Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

By Steve Petusevsky




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Ever since I played with my food for fun, I've been intrigued by vegetables as carriers or containers. I remember watching my mother as she hollowed out peppers and cabbages to fill with stuffing. I couldn't believe the first time I saw her stuff a turkey or chicken with bread. As I matured, this whole process fascinated me.


Cooking is a tactile experience and as much as I like making meatballs or patties using my hands, stuffing things is different. I think it is both convenient and resourceful that an ingredient can also be an edible container.


As I became a chef and began to travel, I found that many cultures have made this discovery. Throughout the Mediterranean, small and large eggplants, zucchini, tomatoes, endive and fennel bulbs are fair game for packing with rice, grains, stale bread and meats.


Asians pack slender Japanese eggplants, Napa cabbages and winter melons with seafood, vegetables and rice.


Where would we be without stuffed grape leaves and loaded twice-baked potatoes? I will always remember my first truffle-stuffed mushroom enjoyed in France. And who can forget the joys of a cinnamon-scented baked stuffed apple?


You can fill almost any vegetable that can be hollowed out. Usually you can combine the vegetable you scoop out with the other stuffing ingredients. Filling choices range from stale bread to grains such as rice and bulgur wheat to couscous to cooked pastas such as orzo and acini de pepe. Some of the new soy-based meat products make great stuffings and can be used straight from the package if you don't have the time to add other ingredients.



APPETIZER/ENTREE

Greek Stuffed Mushrooms


Steve's tip: Greek kalamata olives are full of favor. You can use 1 tablespoon black olive paste instead of the olives. You find this in gourmet stores.


  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • 12 large stuffing mushrooms, stems removed and chopped

  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

  • 6 kalamata olives, pitted and chopped

  • 1 teaspoon oregano

  • 1/4 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes

  • 1 cup fresh bread crumbs, crusts included

  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

  • Juice of 1 lemon


Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Heat olive oil in a nonstick saute pan over medium heat and saute the chopped mushroom stems, onions, garlic, olives, oregano and chili flakes 2 minutes until softened. Remove from the heat and add the bread crumbs, feta cheese and lemon juice. Mix well and use to fill the mushroom caps.

Place on a baking pan with sides and bake, uncovered, 20 minutes until golden brown. Makes 6 appetizer servings; 4 entree servings.

Per appetizer serving: 135 calories, 36 percent calories from fat, 5 grams total fat, 1 gram saturated fat, 6 milligrams cholesterol, 17 grams carbohydrates, 2 grams total fiber, 3 grams total sugars, 15 grams net carbs, 5 grams protein, 251 milligrams sodium.



WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.



ORZO-STUFFED PEPPERS


Steve's tip: To make this a colorful dish, use a combination of green, red, yellow and/or orange bell peppers for containers. A hint of cinnamon makes these peppers memorable. Sauce is optional; they are great as is. I like these chilled the next day.


  • 1.5 cups uncooked orzo pasta

  • Water

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • 1.5 red onions, chopped

  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste

  • 1 cup soy-based meat mixture (Morningstar Farms brands recommended)

  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

  • 1/4 cup raisins

  • 1 cup chopped fresh spinach

  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

  • Salt and fresh-ground black pepper, to taste

  • 4 bell peppers of any color, cored, seeded and halved lengthwise

  • 1 (28-ounce) jar marinara sauce, optional


Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cook orzo pasta according to package directions until al dente. Rinse under cold water and drain. Set aside.

Heat olive oil in a nonreactive large saute pan over medium heat. Add onions and tomato paste and saute 2 minutes until onions are tender and tomato paste browns lightly. Add cooked orzo, soy meat, cinnamon, raisins, spinach and vinegar. Stir to combine and cook 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper.

Place peppers, cut side up in a single layer in a baking dish. Distribute filling among peppers. Add marinara sauce to pan before baking, if desired. Bake, uncovered, 45 minutes until heated through. Makes 4 servings.

Per serving (with marinara sauce): 518 calories, 21 percent calories from fat, 12 grams total fat, 2 grams saturated fat, 6 milligrams cholesterol, 73 grams carbohydrates, 7 grams total fiber, 14 grams total sugars, 65 grams net carbs, 21 grams protein, 1,534 milligrams sodium.

Per serving (without marinara sauce): 355 calories, 19 percent calories from fat, 8 grams total fat, 2 grams saturated fat, 6 milligrams cholesterol, 54 grams carbohydrates, 7 grams total fiber, 14 grams total sugars, 47 grams net carbs, 17 grams protein, 321 milligrams sodium.


TIPS FOR STUFFING IT


Here are some stuffing tips I've collected in my travels:

Stuffed vegetables are wonderful served hot or chilled the next day. You can bake them in marinara sauce, vegetable broth or au naturel.

Always bake the vegetables with similar textures together so they finish baking at the same time. For example, don't mix hard squash with zucchini or mushrooms.

Don't overbake vegetables or they will fall apart and won't hold the stuffing.

Some hard vegetables such as potatoes and winter squash need to be par-baked or -boiled before being stuffed and baked or they take too long to soften in the oven.


Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Steve Petusevsky is the author of "The Whole Foods Market Cookbook". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

To comment, please click here.

© 2009, South Florida Sun-Sentinel. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services