Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 12, 2013/ 9 Kislev, 5774

Learning to Bask in Obama's Comforting Assurances

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "The end justifies the means" is an unstated rationale that guides much
liberal thinking and rationalizes immoral behavior in service to a
supposedly greater good. But a column I've just read stretches this twisted
ethical calculus to a new level.

Columnist Michael Cohen, in an op-ed for the New York Daily News, tells us,
essentially, that President Obama's lie that people could keep their health
care plans if they liked them is not just defensible -- because it was in
service to the greater good of imposing Obamacare on an otherwise unwilling
populace -- but darn near laudable.

Obama is to be praised for having the courage to deceive us because we are
not enlightened enough to know what is in our best interests. The headline
of the column is "Behind Obama's lie, our own immaturity." The subhead digs
the knife in further: "We can't handle the truth."

Where would we be without the superior wisdom of liberals and their
altruistic willingness to engage in fraudulent coercion to speed us along
the evolutionary food chain?

After conceding that Obama uttered this lie at least 34 times, Cohen
admonishes us that "before we fully castigate the President for his
rhetorical flights of fancy, it's important to keep in mind that Obama was
-- to a large degree -- telling Americans what they wanted to hear. In fact,
he was giving them the type of comforting assurances they insist upon
getting before backing any major policy change from Washington."

Well then, by all means, all praise to Barack, the benevolent deceiver in
chief, for his comforting assurances. Though Americans may not be fully
aware of it, deep down they want their leaders to trick them with promises
of better things because otherwise, they would never have the sense to
embrace the far-reaching reforms that only liberal academics and community
organizers fully comprehend.

Cohen goes on to argue that though Obamacare "is the most far-reaching
piece of social policy since the Great Society ... most Americans are
largely unaffected by it." And "this was not accidental." No, the plan was
"minimally invasive," because "politicians knew Americans would never go
along with reform if they saw it as something that would disrupt their own
lives."

Let's unpack this a bit, shall we?



In the first place, Obama's assurance wasn't just an innocuous case of
over-promising or a "rhetorical flight of fancy." We now know that when
Obama made the promise, he was fully aware that as many as 93 million people
could lose their plans.

Is that an insignificant number -- "minimally invasive"? If so, then how do
you explain Obama's obsession with overhauling our entire health care system
even though only 10 million Americans were falling through the cracks with
the existing system, not 48 million as he repeatedly claimed -- his first
big Obamacare lie?

So, is Cohen telling us that 93 million is an insignificant number but 10
million is not? No, he's adopting another Obama lie that only 5 percent of
the population -- not 93 million, which would be closer to 27 percent -- is
being affected by his "you can keep it" lie.

OK, for the sake of argument, let's say it's only 5 percent. The
Obama/Cohen logic is that it's just a rounding error when an oppressive
government forces 5 percent of Americans out of their health care plans. But
for the sake of 3 percent of Americans, who could have been subsidized for a
fraction of the cost of Obamacare, Obama was hellbent on the government's
absorbing the world's greatest health care system.

Don't fret over this inconsistency. As long as the statist football is
being advanced, all is copacetic.

But as we can already see, even the more realistic 93 million figure
doesn't paint the whole picture. Obamacare is introducing such chaos that
the entire system is almost certain to break down, which will lead, they
hope, to a single-payer plan.

But wait. Obama has repeatedly told us he is not angling for single-payer,
even though he is on record advocating it and nothing exists in his resume
to suggest he's changed his mind.

We can trust Obama, can't we? No? No big deal. Our ministers of truth have
revealed to us that trust and credibility don't matter in our postmodern
world. What matters is that Obama is looking out for our best interests and
that he knows better than we ever could what those interests are. So let's
hope he is lying to us about single-payer, too, because we'll end up better
off for his lie.

In fact, I'm almost getting giddy contemplating all the other benefits that
will accrue to us from Obama's other lies. For example, I'm on the edge of
my seat waiting to find out what lies he told us that led to his whispered
assurance to a Russian leader that he'd have more flexibility to dismantle
our strategic missile defense system after his re-election. Just think how
much better off we'll be when he gets around to that one.

I wish they'd told us before that we don't have to worry ourselves over
Obama's policies because he is doing what is best for us. I could have
spared myself great anxiety over the state of our disunion.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast