Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

ROASTED COD WITH A TOASTED BREAD CRUMB, DRIED TOMATO AND PINE NUT CRUST. Need we say more?

By Betty Rosbottom





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Although I live in a house that has a dining room with a table that will easily accommodate eight (10 in a squeeze for holidays), lately I have opted to entertain in my kitchen at a smaller table that seats four. Why is smaller more appealing than larger these days? The answer is simple: It's easier (and less expensive) to cook for a handful of people than for a crowd, and both my spouse and I find that when we ask only two guests for dinner, we are more relaxed. (Translation: My pre-dinner party anxiety level is lower, and so is the number of arguments we have before the company arrives!)


We've invited friends for such meals, and for most I've planned quick and uncomplicated menus, like the one we had last week when we asked a French couple to join us for a kitchen supper. We started with wine, a platter of cheeses and some marinated olives, then sat down to the main course -- roasted cod, blanched broccoli and saffron rice. Red wine poached pears and purchased biscotti followed.


WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


The fish entree turned out to be everyone's favorite dish. Although I like to use cod fillets, other firm white fish such as hake or halibut could be substituted. I marinated the fish in lemon juice and olive oil for a half-hour, then prepared the topping. Fresh breadcrumbs were sauteed in olive oil just to coat them lightly, then chopped dried tomatoes, pine nuts, minced garlic, and seasonings of thyme and red pepper flakes were added. The fillets were transferred to a baking dish, the bread mixture spread on top, and the fish put in a hot oven for about 14 minutes. When done, the cod was opaque and flaked easily, and the breadcrumbs were crisp and golden. The tender, moist flesh of the fish paired beautifully with the crunchy texture of the crust.


Of course, you could double this recipe if you want to serve it to a crowd, but the warmth and intimacy of a small gathering makes me think that less is more!






ROASTED COD WITH A TOASTED BREAD CRUMB, DRIED TOMATO AND PINE NUT CRUST

Serves : 4


  • 4 cod fillets (or other firm white fish like hake or halibut), each about 7 ounces and 3/4 inch thick

  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

  • 8 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, divided, plus extra for oiling baking dish

  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt and 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

  • 3 tablespoons chopped sun-dried tomatoes

  • 1 cup fresh breadcrumbs (from good quality bread such as a ciabatta, baguette or peasant loaf with crusts removed)

  • 2 tablespoons pine nuts

  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic

  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme leaves

  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

  • 4 lemon wedges about 1/2 inch thick

  • 4 thyme sprigs for garnish, optional


Place fillets in a shallow nonreactive dish. Whisk lemon juice and 3 tablespoons of the oil together and pour over fish. Season fillets with salt and pepper. Marinate, uncovered, at cool room temperature, turning once or twice, for 30 minutes. Place the chopped dried tomatoes and 1 1/2 tablespoons of the olive oil in a small bowl. Toss to coat tomatoes with oil. Marinate for 30 minutes, then drain and reserve oil and tomatoes.

Arrange a rack at center position and preheat oven to 450 F. Oil a baking dish that will hold the fillets comfortably in a single layer, and transfer fish to it. Drizzle reserved oil from the tomatoes over fillets.

Heat remaining 4 tablespoons oil in a medium, heavy skillet set over medium heat. When hot, add breadcrumbs, and stir and cook 1 minute. Add drained tomatoes, pine nuts, garlic, thyme and red pepper flakes; stir and cook 1 minute more.

Remove pan from heat, and divide breadcrumb mixture evenly and spread over tops of fillets. Bake fish until flesh is opaque and flakes easily when pierced with a knife, about 14 minutes.

Squeeze a lemon wedge over each fillet, and if desired, garnish with a thyme sprig.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.






© 2012, Betty Rosbottom. Distributed by Tribune Media Services Inc.