Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 1, 2005 / 23 Iyar, 5765

I (don't) want to be a Hilton

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Nostalgia is probably premature for times as recent as 2003. Still, it is easy to miss the days when Hilton meant a second-rate hotel and Paris was a city of slender women and tiny dogs.

Now we glance across the breakfast table and mutter to our mates, "Remember when we didn't know who Paris Hilton was?"

These days, the invariably dubbed "socialite" is as inescapable as dust. She's everywhere: on the Net, on TV, on everyone's lips. A prospective intern appears at my office door wearing a micro-skirt displaying bronzed legs, her pretty face framed in a blunt, platinum coif.

"Don't you look fabulous," I say in my best motherly voice, whereupon she sees my ante and raises me several chips of self-awareness.

"Oh, thanks, I'm a big fan of Paris Hilton."

"Oh. How nice."

I haven't quite put my finger on the moment when Paris Hilton became a household word — whether it was her 2003 TV reality series, "The Simple Life," in which she and co-star Nicole Richie (daughter of Lionel) made fun of the rural poor by dressing down to "play" farm. Or whether it was her debut on the World Wide Web as the star of a home video in which she and her then-boyfriend, shall we say, share their love.

Nor do I have the nausea tolerance necessary to pin it down. Suffice it to say Paris is here, there and everywhere. A Google search produces more than 10 million links.

Most recently, she's the buzz as star of a Carl's Jr. TV commercial in which the barely swimsuit-clad Paris suds up and slithers around on a Bentley before chomping into a big ol' barbecue sandwich. The commercial has caused a predictable stir, especially among adults-with-children.

The Parents Television Council (PTC), which monitors programming and organizes campaigns to thwart inappropriate content during child-friendly hours, has targeted Carl's Jr., whose CEO, Andy Puzder, has declined to apologize for his taste in icons.

Puzder urged the PTC to "get a life" and to buy someone else's burgers, if they must. He also noted that " there is (sic) no sex acts" in his commercial, and that he had shown the ad to his own children, ages 12, 9 and 7, who seem to have escaped corruption.

It's hard to guess what one might expect to see as an immediate response to Paris' cavorting, but my parenting experience suggests that the family car wash won't be the same for a while. Teenyboppers envious of the attention Paris is getting won't want to miss their fair share.

At least when the voluptuous tease in the 1967 classic "Cool Hand Luke" soaped a car for the amusement of convicts on work detail, we weren't confused about what we were witnessing. The Girl, as she's dubbed in the credits, was what we amiably used to call a "tramp" — fun for a romp, but no one to bring home to momma.

As long as we're feeling nostalgic, remember when a tramp was a tramp? In these liberated times, there's no such thing. Yesterday's trash is today's socialite, a jet-setting culture creature who just wants to have a little fun. What's so wrong with that?

Moral relativity makes explanation nearly impossible. Instead, we resort to a few simpler truths: sex sells, money doesn't equate to class, and — while we're wallowing in cliches — the apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

Donate to JWR


Throughout her so-called career I've often wondered, where are Mom and Dad? Born in 1981, Paris was barely out of diapers before she was publicly shed of her panties. Now, unfortunately, we know. Later this month, Kathy Hilton (mom), is starring in her own reality show, "I Want to Be a Hilton," with Rick Hilton (dad) co-producing.

In yet another display of material fecundity, the Hilton family promises to teach the less privileged how to be "cultured" (pronounced "CUL-chahed," honey), though Webster surely will want to consider amending current definitions. Viewers will watch 14 wannabes learn about haute couture, etiquette and, yes, even how to handle the media.

Each week one poor slob will be eliminated for failing to meet the Hiltons' high standards. The winner will be awarded a year of high life in "glamorous Manhattan" and, natch, a $200,000 trust fund.

It isn't clear whether the show, which premiers June 21, also will include lessons on the virtues of modesty and humility, which we once associated with "class." Or whether Paris' mother will teach these money-hungry hicks that ostentation is a sign of poor breeding and that flaunting wealth, especially the inherited/married variety, is the worst kind of faux pas.

That may be too much to hope. Alas, one can only teach what one knows.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2005, Tribune Media Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles