Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 6, 2014 / 8 Sivan, 5774

It's Time to Say Thank You to Those that Saved the World

By Michael Reagan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here in this little French village of Sainte Mere Eglise they remember D-Day.

Sainte Mere Eglise, as students of history and World War II movies know, became the first town to be liberated from Hitler's armies when hundreds of American paratroopers fell from the sky early on the morning of June 6, 1944.

The people of Sainte Mere Eglise have never forgotten the men of the 101st Airborne and 82nd Airborne divisions who were killed or wounded during an operation designed to prevent the Germans from using a road to counterattack the amphibious landings at Utah and Omaha beaches.

They've renamed village streets for Dwight Eisenhower and other American generals and they have hung a white parachute and a dummy of a paratrooper from the spire of the village church to commemorate the story of John Steele.

Steele was the U.S. 82nd Airborne private played by Red Buttons in "The Longest Day" -- whose chute got hung up on the church roof and survived being shot by the German soldiers below only by playing dead for two hours.

My wife Colleen and I are in Normandy with my Reagan Legacy Foundation, which raised money to help send 14 veterans of D-Day back to France to celebrate an important day in history that too few Americans under 60 know anything about.

We'll walk on Omaha and Utah beaches. We'll visit the American cemetery at Colleville. And on Friday morning, the 6th of June, we'll be at Sword Beach for the official international ceremony co-chaired by President Obama and French President Hollande.

For understandable reasons, D-Day is a huge deal here. The people of Sainte Mere Eglise have already been marking the 70th anniversary for a week with parades, dedications, reenactments, speeches, walking tours, music performances and a 250-man parachute drop.

To the 1,500 people of this town and throughout this part of France, June 6 is like a hundred of our Memorial Days rolled into one.

It makes me sad that D-Day means so much to the French but almost nothing to most Americans, particularly those under 60.

I've made a habit for years of asking young people I meet if they know what D-Day is or was.

Most have no clue what I'm talking about. And I'm afraid the few who do know something about the brave and tragic things that happened at Normandy only know it because they've seen "Saving Private Ryan."

When I tell young people D-Day was the day their grandfather's generation landed on the beaches of France, kicked the German war machine's butt and began the liberation of Nazi Europe, many of them are amazed.

"Really?" they say. Their teachers have clearly never gotten around to telling them what was so important about D-Day -- or much else about World War II and the sacrifices our soldiers and sailors made.

Tom Brokaw has said he's shocked by how so many young people are oblivious about our history. They're especially uninformed when it comes to what the "Greatest Generation" did to preserve our freedom and the freedom of millions around the world.

Fewer and fewer members of that great WWII generation are left. The American teenagers who came ashore at Normandy and fought their way to Germany are pushing 90.

In 2024 we'll be lucky to have a platoon of them to help us mark the 80th anniversary of D-Day, a day we need to give more respect to and can never afford to forget.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Reagan is the son of President Ronald Reagan, a political consultant, and the author of "The New Reagan Revolution" (St. Martin's Press). He is the founder of the email service reagan.com and president of The Reagan Legacy Foundation.


© 2014, Michael Reagan

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast