Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 13, 2014 / 13 Adar I, 5774

This column almost wasn't written

By Michael Reagan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I was thinking of not doing a column this week.

Now that the White House has told us we shouldn't have to keep a full-time job because of health care, I thought I'd do just one column a month.

I want to cut back my work hours so I can qualify for some of those federal subsidies that'll help me pay for ObamaCare.

Better yet, I think I'll quit working altogether and spend more time with my kids.

Oh, I forgot. My kids are grown up and gone.

I also forgot I'm too old to qualify for President Obama's latest government "freedom" the freedom not to have to pay for my own healthcare and force taxpayers to pay for it instead.

Unless he adds convertibles and Mediterranean cruises to the list of things he thinks we all deserve but shouldn't have to pay for, the president's perverse theory of labor comes 60 years too late to do me any good.

Where was he in 1955, when I was being brought up by the meanest parents in Beverly Hills?

When I told my mother Jane Wyman I wanted a fancy new blue 3-speed Schwinn bicycle like the ones the other rich kids all were getting, she told me if I really wanted a bike I should get a job to pay for it.

"Mom," I said. "I'm only 10 years old. What kind of job can I get?"

She didn't believe in Beverly Hills welfare. She told me to get a paper route. She loaned me the money for the bike, but she made me sign a promissory note. I was 10 years old and in debt to my mother.

I had to pay her back from the pennies I earned every Sunday morning selling copies of the Los Angeles Times in front of Good Shepard Church in Beverly Hills.

I realize now why my parents seemed so mean. They believed in training their children to go to work. I believe it used to be called "the work ethic."

When I was a teen-ager in the early 1960s, I had to spend summers as a fry cook in a lodge at Yellowstone National Park.

I barely made enough money for beer and cigarettes, but if I wanted them I had to work full-time to pay for them myself.

If Barack Obama had been president then, he would have made sure I was entitled to subsidized ObamaBeer, not to mention a $10.10 minimum wage.

When I was 20, after I dropped out of college, my parents wouldn't let me move back home. They told me to get a job and find my own place.



That's why I was working on the dock at a trucking company for $2.10 an hour when my father became governor of California.

When I asked my father if he could get me a job in the state government, he said, "I don't believe in nepotism."

In the early 1990s, when I was buying health care for my family and putting my kids through school, I was trying to get a radio talk show started.

I commuted from L.A. to a station in San Diego three times a week -- 262 miles roundtrip. For two years I did that commute every day -- for what turned out to be little more than gas money.

When I called my mother to tell her how tough it was doing my talk show and asked for some help, she said, "You have to pay your dues like everyone else, so shut up and keep driving."

I ended up getting a national talk show that I walked away from in 2009.

If Barack Obama had been president when I was making those long commutes, he would have said, "It's OK, Mike. Turn around and go home. You deserve more freedom. Don't worry, I'll take care of everything."

The president's work "ethic" would have made my life much easier, but not better. I'm glad my "mean" parents knew that.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Michael Reagan is the son of President Ronald Reagan, a political consultant, and the author of "The New Reagan Revolution" (St. Martin's Press). He is the founder of the email service reagan.com and president of The Reagan Legacy Foundation. Comment by clicking here.


© 2014, Michael Reagan

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast