Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 8, 2013/ 5 Kislev, 5774

Obama's Obamacare Lies Were Chronicled From the Beginning

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Don't you believe that President Obama's lies that people could keep their health insurance plans and doctors were his only lies about Obamacare or that these and the other lies were not demonstrably false when he uttered them.

In my book "Crimes Against Liberty," I chronicled Obama's multitudinous lies about Obamacare and many other subjects, from earmarks to tax increases. Please allow me to revisit some of my reporting on the Obamacare lies in light of the recent furor over Obama's dissembling concerning health care.

Let's start with the particularly galling declaration Obama made after Congress' partisan passage of Obamacare on March 21, 2010: "We proved that this government — a government of the people and by the people — still works for the people. ... Tonight's vote ... is a victory for the American people."

Never mind that the American public was manifestly against passage of the bill, as shown in poll after poll and further demonstrated by Obama's inability to get the bill passed — despite overwhelming Democratic majorities in both chambers — without, in my words in the book, "legislative trickery, executive deception, political bribes, arm-twisting, and a meaningless executive order to supposedly negate the bill's abortion funding provisions."

Sen. Lamar Alexander, no raging conservative, then observed that Obama's behavior on Obamacare was "the most brazen act of political arrogance since Watergate ... in terms of thumbing your nose at the American people and saying, 'We know you don't want it, but we're going to give it to you anyway.'"

Indeed, this is essentially what Obama's defenders are saying now with respect to Obama's "you can keep your plan" lie: "Obama lied to the American people because a lie is sometimes necessary for the greater good."



During the Democratic presidential primary campaign, Obama repeatedly promised that he would televise the health care debates on C-SPAN. When he was criticized for shamelessly reneging, he reacted similarly to how he is today, by twisting his own words. Even PolitiFact called him out on this "broken" promise.

Many of us pointed out at the time that Obama was lying when he said we could keep our plans and doctors. In the book, I wrote: "Obama said Obamacare 'would preserve the right of Americans who have insurance to keep their doctor and their plan.' But he knew his plan had no such guarantee, and he also knew the plan would likely crowd out private insurers. The chief actuary of the Medicare program estimates 14 million people will lose their employer coverage under Obamacare, even though many will want to keep it."

I continued, "Investor's Business Daily reported that internal White House documents show Obamacare may result in 51 percent of employers (and 66 percent of small business employers) relinquishing their current health care coverage by 2013." Well, IBD may have estimated the date wrong, but these aren't new revelations we're witnessing, folks.

I wrote that Obama told a joint session of Congress on health care Sept. 9, 2009, "Under our plan, no federal dollars will be used to fund abortions." That very declaration, along with a bogus executive order, I noted, directly led to the passage of the bill by securing Democrat Bart Stupak's vote. The law obviously allowed federal funding for abortion; otherwise, Obama wouldn't have needed to issue the executive order supposedly countermanding it. But abortion, in some cases, was federally funded anyway.

The book also documented the double counting and sleights of hand Obama employed to misrepresent the bill as budget-neutral to the Congressional Budget Office. "'The most amazing bit of unrealistic accounting,' says (former CBO Director Douglas) Holtz-Eakin, is the projected savings of $463 billion from Medicare spending, which will be used to finance insurance subsidies. But Medicare has no extra funds at all to donate to the cause: it 'is already bleeding red ink.'" Holtz-Eakin estimated that these unaccounted items would "generate additional deficits of $562 billion in the first 10 years." Clearly, the administration knew at the time it was lying. These weren't just innocuous miscalculations.

Obama was also lying when he said Obamacare would reduce premiums by $2,500 for an average family of four. In the book, I quoted a CEO of one of the biggest health care companies, who said Obamacare would obviously make premiums go up. I also reported that economic experts inside the Health and Human Services Department confessed that contrary to Obama's claim, Obamacare would increase health care costs.

I unpacked Obama's egregious lies concerning the uninsured that served as the fraudulent impetus for this entire reform mania, and I covered the remainder of Obama's Obamacare lies concerning access to care, choice, quality of care, a single-payer plan and more.

The point of all this is not to claim any prescience on my part but to demonstrate that this information was available at the time for all to see. But the liberal media, Democrats and many other Obama enablers nonetheless deliberately assisted Obama in misleading the public into passing a bill that could very well lead to the destruction of the greatest health care system in history.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast