CONTROVERSY!

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

How to talk to a neo-Nazi

By Rabbi Hillel Goldberg



The "Jewish merchant" who made the sale of his life


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Daniel Kravitz owns Denver's Home Again Furniture and, like he says, you never know who will walk in the door.

Saying only that he toned down the language a bit, Kravitz tells the story of his encounter with a unique customer:

"I receive a phone call answering a classified advertisement I placed to sell a black bedroom set for $250.

"During the conversation the young man on the other end of the line says he has only $700 — and do I have enough furniture in my store to furnish his whole apartment?

"I ask how big his apartment is. Well, it's a buffet apartment and I ask what he needs. Besides the bedroom set, he needs a dinette, a sofa, tables and a lamp.

"I say, if you're not picky, I can furnish the apartment for $700.

"He didn't show up until the next day.

"A man walks in, shocking in appearance. He's a skinhead. Tall. 6'2". Trim. In his early 20s. Sleeveless t-shirt. Dark pants. Doc/Martin boots (made in England, very popular with the subculture, punk rockers, skinheads, etc.).

"On his arm are tattoos. I cannot help but notice what they say: Kill Niggers and Jews.

"I realize right away who this individual is."

Are you Dan? We spoke on the phone yesterday. Do you still have the black bedroom set?

"I say: You're the young man who says you have $700 to furnish your apartment.

"I show him the bedroom set. My store is about 10,000 square feet. We walk around the store. I can give you this sofa, and these tables . . . in 20 to 30 minutes we figure out what he wants.

"I throw in some dishes — glad to get rid of them.

"We get back to my counter and desk. I write up a receipt, including the inventory and the regular prices. The total comes to about $1,000, which I discount down to $700. I hand him the receipt for him to sign on the bottom. He looks over the receipt and says, Boy, you really gave me a big discount.

"I say: That's the deal."

You won't get in trouble for discounting this much?

"No, it's my own business."

I really appreciate it.

"I say: I'm a man of my word.

"He pays in cash.

"I help him load the furniture onto a pickup truck. It was July or August, about six years ago. Before Craig's List.

"We work up a sweat. When we we're done, I ask him whether he would like to have a Coke, or something else cold to drink.

"I have no other customers and have time to sit with him.

"So I give him a can of soda, take one myself.

"Now, this whole time, I kept observing him to see whether he was carrying a gun or a knife. You see that kind of tattoo — he's not a choir boy.

"When we loaded his furniture his shirt lifted up, and I saw there was no weapon in his pocket. I felt comfortable he didn't have a weapon.

"So I say: I couldn't help but notice your tattoos. Do you really believe that?

Hell, yes --- I do!

"Have you ever hurt anybody?

Yes.

"How many blacks and Jews do you know?"

I don't need to know any. I know they're bad. Blacks are trying to take over the white women. Jews are controlling the banks and the government.

"I say: I hate to tell you — I disagree with your propaganda. I grew up in Park Hill around a lot of black people. Unless you know somebody you can't make judgments about a whole culture.

"I saw that he was not connected to what I said. So I say: I bet you don't talk to your mother and father — if my son had the tattoos on his arms that you have, I wouldn't talk to my son. I don't think you talk to your parents.

No, I don't.

"I realized I hit a nerve.

"The next thing I say: It wasn't that many years ago that your mother held you in her arms, and she loves you. I'm a parent. I know that your parents are hurt and miss you, and don't approve of your ways.

"Then I say: I want to share with you . . . I'm Jewish.

No, you're not.

"Why would I lie to you about that?"

You don't look like a Jew.

"What does a Jew look like?"

Not like you.

"I point to my front door and show him my mezuzah, and tell him that Jews put it on their doorposts.

"And I have a siddur, so I open it up and say: See, this is my Hebrew prayer book

. "I show him my store hours and say: Notice, I'm closed on the Sabbath. I live as a Jew.

"What you think of Jews is not right. I pray with people who have numbers on their arms. You're part of a group of people who believe that the Holocaust didn't happen. Not only did I lose family members, I pray with people who have numbers on their arms.

No, it's a Holohaux.

"Absolutely not true. You know what? I think you're a nice guy. I know by some of the things you've said to me how appreciative you are that I gave you a good deal. I know that your mother and father raised you with good values. Why you are a part of the neo-Nazis, I have no understanding.

"One of two things is going to happen to you. You'll end up dead, or you'll end up in prison and some huge bubba is going to take you for his wife. You need to think about what you're doing. These are the only two possible paths if you keep on doing what you're doing.

"You told me you've hurt people. Do you want to hurt me?"

No. You've been nice to me.

"I've only been nice to you because you gave me an opportunity to be nice to you.

"You hurt people you don't even know because of the color of their skin or their religion.

"You need to think about that.

"The people you hang around with don't care if you're in jail or dead. But your mother and father do care."

Then another customer walks in.

"Listen, I can't talk more now, but if you want to talk to me more I'll be glad to talk to you. I want you to think about what I've said to you because everything I've said is true.

"I didn't know what he thought. But he came in with the prejudice that Jews are greedy and money-grabbing. He had to realize, here's a Jew who just gave him a really good deal, helped him load his truck and sweated with him. I think what hit him was when I said: It's not long ago that your parents held you in their arms."

He left.


MONTHS later, maybe a year later, he came back to Kravitz's store.

"He says to me: Do you remember me?

"I say: Of course."

[At this point in the retelling, Kravitz tears up.]

"He was dressed completely different. His hair was grown out — no more shaved head — normal hair. He didn't look like a Skinhead. He was wearing a long-sleeve shirt, jeans and sneakers. He looked like a whole different person.

"I ask: Did you reconnect with your parents?"

Yes I have.

"He says: I need to give you an apology. I realize now how offensive my tattoos were to you and how hurtful they are. I can't afford it now — but I'm going to have those tattoos removed.

"He gave me a hug."

I've never seen him again.

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes uplifting and inspirational stories. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg is Executive Editor of the Intermountain Jewish News. Comment by clicking here.

© 2010, Intermountain Jewish News