Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Ossobuco: Don't try this at home --- Not this time!

Amy Ephron



JewishWorldReview.com | Have you ever tried to make something once (twice, three times, with three different recipes from three different cookbooks) and it never quite came out the way it was supposed to. And your husband, who's a better cook than you are (or at least better at actually following the recipe) tries the same from yet another cookbook and then another (at least we're persistent) and it never works, never quite tastes the same tender, delicious way it does in practically any Italian restaurant on any corner in any city in the world.

So, you put it in the category of "Don't try this at home." Ossobuco. It's never quite tender, never quite fall-off-the-bone delicious, Italian, melt-in-your-mouth restaurant perfect!

But, a couple of months ago, I was at the butcher in the farmers market and they had these perfectly lovely cuts of veal shank, really cute, and so (what was I thinking?) I bought them for the freezer. And last week, when there was nothing in the house, I defrosted them.

When Alan came home from work and asked what was for dinner, I announced, "Ossobuco."

"Really," he said with a smirk, "What are you thinking, you know that never works."

"I know," I said. "They were so cute, I couldn't help it." I trolled for a recipe. Struck out the first two times -- we'd already tried them but I'd just been sent a copy of "The River Cafe Classic Italian Cookbook" (by Rose Gray and Ruth Rogers) and in it was a recipe that wasn't quite conventional, basically poaching the ossobuco on tomatoes. And I thought, Rosie's never wrong, I think I'll try it....

And it was absolutely perfect!

Now, if I could only convince Alan that we aren't on a diet the next time I make it, and talk him into his polenta as an accompaniment, we would have a perfect meal that you actually can make at home.



VEAL SHIN WITH TOMATOES
OSSOBUCO ALLA MILANESE

Adapted with permission from "The River Cafe Classic Italian Cookbook" by Rose Gray and Ruth Rogers

SERVES: 6

  • 6 pieces of veal shanks, about 1-inch thick
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup plain flour, sifted
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 8 tablespoons margarine
  • 1 small red onion, peeled and finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
  • 1 celery heart, finely chopped
  • 1/2 bottle of white wine
  • 4 sprigs of thyme
  • 1 (14 ounce) can of plum tomatoes, drained of juice, coarsely chopped
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Gremolata (see recipe below)



WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Preheat the oven to 300 F. Choose a heavy-bottomed lidded ovenproof pan, large enough to hold the pieces of veal in one layer. Season the veal and dust with sifted flour, shaking off the excess. Heat the oil in the pan and brown the meat over a moderately high heat, adding more oil as needed. Remove the pan and set aside. Wipe the pan thoroughly with kitchen paper. Lower the heat, add the margarine to the pan and gently fry the onion, garlic and celery for 10-15 minutes, until very soft. Pour in the wine, bring to a boil and simmer until reduced by half.

Carefully place the ossobuco back in the pan on top of the vegetables, making sure the bones are placed upright so that the marrow cannot fall out during cooking. Add the thyme, tomatoes and bay leaves. The liquid in the pan should come halfway up the pieces of veal - if it doesn't, add more wine. Bring just to boiling, then cover with greaseproof paper and the lid, and cook in the lower part of the oven, checking and adjusting the temperature so that the liquid is at a gentle simmer. The total cooking time should be 2 to 2 1/2 hours, after which time the meat should fall from the bone and be tender enough to eat with only a fork. Combine the gremolata ingredients. Serve the veal with the sauce and vegetables from the pan and sprinkle with the gremolata.

GREMOLATA

  • 2 lemons, zest finely grated
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and very finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leave parsley

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

(One for the Table is Amy Ephron's online magazine that specializes in food, politics, and love. http://www.oneforthetable.com)




© 2014, ONE FOR THE TABLE. DISTRIBUTED BY TRIBUNE CONTENT AGENCY, LL

Quantcast