Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 1, 2013/ 29 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Godspeed to those with the clarity of vision to see what is happening and the courage to oppose it

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I just don't understand it. Everywhere we turn, we conservatives are told we need to moderate, be less extreme, be more bipartisan. The public just wants us all to get along and solve our major problems together.

Democratic politicians and the liberal media harp on the alleged extremism of mainstream conservatism, the tea party, Sen. Ted Cruz, conservative talk radio and anyone else who dares to call out President Obama and his Democratic congressional cohorts in plain language for what they're doing to the country.

Nonsense. No one with a modicum of political power is more extreme than Obama's Democrats are, yet they pretend they're moderates who only want to work with Republicans for constructive bipartisan solutions.

President Obama, in his umpty-jillionth health care speech, told us Wednesday he is eager to work with Republicans: "Both parties working together to get the job done — that's what we need in Washington right now."

Sure, we'll just ignore his admission that he wants to fundamentally change America and his five-year record of leftist extremism in doing just that. We'll overlook his brazen refusal even to come to the table to negotiate.

Yet Republican establishment politicians and center-right Beltway pundits pile on, constantly lecturing those of us to their right — those more eager to fight than surrender — to calm down, be more pragmatic and focus on the next election, when we can really show them. We must get ahold of ourselves and temper our passions. For if we stand up to this bully in the White House and give him some of his own medicine, if we fight for our principles to the point that the government shuts down, independents will turn away from us in droves, and we'll never win any more elections.



Does it ever occur to them that President Obama and his band of enabling Democrats set the standard for modern extremism in American politics and that they never tone down their positions? Do they ever wonder why the sainted independents don't leave Democrats in droves for standing up for their own principles — as manifestly destructive as they are? Why do moderation and bipartisanship only apply to Republicans and Democrats get a free pass?

Republican Party insiders, strategists, operatives and head honchos seem particularly afflicted with the appeasement bug and are embarrassed by grass-roots conservatives, the tea party and intractable politicians such as Sens. Ted Cruz and Mike Lee, who refuse to blissfully join them in celebrating the glories of inaction and conciliation.

National Journal's Ron Fournier writes: "A GOP operative who also requested anonymity said that Wednesday's hearing on Obamacare highlighted what's wrong with his party. 'We looked like we were beating (up) the HHS secretary,' he said of Kathleen Sebelius. 'Why do we have to always overdo it?'"

Overdo it? Shame on you, Mr. Anonymity!

The reason we have to go after administration officials such as Sebelius is that they are destroying the world's best health care system, ramping up the national debt, assaulting our liberties and brazenly lying to our faces about what they're doing. Don't you think, Mr. Measured, that it's time we pointed out to the public exactly what these people are doing? Or should we just pretend that it's politics as usual and that the administration has nothing but the best intentions in mind for Americans and just favors slightly different policies to get us there?

I'm sorry, but we don't share goals with these people, which Obama, in a rare moment of candor, admitted in his speech. They don't have the best intentions in mind for America or Americans — at least not as I define best intentions. If the Republican Party apparatus won't allow us to fight them aggressively now, some might say it's time to find a new vehicle that will accommodate our commitment to conservatism. I don't know about you, but I'm not willing to relinquish control of the GOP to those whose excessive time on the inside has clouded their perception as to what's acceptable.

Instead of using their energy to haughtily reprimand and undermine conservatives, why don't moderates turn their sights on Obama and his Democratic Party, whose goals they assure us they reject?

If people didn't recognize Obama's extremism before, they no longer have any excuse as we witness his deceit and intransigence on Obamacare, lying about every aspect of it and telling us to ridicule our lying eyes, which are observing the unprecedented chaos and destruction his socialized medicine scheme has wrought.

It's past time to put away the silly talk about working with a man who has no intention of working with anyone who retains any respect for the American system as we know it. To candy-coat Obama's mendacity and destruction is to enable him — and disable America. Indeed, this mindless talk of bipartisanship and moderation serves as perfect cover for the true extremists — the people who are permanently transforming the United States of America.

Isn't five years enough to convince all of us we must quit playing patsy with these statists and join together to oppose them with as much fervor as we can muster?

Godspeed to those with the clarity of vision to see what is happening and the courage to oppose it.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast