Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 18, 2008 / 21 Kislev 5769

We could do much worse than Caroline Kennedy and other dynasty senate candidates

By Michael Barone


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There have been lots of complaints in blogs, liberal as well as conservative, about the (apparently) impending appointment of Caroline Kennedy to the Senate and the impending Senate appointments in other states — Illinois, Delaware, Colorado — to seats made vacant by the election of the Obama-Biden ticket or his cabinet appointments. There's a dynastic element in all four states. Caroline Kennedy would not, after all, be a plausible nominee for the Senate but for the fact that she's the daughter of John and Jacqueline Kennedy. The Delaware seat is going to a longtime Joe Biden aide, Ted Kaufman, apparently to keep it warm for Joe Biden's son Beau Biden, who is currently the elected attorney general of Delaware and is also serving in the military in Iraq. A leading possibility to succeed Colorado's Ken Salazar (on whose appointment I've written about in another blog post) is his brother, Rep. John Salazar. And in Illinois, we have the delicious Blagoscandal, with the appointment still the legal prerogative of the son-in-law of 33rd Ward Democratic Committeeman Dick Mell (that would be Gov. Rod Blagojevich) and with one of the hopefuls being Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr.


I'm not as outraged by this element of dynasty as the commentators linked above. Caroline Kennedy is, after all, probably more qualified to be a senator than Edward Kennedy was in 1962, and he has turned out to be a very competent senator indeed, whatever else you may want to say about him. Beau Biden has won a statewide election in his own right and, judging from his performance at the 2008 Democratic National Convention and from my memory of a telephone interview with Joe Biden in May 1972, at least as well qualified (and about 10 years older) than his father was in 1972, when he was first elected to the Senate. John Salazar has won four elections in his own right (one to the state House and three to the U.S. House) and has been elected in a congressional district that generally leans Republican. About Rod Blagojevich, a spectacular example of how the stupid can rise in American politics, I have already written. As for Jesse Jackson Jr., he won a special election to the House in 1995, over Illinois Senate President Emil Jones (Barack Obama's great ally in Springfield) in the decisive Democratic primary and has won re-election seven times since. I'm inclined to agree with John Nichols of the Nation that he has been a competent left-wing congressman.


As I wrote in the Wall Street Journal in January 2007, we have become "a nation that is less small-r republican and more royalist than it used to be. Viscerally, this strikes me as a bad thing. But as I've thought about it, I've decided that something can be said for the increasing royalism of our politics." And that is that, in a large representative democracy, in which we must make judgments about the character of candidates with whom almost none of us will ever have personal contact, it helps to know the family. Delaware voters know a lot about the Bidens (in a small state many voters meet their senators and attorneys general), Colorado voters know a fair bit about the Salazars, Illinois voters know a lot about the Jacksons and the Blagojeviches (the governor's job approval is now in single digits), and all of us know a lot about the Kennedys. The voters in the appropriate states have a pretty good idea of both the strengths and the weaknesses of the dynasts who will be or may be or (as it seems in Jesse Jackson Jr.'s case) might have been appointed to the Senate (or had the way greased for them). I think it's not a coincidence that voters in some other very large representative democracies — India, Indonesia, the Philippines — have chosen daughters of previous heads of government for the positions their fathers have held. And in Brazil, one man mentioned as a possible next president is Aécio Neves, the governor of Minas Gerais and a grandson of Tancredo Neves, who was elected president in the 1985 but was struck ill and died before he could effectively take office.


Dynastic politics is of course unfair to nondynasts. There are probably dozens of matrons of a certain age living in Fifth Avenue or Park Avenue co-ops who have been engaged in civic good works and have maxed out to Democratic candidates and would be as good at being a U.S. senator as (or maybe better than) Caroline Kennedy. But none of them are going to get a call to come over and meet with Gov. David Paterson (whose father, Basil Paterson, was a longtime state senator and power broker in New York politics). As Caroline Kennedy's father said in a different context, "Life is unfair." There are probably less than a dozen Americans alive today, out of the 305 million people in this country, who ever have been or will be president of the United States; there are probably not many more than 1,000 who have ever been or ever will be U.S. senators. We hope our electoral system will produce good officeholders, and we have come some distance in extending the pool of plausible candidates, as Barack Obama's election vividly demonstrates. But it seems that dynasts have and will probably continue to have an advantage over the rest of us in becoming one of those dozen or thousand or so who will reach the peaks of American electoral office. I think we have to make the best of it and help the voters to distinguish the bad dynasts from the good.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

BARONE'S LATEST
The New Americans  

Now, more than ever, the melting pot must be used to keep America great. Barone attacks multiculturalism and anti-American apologists--but he also rejects proposals for building a wall to keep immigrants out, or rounding up millions of illegals to send back home. Rather, the melting pot must be allowed to work (as it has for centuries) to teach new Americans the values, history, and unique spirit of America so they, too, can enjoy the American dream.. Sales help fund JWR.

JWR contributor Michael Barone is a columnist at U.S. News & World Report. Comment by clicking here.




Michael Barone Archives

© 2006, US News & World Report

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles