Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 13, 2008 / 15 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

U.S. democracy has a place for principled opposition

By Jonathan Gurwitz


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A U.S. senator runs a lackluster campaign for the Oval Office, makes military service in Vietnam the principal rationale for his candidacy and comes up short on Election Day. Addressing disappointed supporters after the electoral results are clear, he says:


"In an American election, there are no losers. Because whether or not our candidates are successful, the next morning, we all wake up as Americans. And that — that is the greatest privilege and the most remarkable good fortune that can come to us on Earth."


John McCain in 2008? No, John Kerry in 2004.


What is it about defeat that brings out the best in bad political operations? Kerry gave the most distinguished speech of an undistinguished campaign in Boston two days after the election.


Likewise in regard to John McCain's concession speech in Phoenix, I've lost track of how many people have told me they would have voted for him if they had heard him speak so eloquently before the election.


In a sense, a concession speech is the easiest address to give in American politics. The vote tabulation is known. Expectations are low. And history provides a wealth of blueprints from which to draft a winning message in a losing situation.


Even Al Gore, who endured the uncertainties of the 2000 election and who frequently suffers from a tin ear, was able to pry a rhetorical victory from the jaws of defeat. "While we yet hold and do not yield our opposing beliefs, there is a higher duty than the one we owe to political party," he said five weeks after citizens went to the polls. "This is America, and we put country before party."


Who knows? A handful of differing votes in Florida, and a columnist today might by reminiscing about the inspiring elocution of a governor from Texas. Fate is a cruel thing.


All this talk every four years about unity and transcending partisan politics is well and good — and nonsense. "Our Union must be preserved," Stephen Douglas told Abraham Lincoln after the 1860 election. "Partisan feeling must yield to patriotism."


That didn't go so well. Before Lincoln was even inaugurated, seven states had seceded. More than a half million Americans would die over the next four years in the war that consumed the nation.


This is not intended to denigrate John McCain's post-election speech, which was indeed eloquent and inspiring. Here is the sentence that needs to be replayed over and over again: "I wish Godspeed to the man who was my former opponent and will be my president."


The "not my president" folly is probably as old as the Republic. But the notion that individuals can decide who is or is not their elected chief executive — after the election — has become woefully fashionable.


It became a popular bumper sticker in 1992: "Don't blame me — I voted for Bush." It has been an article of faith among the Bush-hating left since 2000. And it holds far greater danger for Barack Obama, the first African-American elected to the nation's highest office, than to any of his predecessors.


Obama will be our president. He will lead our country at a time of great domestic and international uncertainty. For the good of us all, we should all wish him well.


The election of 2008, however, does not mean that we have entered a messianic age of unity and post-partisan fulfillment, any more than the elections of 2004, 2000 ... or 1860 did.


After the drubbing voters delivered to them in 2006 and this year, Republicans cannot afford to be an obstreperous party of rejection, a party whose reason for being is merely to oppose. But if the nation is craving a change in leadership and the possibility of hope, it also desperately needs the example of a loyal, principled opposition — one that supports the president when he is deserving and challenges him respectfully when he is not.


Between the mirage of unity and the misfortune of civil war, there's ample room for the American people to express their political disagreements in tolerant, civilized ways. "Whatever our differences, we are fellow Americans," John McCain said. Or was that John Kerry?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jonathan Gurwitz, a columnist for the San Antonio Express-News, is a co-founder and twice served as Director General of the Future Leaders of the Alliance program at NATO Headquarters in Brussels, Belgium. In 1986 he was placed on the Foreign Service Register of the U.S. State Department.

Jonathan Gurwitz Archives


© 2007, Jonathan Gurwitz

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles