Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 9, 2005 / 5 Elul, 5765

Perceptions of race and the faces of poverty

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It feels like O.J. all over again. In the wake of Hurricane Katrina, we are reminded that black America and white America see things differently.

We saw this vividly during O.J. Simpson's criminal trial. When his not-guilty verdict was delivered, black Americans cheered while whites —dumbfounded and nearly unanimous in their belief that Simpson was guilty —scratched their heads.

How could we see things so differently?

Now we see this racial schism again in the aftermath of Katrina. Blacks —again not all, but many if not most —see the federal government's slow response to the hurricane's ravages as evidence of President George W. Bush's racism.

Rapper Kanye West became suddenly more famous, especially among whites who had never heard of him, when he said during a hurricane relief concert: "George Bush doesn't care about black people."

That message has been amplified by some non-blacks, notably Michael Moore and Howard Dean, while some blacks —notably Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice —have refuted the racism charge. As Rice said during a visit to her home state of Alabama: "Nobody, especially the president, would have left people unattended on the basis of race."

I believe that's true. Most (not all) Americans take pride in practicing racial neutrality in their lives. Moreover, no one intentionally left people unattended, either in New Orleans or elsewhere in Katrina's some 91,000-square-mile path. More likely, "incompetence" —especially locally —will be the finding of whatever commissions evolve to investigate what went wrong.

In the meantime, the race message has trickled down and polluted the mainstream: Bush doesn't care about blacks.

I bumped into this perception in a restaurant a few days ago when a mixed-race table had a small meltdown while debating Bush's response. I happened to be seated nearby and, because I know the people, was invited to participate.

One member of the party, an African-American woman, looked at me with what I think I can report accurately as pain. "Bush doesn't care about people who look like me," she said matter-of-factly. This from an elegant professional woman clearly not of the Al Sharpton school of reactionary politics.

I have been critical of Bush's performance the past several days because I think he missed an opportunity to lead "big-time," as his vice president would say. He missed a chance to save lives, to save national pride, and to create a Teflon legacy of compassionate conservatism to bestir the hearts of his worst critics.

He missed the boat at the point when he could have made a difference —after the floods and while people were held hostage in the Superdome —and I think he knows it.

Nevertheless, I don't think Bush has a racist bone in his body. More likely —and more to the point here —he suffers an affliction common to many of us. That is, an unfamiliarity and discomfort with poverty.

For most of us, especially whites, New Orleans was a big, fun town where you get offered a drink as soon as you're off the plane —a noisy, hot, humid, sexy, sensual dreamscape where adults walk down the French Quarter's narrow streets drinking "Hurricanes," gazing at beautiful women who turn out to be men, marveling at the music and the mirrored miracle that is Galatoire's, and waking up to chicory coffee and beignets.

We don't see the poverty on the periphery because, to be blunt, it spoils our movie. Poverty, especially when we're on vacation, becomes invisible. If we do happen to catch an accidental glimpse, we avert our eyes. Katrina put an end to that denial by exposing what we didn't want to see —the other New Orleans that is poor and, like the city, mostly black.

Not just a little bit poor, but embarrassingly poor in Earth's richest nation. Too poor to leave in many cases, though some were also stubborn, we're learning. Too poor to own or rent a car, or to buy the gas that was hitting $3.50 a gallon in the hours shortly after the storm. Way too poor to buy a plane ticket or rent a motel room.

Too poor to be noticed? That's a question for all hearts to answer.

The stories out of New Orleans will continue to break all but the hardest hearts in the next several weeks and months, but the one that needs to die soonest is that America turned her back on blacks. America, starting with the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana, turned her back on the poor.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2005, Tribune Media Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles