Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 6, 2005 / 3 Tishrei, 5766

High Holiday hilarity at the supermarket

By Rachel Raskin-Zrihen


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I walked into the local supermarket the other day and discovered all the items in the establishment's small Jewish food section were on sale. It was a nice surprise, but I wondered why, until I realized that it was no doubt related to the Jewish High Holy Days.


Never one to look askance at half-priced jar of gefilte fish, which ordinarily is wildly expensive, I bought three, along with a box of sale-priced matzos and a couple of other items.


I appreciated the bargains, and I find it cute and endearing when local retailers try to accommodate a culture they clearly know very little about. I don't blame them. I didn't know most of it myself until relatively recently when my husband and I decided to give our children a basic religious education.


For the record, the High Holy Days — Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur — have nothing whatsoever to do with gefilte fish or matzos. Yom Kippur, in fact, is a fasting day, where no eating whatsoever goes on amongst observant Jews.


But it's the thought that counts.


I remember soon after we first moved to town, looking for Hanukkah candles in that same supermarket. Not finding any on my own, I approached an employee who in response to my question, acquired a facial expression which could easily have been mistaken for severe gastrointestinal distress. She obviously immediately suspected that she was engaged in conversation with a frightening and potentially dangerous alien. She disappeared in an attempt to fulfill my odd, apparently unprecedented request, and returned soon afterward with one of those very tall, glass-encased candles with a representation of Jesus on them.


"Well, no, that's not quite it," I said. "Think shorter, skinnier, less Christian."


She left again and came back this time with a short, fat yahrtzeit candle, which one burns in memory of a deceased loved one. Closer, but no cigar. The upshot was that the store didn't have Hanukkah candles that year. But they have nearly every year since, which is nice.


I recall another time, I think it was around Christmastime, though it might have been Easter time, which roughly correspond to the Jewish holidays of Hanukkah and Passover, respectively.


The store employees had created a lovely, inclusive "holiday" display, in which the obligatory sale-priced matzos and gefilte fish were cheerily exhibited right next to the festive holiday hams.


Anyway, I thanked the supermarket manager for his thoughtfulness in being aware that there was some sort of Jewish holiday approaching, but suggested he might want to rethink the placement of the items on display. I found the arrangement amusing, myself, but, I told him, there could conceivably be others who might be offended.


FYI, Jews aren't supposed to eat pork.


So, anyway, I am now well supplied with enough gefilte fish to last at least until Passover, when they'll no doubt have Hanukkah candles on sale at my local supermarket. Never mind, it's all good.


And Happy New Year.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Rachel Raskin-Zrihen's column by clicking here.


© 2005 Rachel Raskin-Zrihen