Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sep 24, 2013 / 20 Tishrei, 5775

'Defund Now, for When Shall We Be Stronger?'

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "They tell us, sir, that we are weak, unable to cope with so formidable an adversary. But when shall we be stronger? Will it be next week or the next year?" Will it be when Obamacare has metastasized into every sector of our economy?

"Shall we gather strength by irresolution and inaction? Shall we acquire the means of effectual resistance by lying supinely on our backs and hugging the delusive phantom of hope? ... Sir, we are not weak if we make a proper use of those means which the God of nature hath placed in our power." We are "millions of people, armed in the holy cause of liberty."

No, Patrick Henry is no longer with us, and the once-tyrannical British empire is not our foe, but this nation — since it acquired its independence shortly after Henry's call for it — has never faced such a sustained assault from within on its liberty and its founding principles.

It is high time that the conservative movement, the Republican Party and every American patriot united together to actively and fiercely oppose the statist assaults on our freedoms and, in particular, the legislative menace known as Obamacare.

But a large faction of our fellow patriots on the right tell us — as they've told us nearly every time we've had a debate with President Obama over the budget — that we must be more pragmatic and hold our fire because if we fight back too aggressively, we will be blamed for the government's shutting down and it will damage our cause far worse in the long run.

Well, the "pragmatists" usually have prevailed, but their predictions haven't. We always ended up caving — though often the pragmatists have rationalized our defeats as victories — and President Obama won re-election anyway.

It didn't have to be that way. I believe that we have more informed, freedom-loving patriots in this country yearning for a restoration of our founding principles than we've had in decades and that they are just longing for political leadership around which to coalesce — and go to war, figuratively.

Some of the pragmatists accuse the defunders of allowing our passions to overpower our reason or of self-serving intellectual dishonesty; we allegedly know we can't defund but are angling to enrich or empower ourselves by pretending otherwise.

Some defunders, in turn, cast the pragmatists as RINOs — Republicans in name only. Many are, but I happen to believe that most on both sides of the intramural debate are honorable and at least somewhat right-of-center.



I agree, in part, with the pragmatists that this is an argument over tactics, but I think it is more than that. I believe that the defunders are more alarmed over the current state of affairs in this nation under Obama and rightly convinced that we don't have a lot of time left to prevent the Obama juggernaut from "fundamentally transforming the nation" and bankrupting us. We may agree on the strategy of restoring Republican control of the executive and legislative branches, but we probably don't fully agree on the precise ideological makeup of that majority or on whether Obamacare — and the rest of the Obama agenda — is ultimately tolerable.

The pragmatists point to the polls, which allegedly say the GOP will be blamed — no matter what — for a government shutdown. Well, I don't trust how any such poll's questions were framed. I don't believe that any poll can accurately forecast something as dynamic and uncertain as a national debate that hasn't yet fully unfolded. And I agree with Sen. Ted Cruz that we have already come further than the naysayers thought we would and that our side, with unity and resolve, might just be able to rally public support behind our cause in opposing this woefully unpopular legislation in the event of a shutdown — particularly a shutdown that Obama himself will have brought about by refusing to allow the government to stay open for everything but Obamacare. A unified leadership might be able even to change some votes in the Senate. This is not that far-fetched when considering all the ammunition leaders will have at their disposal, including the report from The New York Times that lower health insurance premiums may come at the cost of fewer choices for patients — as many of us Obamacare opponents have long predicted — and the Forbes report that Obamacare will increase health care spending by $7,450 for a typical family of four.

Changing the outcome in the Senate may be unlikely, but what is far from certain is that the GOP will be damaged, on balance, if a shutdown occurs because Obama insists on preserving Obamacare at all costs. Though no one on either side knows for sure, I think that fighting a defunding battle, even if Republicans lose, will greatly enhance, rather than diminish, the GOP's prospects in 2014 and 2016.

The pragmatists always seem so fatalistic and defeatist in these battles, surrendering before we even begin the fight. But there is no telling how many millions of Americans have become wholly disillusioned by the GOP's reluctance to fight Obama and to offer an inspiring alternative agenda. These people — millions, armed in the holy cause of liberty — are craving leadership from Republicans who understand the gravity of our current path, and they will rally around it in surprising numbers if Republicans provide it.

I refuse to believe — even in today's America — that liberals care more about growing the state and smothering our liberties than we do about limiting the state and preserving our liberties. "Forbid it, Almighty God!"

You want to talk pragmatism? Once Obamacare is fully implemented, it will not implode of its own weight as our pragmatic Pollyannas predict. Behemoth entitlements never do.

If we are to roll back Obama's destruction, we have to begin, at long last, to fight as if the future of the country is on the line — because it is.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast