Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

A famed chef's secrets for the almost-perfect taco!

By Mario Batali





JewishWorldReview.com | My recent travels to Mexico City reminded me how much I admire classic Mexican preparation in cooking. While I may not be able to recreate the carne asada street taco I had at La Merced Market -- the most perfect I've ever experienced -- I was inspired to whip out my own version that I mastered a few years back.

My Skirt Steak Asada Tacos are a dish I've cooked at tailgates here and there during grill season, and they're the closest recipe to authentic Mexican tacos I've developed. They are assembled the traditional way, with just the meat, some chopped onion and cilantro, and a sprinkling of fresh lime. I also add a pureed poblano sauce for a little extra oomph.

The taco is an ancient tradition with over 500 years of history. More than anything else, the key for Mexican authenticity in this dish is serving your skirt steak asada taqueria style on soft corn tortillas, unlike 80 percent of Americanized tacos. Mexican shops carry authentic tortillas, or you can even make them from scratch yourself using masa harina ("dough flour") and water. Masa harina is most commonly used to make tortillas, but it is also featured in other incredible dishes such as tamales and pupusas.

When making pureed sauces, poblano peppers are one of my favorite varieties to use because they're as flavorful as they are gorgeous in color. Originating in the state of Puebla, Mexico, the poblano pepper is a mild chili pepper that can be consumed cooked or dried but is rarely eaten in raw form. Like many ingredients, the finest quality of texture and flavor in poblano peppers is brought out when added to heat. They are delicious charred, roasted or placed directly over flame and blistered. When dried, this pepper is referred to as the ancho and used in various Mexican and Spanish dishes to add some kick. If you prefer your poblanos to be more on the mild side, a nice trick is to soak them in warm water with a tablespoon of brown sugar for 10 to 30 minutes before draining.

Now for the most important player of the taco: the steak. Carne asada is thinly sliced, grilled beef, traditionally marinated for hours and served with rice and beans on the side. While typically any cut of beef can be butterflied into thin sheets, I am using skirt steak for this recipe to capture that deep, rich flavor I love in authentic Mexican food. Flank steak would be a close second if you are unable to find skirt steak in your local market.

As easy as that, my Skirt Steak Asada Tacos will have you dreaming of Mexico all summer long. Once you get used to this kind of purity, you'll have a hard time dealing with what usually passes for a taco.





SKIRT STEAK ASADA TACOS

Serves: 4 servings (8 tacos).



  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

  • 1 medium yellow onion, coarsely chopped

  • 2 medium poblano peppers, cored, seeded and cut into thin strips

  • 4 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder

  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin

  • 6 canned plum tomatoes, drained

  • 1 teaspoon salt, plus more for grilling

  • 2 pounds skirt steak

  • 1 medium red onion, finely chopped

  • 1 bunch cilantro, picked to yield 1 cup

  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (2 to 3 limes)

  • 8 soft corn tortillas

  • 3 limes cut into wedges for serving




WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Place a skillet, preferably cast iron, over medium-high heat. Add the olive oil, and when it gets hot, add the yellow onion and peppers and cook until they soften, about 8 minutes. Add the garlic, chili powder and cumin, and cook 1 minute more. Add the plum tomatoes and salt, reduce the heat to medium-low, and cook for 5 minutes more.

Transfer the mixture to a blender or food processor fitted with the metal blade and pulse until just smooth.

Place the skirt steaks in a sealable plastic freezer bag and add half the puree, making sure they are completely coated. Keep refrigerated, or in a cold ice chest if grilling outside, for up to 72 hours.

When you're ready to grill the steaks, salt them and grill them over medium-high heat, turning once, until they are a deep, rich brown on both sides, about 9 minutes. Transfer the steaks to a cutting board and let rest.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, mix together the chopped red onion, cilantro and lime juice.

Cut the steaks into 1/2-inch slices. Put a few slices in a warmed tortilla (can be heated on a warm area of grill) and add a heaping tablespoon of the onion and cilantro mixture. Squeeze some lime over the meat and then add a tablespoon of the pureed sauce. Repeat to make 8 tacos.

Eat and smile.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Mario Batali is the award-winning chef behind twenty-four restaurants including Eataly, DelPosto, and his flagship Greenwich Village enoteca, Babbo.






© 2013, MARIO BATALI. Distributed by Tribune Media Services Inc.

Quantcast