Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Famed Chef Mario Batali approaches Spaghetti Squash with Soft Herbs and Robiola with an Italian-ness that becomes delicious

By Mario Batali





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A couple of weeks ago, my son Leo broke his arm on the basketball court. We stayed close to home for a few days, so we needed the sort of food that would warm us inside. This recipe did the trick. Because spaghetti squash keeps for about two months, I didn't have to go farther than my pantry for my vegetables.


The Italian word "zucca" is used to describe gourds and squash, as well as pumpkins. "Fiori di zucca" is what we call zucchini flowers. Spaghetti squash is referred to as "spaghetti di zucca," or vegetable spaghetti.


Though spaghetti squash is available on the Italian peninsula, it isn't a traditional Italian ingredient, per se.


When I started cooking in New York almost two decades ago, I was doing a new kind of Italian. It was reported as a "deluxe" version of the cooking found in the Italian countryside. To me, it was a logical next step. I used the techniques and preparations I had learned during my time in Italy and adapted them in new ways for American ingredients.


WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


There's no traditional Italian preparation of spaghetti squash, but you can, no doubt, approach it with an Italian-ness. You can bake it with olive oil, salt and pepper and add Italian parsley or sage for additional flavor, as I do in this preparation. Alternatively, you can eat it just as you would spaghetti, with tomato sauce, for a vegetarian, gluten-free pasta.


At this time of year, you have to scour the grocery aisles to find what's freshest. Like acorn squash, spaghetti squash is available year-round, but in February and March, the bleakest times in a New York market, you have to take advantage. During the winter, this is a tasty seasonal option that works just as well as a main course as it does as a side dish. Spaghetti squash is a daunting vegetable, but this recipe makes it remarkably easy. It's great as a side dish or a main course, to be paired with a meat or a pasta. And because it's gluten-free, it's a nice addition to a party spread.





SPAGHETTI SQUASH WITH SOFT HERBS AND ROBIOLA


Servings: 8 to 10 as a side dish


  • 2 small spaghetti squash (about 2 1/4 pounds each)

  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

  • 6 ounces fresh soft Robiola, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (you may substitute cream cheese)

  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh basil

  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh chives

  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped scallions (white and about 2 inches of the greens)

  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley

  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh sage

  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste


Preheat the oven to 375 F.

Using a sharp knife, cut each squash in half lengthwise. Place them, cut side down, in a large baking dish. Add enough water to reach 1/2 inch up the sides of the dish, and cover with aluminum foil. Bake for 45 minutes, or until the squash is easily pierced with a paring knife.

Turn the squash over, cover with foil again, and bake for another 15 minutes, until the squash is very tender. Remove from the oven, uncover, and allow to cool slightly. Using a spoon, remove and discard the seeds. Using a fork, gently pull the strands of squash away from the peel, and place the squash strands in a mixing bowl.

In a 14-inch skillet, heat the butter over medium-high heat until it is foaming. Then add the Robiola and stir to melt. Add the spaghetti squash, herbs, and salt and pepper, and toss thoroughly but gently to heat and combine. Serve immediately or at room temperature.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.






© 2012, MARIO BATALI. Distributed by Tribune Media Services Inc.