Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 14, 2007 / 14 Kislev 5768

Busting your stress with food therapy

By Steve Petusevsky


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Just as many stressed-out people go see a therapist to get through the hard times, chefs seek food therapy to counter the pressure of cooking in a restaurant kitchen. Most of my friends in the industry take some time off to work out their angst by cooking for fun.


Much like stand-up comedians working out new material in front of an audience, we cook for nonpaying guests, family and friends to get honest feedback, or simply to work off excess energy.


Trust me, if you know any cooks or chefs socially, you are assured of some great meals at least a few times a year when the heat is on.


And that's what I did this past weekend: pure and simple food therapy.


I woke up early and didn't make a list or menu. Instead I decided to improvise buying what looks good and cooking everything from scratch. I begin at the natural foods market for some specialty produce items, many of which are organic. Then I go to my Italian grocer for ethnic items, and finally my regular grocer for staples.


I also find a great local farmers market that has some incredible produce from Latin America and the Caribbean. I fill my car with bags I schlep into my kitchen.


I lay them on the counter and marvel at their colors, shapes and variety.


I lock myself in the house, take my phone off the hook, turn off my cell phone and hook up my iPod. Blasting everything from Brazilian jazz to reggae to New Orleans funk and jazz, I realize my musical tastes are as eclectic as my food interests.


I open a bottle of sauvignon blanc and create dishes with no boundaries. I make up each course as I go along and have a great time not worrying about table No. 6 or how much the daily sales are. No general manager standing over me and no diners asking for the best table in the house.


After all, this is my house, and this is all about the food.


Here's the menu I created: spicy sweet potato and okra gumbo; spinach, leek and asiago burgers; whole-wheat pasta al forno with roasted eggplant and banana peppers; a salad of shredded Japanese-style cucumber, daikon and Easter egg radish (red, white, purple and pink radishes all in the same bunch); gorgonzola mashed potatoes; and a very decadent fettuccine with black truffle oil and basil.


I also made some rolled stuffed salmon.. This is fun, valuable therapy and produces some wonderful recipes for both friends and readers.


What happens to all the food? Make it, and they will come. There are plenty of people that evening and the next day, volunteering their taste buds and empty wine glasses.


That's just what I need too. A non-paying audience to practice on and to appreciate my efforts. That way any complaints can be handled by saying, "Thank you for your opinions. Your money will be promptly refunded." Here's are some of my favorite recipes from the day's fun.


SPICY SWEET POTATO GUMBO

You can omit the okra if you are not a fan. I used fresh, but you can substitute chopped frozen okra. Dried spices are added at the beginning of the cooking process and fresh whole sprigs of thyme are added late in the process for maximum flavor. In place of orzo pasta you can use any small shape or break angel hair up into 1-inch lengths before cooking it in the soup.

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • 1 large onion, chopped

  • 2 ribs celery, chopped

  • 1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped

  • 1 yellow bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped

  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced

  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme leaves

  • 2 teaspoons paprika

  • 2 quarts vegetable broth

  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch dice

  • 2 cups chopped fresh or frozen okra

  • 3 bay leaves

  • 1/2 cup dried orzo pasta

  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme, left whole

  • 8 scallions, chopped

  • Juice of 1 lemon

  • Salt, to taste


Heat the oil in an 8-quart saucepan or Dutch oven over high heat. Add the onions, celery, bell peppers, jalapenos, dried thyme and paprika and saute 3 minutes to lightly brown the vegetables.


Add the vegetable broth and bring to a simmer. Add the sweet potatoes, okra, bay leaves, pasta and fresh thyme. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 35 minutes until the potatoes and pasta are tender. Remove from the stove and add the scallions and lemon juice. Season with salt. Makes 8 to 10 servings.


Per serving: 108 calories, 10 percent calories from fat, 2 grams total fat, .27 gram saturated fat, no cholesterol, 21 grams carbohydrates, 4 grams total fiber, 6 grams total sugars, 17 grams net carbs, 3 grams protein, 779 milligrams sodium.


JAPANESE CUCUMBER AND DAIKON SALAD

This is not really a salad, it's more like an arrangement of raw vegetables drizzled with oil and vinegar. It is crisp, refreshing and full of Asian character. I used a very unusual bunch of radishes called Easter egg radishes, because they are red, white, purple and pink, all in the same bunch. You can simply use red radishes instead. Daikon, or white radish, can be found in most supermarkets, natural food markets and Asian markets. It is usually sold in 12-inch lengths. Black sesame seeds are found in Asian markets, but you can use all brown if you want.

  • 1 cup red radishes or Easter egg radishes, thinly sliced

  • 1 cup peeled and thin-sliced white radish (Daikon)

  • 1/2 English cucumber, peeled, leaving stripes and thinly sliced

  • 4 scallions, very thinly sliced

  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds

  • 2 teaspoons black sesame seeds

  • 2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil

  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar

  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed dried red pepper flakes

  • 1/4 cup minced cilantro


    Arrange the sliced radishes and cucumbers attractively on a large plate. (If you have a black plate, this salad looks really great on it.)


    Scatter the scallions over the top. Sprinkle the sesame seeds over all. Drizzle the oil and vinegar over all. Sprinkle with salt and red pepper flakes. Scatter cilantro over the top and serve. Makes 6 to 8 servings.


    Per serving: 52 calories, 82 percent calories from fat, 5 grams total fat, .51 gram saturated fat, no cholesterol, 2 grams carbohydrates, .51 gram total fiber, .38 gram total sugars, 1 gram net carbs, 1 gram protein, 78 milligrams sodium.


    This is fun, valuable therapy and produces some wonderful recipes for both friends and readers.

    Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

    Steve Petusevsky is the author of "The Whole Foods Market Cookbook". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

    To comment, please click here.

    © 2007, South Florida Sun-Sentinel. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services