Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 9, 2013/ 3 Elul, 5773

Obamacare Is a Nuclear Missile That Must Be Shot Down

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Instead of the GOP focusing all its energy on infighting over the so-called "tactical" decision of whether to defund Obamacare, how about remembering who the real enemies of freedom are and directing its energies toward the Democrats, who are propping up this monster?

It is painful to witness the expenditure of so much negative energy among people who all say they oppose the law. This law is so bad and so unpopular and its negative consequences so apparent that we would have to be complete incompetents not to be able to make this case to the American people, the majority of whom already agree.

Why not rip a page right out of President Obama's political playbook and go directly to the people? It obviously works for Obama, even though he doesn't have the facts or history on his side; there has never been such a radical disconnect between a president's miserable record and his approval ratings.

He's just doing what he's done all his adult life: agitating and community organizing. He's on a never-ending campaign, because that is all he knows. He knows nothing about governing and, truth be told, doesn't want to bother with it, provided he can order his subordinates to implement his big strokes.

This time, he's campaigning to resurrect and salvage the most atrocious policy albatross ever foisted on the free American people by an arrogant, out-of-touch federal government that has come to believe it has the right to force us to do whatever it believes is good for us, collectively, individuality and liberty be damned.


People register disgust and dismay at Obama's cynically self-degrading appearance on Jay Leno's show, but Obama's laughing all the way to the political bank — again. He makes a mockery of the serious policies he pretended to discuss there and a greater mockery of the media by offering softball answers to softball questions from an entertainer while continuing to refuse to submit himself to any real exchange with the media in a bona fide news conference.

Can you believe this cabal of fawning mainstream media sycophants still willing to serve as Obama's doormats and his political cover?

But I digress.

Everyone, from Howard Dean to Max Baucus to Marco Rubio to John Boehner, knows this horrific law is a multiple independently targeted re-entry vehicle — a nuclear ballistic missile with multiple warheads aimed at the American health care system, American liberties and America's fiscal integrity. Everyone knows this law cannot work, except to wreak havoc on everything and everyone it promises to improve.

Do you think that might be enough ammunition for the Republican Party to get its act together and call a cease-fire on one another and launch a united campaign with unprecedented focus and vigor to take out Obamacare's missile payload before it fully hits the U.S. mainland?

Are we children here, afraid of ghosts and goblins — and our shadows? Are we so intimidated by this charlatan of a president that we lack the courage to stand up to him on an issue on which the public is on our side?

Why are so many on our side willing to throw in the towel and surrender on this law? Every day, Congress changes laws it purportedly made permanent the year before. It changes the tax laws as often as its members brush their teeth.

Or are they instead resigned to the fatalistic notion that our system has become so unworkable — or that they are so politically impotent and lethargic — that they prefer to roll over and accept the imposition of this nuclear nightmare and then wait to clean up the fallout after the bombs have dropped? Really?

We have the political equivalent of the Strategic Defense Initiative at our disposal because the American people are behind us, but we're going to stand down for fear that some people might think of us as big bad meanies if we were to finally get off our rear ends and take perfectly constitutional steps to end this menace?

I come from the school that teaches that if you want something done, you do it. Your default position isn't to wring your hands and expend all your creative energy figuring out why you can't get something done — especially something of such paramount importance to the preservation of our republic.

Come on, my friends in the GOP establishment. Just once, quit using your juice to tell us how impractical and extreme we are and how you are just as conservative as we are but more prudent and pragmatic. It is not pragmatic to sit on your hands and idly watch the republic be assaulted on this level and do nothing but wait until that fictional time in the future when the law will implode on itself.

That's laughably ridiculous. It's not going to happen. Now is the time to shoot this missile down — as it has entered our atmosphere and before it detonates in our major cities and our countryside.

If we can't draw a line in the sand on an issue this important and convince the American people that an already unpopular bill must be stopped in its tracks — while we watch as a failed president convinces the American people that his policies aren't responsible for the misery he's causing — then how can we say we deserve to carry the banner of liberty?

No more excuses. If you don't have the stomach for it, please get out of the way and let those who do press forward; then thank them later.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2010, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast