Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 11, 2004 / 22 Sivan, 5764

‘I've been waiting for you my entire life’

By Rabbi Zelig Pliskin


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | Every minor act of kindness is valuable and precious. But every once in a while you will have an opportunity to say or do something for someone about which they will be able to say to you, "I've been waiting for you my entire life."


A tool for making a major difference in someone's life is to ask yourself, "What can I say or do for this person that will elicit his responding to me, "I've been waiting for you my entire life."?

  • I've heard a lot of criticism throughout my life. I've been waiting for someone to tell me that they see my good qualities and strengths.

  • I have a serious learning disability. I've been waiting for someone to find a way to help me make a major breakthrough in my learning.

  • I'm very sensitive to criticism and insults. I've been waiting for someone to help me feel so good about myself that I can view criticism and insults objectively without pain. I would love to be able to learn from valid comments and to be able to ignore those that are mistaken.

  • It's taking me a long time to find a suitable marriage partner. I've been waiting for someone to make the right suggestion.

  • I feel that I have talents and skills that have not yet been utilized. I've been waiting for the right coach my whole life.

  • I have accomplished a lot. But I feel that I could go much further if I were to have someone who could take care of the logistics for me.

  • I desperately need to lose weight. I have tried many diets and many plans. So far nothing has worked for me. I can't do it alone. I need a coach who will stick with me while I experience my ups and downs.

  • I don't experience very much joy in my life. Short lectures and books don't help me. I've been waiting for someone to train me to become more joyous. I need someone who will stick with me and reinforce the ideas I need to hear over and over again.

  • I've been a doormat my entire life. I've been waiting for someone to teach me to speak up for myself.

  • I feel discouraged about life. I've been waiting for someone to give me hope.

  • I have always been indecisive. I've been waiting for someone to teach me to become more decisive.

  • I have always been highly disorganized. I've been waiting for someone to help me become more organized.

  • I have always been fearful around other people. I've been waiting for someone to help me feel more comfortable.

  • I have always lacked ambition. I've been waiting for someone to help me become more ambitious.

  • I have always procrastinated. I'm waiting for someone to make me more proactive.

  • I have always been waiting for someone to help me in some important way. But I don't even know what I am waiting for. I'm certain I'll recognize it when it happens. I am ultimately waiting for someone who knows me better than I know myself or at least who is aware of opportunities of which I am as yet unaware.

Donate to JWR


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Rabbi Zelig Pliskin has made it his mission to help every individual maximize his or her potential. He enjoys an international following as someone who sets his sights high but keeps his approach down to earth. He is the author of 18 self-help books, including "Kindness: Changing people's lives for the better", from which this was excerpted (Sales of this book help fund JWR). Comment by clicking here.

© 2004, Mesorah Publications, Ltd.