the heck is wrong with Mexico?

It's got everything it needs to be a prosperous First World country.

It's got a $1.7 trillion free-market economy -- the 12th largest in the world.

It's got 116 million of the hardest working people on the planet.

It's got its own oil, gas, silver and other natural resources. It's got beautiful beaches and ancient ruins to attract tourists.

So why is Mexico such a mess?

Why are its wages so low and its per capita income a third of ours? Why is its unemployment rate so high? Why is its pollution so bad?

Why are drug cartels killing tens of thousands of people each year in turf wars? Why are the drug traffickers effectively in charge of the Mexican side of the U.S.-Mexico border?

And, most import to us, why do so many of Mexico's poorest citizens have to leave their families, become criminals and sneak across the U.S. border just to get a decent-paying job?

The answer is simple, and no secret.

The reason Mexico is not the safe, prosperous First World country it should be is because of its corrupt government and the politicians who run it.

Thirty years ago Ronald Reagan shocked the professional appeasers, the Cold War wimps and the détente-forever crowd when he called the Soviet Union exactly what it was and always had been -- "The Evil Empire."

My father's politically incorrect truth-telling told the whole world what he thought of the USSR and announced that he was going to use moral and spiritual weapons, not just military strength, to fight Soviet communism.

My father knew it was not the captive peoples of the Soviet Union who were evil. It was their totalitarian government and the terrible ideas that it enforced so brutally.



Mexico's people are equally blameless. They're not the source of their country's economic ills or our illegal-immigration problem.

The Mexicans who cross into the USA looking for work are doing what most people I know, including myself, would do if they were trapped in a politically corrupt country.

It's time for Washington to stop arguing over the length or height or strength of our border fences, or how many years our 11 million illegal immigrants must wait in line to become an American citizen.

It's time for Washington to address the root cause of our immigration problem -- the mess that is Mexico.

We need to stake out the moral high ground and do what it takes to help Mexico -- and it's not money.

Mexico already has all the human and natural resources it needs. But it's being held back by corruption.

It's time for an American president -- this president -- to stand up and call Mexico what it has been for at least a century, "The Corrupt Empire."

We -- through the president -- have to tell the people of Mexico we want to help them clean up their corrupt government.

We have to tell them we understand why they must risk their lives to come here illegally. And we have to tell them we want to help them become a First World country so they can stay home.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Reagan is the son of President Ronald Reagan, a political consultant, and the author of "The New Reagan Revolution" (St. Martin's Press). He is the founder of the email service reagan.com and president of The Reagan Legacy Foundation. Comment by clicking here.



Previously:


06/13/13 Obama, the role model. Seriously
06/06/13 Don't whine about the IRS, kill it!

© 2013, Michael Reagan

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast