Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 28, 2006 / 28 Adar, 5766

Intel harmony

By Michael Ledeen

Ledeen
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I couldn't believe I actually got through, because the ouija board had been sparking all afternoon and there was nothing but static and something that sounded like distant cheering. But then the overtime ended, George Mason had defeated Connecticut, and in relatively short order I had James Jesus Angleton, the late chieftain of CIA counterintelligence, at the other end. So to speak.


ML: Did you catch the game?


JJA: Catch it, are you kidding? There are lots of Washingtonians here, and when those demons managed to get the ball to bounce into the Connecticut basket at the end of regulation, we decided we'd better take matters into our own hands. Yeah, we caught it all right.


ML: I always thought there was more to that tournament than met the eye.


JJA: It's rather like counterintelligence, if you see what I mean.


ML: That's why I've been trying to reach you; some of that stuff from the Harmony/ Iraq documents is pretty interesting, and I wanted to get your take.


JJA: I'd say that "frisson of nostalgia" summarizes it pretty well. That Russian stuff is really terrific, isn't it?


ML: I'll say. They were giving Saddam the details of our military deployment.


JJA: Yeah, but that's only the half of it.


ML: What else?


JJA: Well, how did they get that information? It seems whenever we go to war in the Middle East one of our allies is passing on our military secrets to our enemy. Remember how the French were giving information to Saddam during the first Gulf War? That stuff seems to have come out of NATO. This stuff seems to have come out of Centcom. I mean, why don't the Joint Chiefs just publish it and save the foreign spies the time and trouble?


ML: That story is almost surely true, since the Pentagon itself just published a study showing various acts of malevolence by the Russians.


JJA: But didn't we look deeply in Putin's eyes and decide we could work with him? Bush really seemed to believe that, at least for a while.


ML: Yeah, well, the hardest thing in life is judging people, isn't it? That's why your old craft is so challenging.


JJA: What really has me worried is that the Russian information seems genuine, as if we didn't feed them some poisoned pills...


ML: Yeah, and someone commented that the Russians seemed to know, even before we did, that the Turks were going to say no to our request to use their NATO bases to send our guys into northern Iraq.


JJA: Indeed. That information probably came from the French and Germans, who were blackmailing the Turks at the time.


ML: I remember that; they told the Turks that if they gave us a green light, Turkey would never ever get in the European Union...


JJA: Yes, and remember that they were blackmailing our old friends, the Kemalists, they were the ones who failed to show up for the vote, thereby dooming the project.


ML: In the past few days there have been lots of articles about hostile Russian espionage operations, as if that were news. Why should people find that surprising?


JJA: Because the United States long since stopped even pretending to be serious about counterintelligence. When Bush made Negroponte intelligence czar, the top two counterintelligence officials at DoD resigned on the spot, because they lost their independence.


ML: I noticed that. Haven't they been replaced?


JJA: I don't think so. And Negroponte, in case you haven't noticed, has been an enormous roadblock in the matter of the Harmony documents. My sources tell me that the president had to order the release at least three times, with mounting decibels, before they finally started to trickle onto the web.


ML: Your what? Your soucrces??? How can you have sources? I thought the ouija board was the only way...


Probably I shouldn't have said that, because the sparks and static started up again.


JJA: Oh, I have my ways. There are dreams, you know, and nowadays most communications go through the ether and up here we...


It was getting harder and harder to make him out. I think he actually said that Negroponte was such an #!!& that he had taken to answering straightforward inquiries about Harmony from leading members of Congress by sending them classified letters, so they couldn't reveal what he said. "Can you beat that?!!" Then what seemed to me to be even more profanity.


In any case that was the end. And I was furious, because I had forgotten to ask him what we should do to shut down the obvious Russian penetration of our military establishment. Which seems to me a really big problem, since the Russians are likely to be as helpful to the Iranians as they were to Saddam.


I'll try it later.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Ledeen is a fellow at the American Enterprise Institute and author of, most recently, ""The War Against the Terror Masters," Comment by clicking here.

Michael Ledeen Archives

© 2005, Michael Ledeen

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles