Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

BAKED PANKO ROCKFISH WITH GINGERY CABBAGE combines hot with crisp for deep(-frying) deliciousness

By Anjali Prasertong





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One night last December, tucked into a caramel-colored wood booth with a view of the wood-burning oven, I ate my first meal at Chez Panisse. Not only was it memorable for being my first taste of the farm-to-table restaurant that has influenced much of what I cook; it was also my first time eating with a very special group of people: six of my fellow writers for The Kitchn, most of whom I had never met in person before.

The meal had many highlights, not all of them easy to reproduce. How do you write a recipe for a perfect fuyu persimmon served whole with a knife in a small-footed copper bowl? But one stand-out dish -- an unassuming plate of battered and fried rockfish with a side of gingery cabbage -- I knew I could try at home.

For my first attempt at this dish, I was able to find fillets of Pacific rockfish, a lean, mild fish that is juicy and flavorful after baking. Since then, availability in my area has been hit or miss. If rockfish is not available, cod is a fine substitute -- in fact, the photo for this recipe is actually of cod -- but it is worth buying rockfish if you can find it.

Deep-frying is a rare activity in my kitchen, so I chose to approximate the golden crust of fried fish by covering the fillets in panko and baking them in an oiled cast iron skillet in the oven, which renders the exterior evenly crunchy and browned.



WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


The cabbage is salted for 30 minutes to an hour before being tossed with a simple dressing of fresh ginger, rice wine vinegar and sesame oil. Salting draws moisture from the vegetables and gives them a deeper flavor, while the brightness of the dressing makes them a great match for the fish.

The hot, crunchy fish with the crisp, gingery cabbage is a combination I might never have thought of on my own, but it works very well. Even without the impeccable produce and beautifully rustic Heath plates found at Chez Panisse, this rendition matches my memory of the original dish. Add a fiery wood-burning oven, a fleeting glimpse of Alice Waters and a few lovely dining companions to share your giddiness over the aforementioned sighting, and you just might come close to recreating that special night in December.





BAKED PANKO ROCKFISH WITH GINGERY CABBAGE


Serves 4

For the cabbage:

  • 1 small head napa cabbage (about 12-16 leaves)

  • 2 small carrots

  • 2 green onions

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled

  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar

  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce

  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar

For the fish:

  • 1 1/2 pounds rockfish or cod fillets

  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

  • 1 cup panko

  • 2-4 tablespoons vegetable oil

Cut up the cabbage leaves, slicing the thick bottom portions into half-inch ribbons and chopping the leafy tops into bite-size pieces. Peel the carrots and cut into matchsticks. Thinly slice the green onions, including the dark green tops. Place the cabbage, carrots and green onions in a colander in the sink. Sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon salt and massage the salt into the vegetables. Let sit 30 minutes to 1 hour.

Meanwhile, prep the fish. Preheat the oven to 450 F and put a large oven-safe skillet on the middle rack while the oven heats. Cut the fillets into serving-size pieces. Using a spoon or brush, rub or brush a small amount of soy sauce over both sides of each piece. Set aside in the refrigerator.

Grate the ginger into the bottom of a large mixing bowl. Add the vinegar, 1 teaspoon soy sauce, sesame oil and sugar, and whisk together. Set aside.

Lay out three plates or shallow bowls for the flour, egg and panko. Season the panko with a big pinch of salt. One at a time, dredge the fish pieces in flour, shaking off the excess. Dip them in the egg, and then coat with the panko crumbs. Pull the pan from the oven and coat the bottom with 2 tablespoon of oil. Arrange the fish pieces in a single layer. (You may have to cook the fish in 2 batches, depending on the size of the pan.) Bake until just cooked through, flipping halfway through, about 4 minutes per side for thick pieces, 2 to 3 minutes for thinner ones.

While the fish is baking, lightly squeeze the excess moisture from the cabbage mixture and add it to the bowl of dressing. Toss the cabbage and dressing together and serve with the hot fish.

Notes:

The longer the vegetables sit after being salted, the more deeply seasoned they will become, so it is worth giving them the extra time if you have it.

Rockfish may also be labeled as rock cod, Pacific snapper, red snapper or Pacific Ocean perch. As long as it is not trawl-caught, it is a sustainable seafood choice.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.






© 2012, APARTMENT THERAPY. Distributed by Tribune Media Services Inc.