Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 2, 2013/ 26 Menachem-Av, 5773

Lighting a Fire Under the GOP

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Of the many ironies accompanying President Obama's reign of error, few are more perplexing to conservatives than the disunity and ineffectuality of the Republican opposition.

From the beginning of his first term, Obama has been fulfilling his promise to fundamentally transform America — albeit in a way he didn't fully disclose when he made the pledge.

Indeed, Obama has proved in every way imaginable how serious he was and remains about steering the nation away from its founding principles. On a series of fronts, he has brought about major policy changes that are leading to the financial bankruptcy and accelerated decline of this great nation.

Though poll after poll indicates that the American people are more conservative than liberal and oppose, more than support, Obama's policy agenda, he has continued to escape accountability for making major changes against the people's will and even won re-election to a second term.

Republicans have been wholly discombobulated by this phenomenon and divided as to how they should combat it. From relatively early in Obama's first term to the present, a faction of Republicans has urged restraint in opposing Obama, while another has advocated a more vigorous opposition.

We've seen the same dichotomy throughout virtually every budget battle, with one group urging the GOP to take firmer positions against Obama's manifestly unreasonable budgets and continuing resolutions and the other counseling caution, reasoning that it makes little sense for Republicans to stridently oppose Obama on matters they didn't have the votes to win because he would be able to demonize them as obstructionists.

This internal split has sometimes grown fierce, with the tea party and self-styled Reaganites charging that the other group comprises establishment RINOs — or Republicans in name only. The latter group, in turn, often accuses the first of being extremist and hotheaded flamethrowers.

Some on each side of the divide see the disagreement as more a matter of tactics than substance, whereas others adamantly disagree.

Personally, I do believe some of the disagreement can be chalked up to tactics — but far from all of it. For example, many on the "establishment" side are all too willing to adopt the language of Democrats in painting the tea party side as narrow-minded and even hateful on matters from immigration to dependency programs.


I find myself on the tea party/Reaganite side of the argument but acknowledge we must find a way to unite our party in order to recapture power and begin to roll back Obama's destruction.

I don't believe that our group is extreme or self-destructively strident. Rather, we believe we will be likelier to achieve our ultimate goals if we more effectively oppose Obama by using plain language to clearly articulate our conservative vision and not candy-coating Obama's extreme views.

We must inspire Americans to rally behind our agenda rather than always play defense, acting ashamed of who we are and offering the voters little more than Democrat lite.

How far have we gotten with the cautious approach, after all? Didn't many conservatives stay at home in 2012 out of disillusionment with the party?

Obama and the Democrats never scale back their policy demands. They never reach across the aisle in an effort to compromise. They just get more and more militant, notwithstanding the obvious causal relationship between their liberal policies and the miserable state of the country and its ongoing decline.

I have no interest in demonizing or impugning the motives of the "establishment" group, but I think it's time that group opened up to the idea that in order to rebuild a successful coalition, we have to enthusiastically and unapologetically embrace principles the Republican Party has always professed to believe in.

We must confront Obama's despicable arguments head-on, from his kooky environmental extremism and his draconian, growth-smothering policies based on it to his incessant appeals to race, gender and class warfare.

But that alone won't be enough. We can't just defend ourselves against his arguments; we must relearn how to make an affirmative case for conservative principles as if we truly believe in them. We must not only squarely refute the Marxist lie that conservatism is heartless but show that it is more compassionate because it produces the most benefit for the most people.

We should never expect to turn things around if we continue to hang our heads as if in shame about our belief in limited government and the free market. We should present policies across the board consistent with that philosophy.

History, logic and common sense are on our side. Let's shed our fear and turn the tables on Obama and his group of fellow destroyers and give the voters a reason — a compelling incentive — to rally to our cause. Half-measures will only lead to further incremental advancements for statism and our inability to turn things around and get America back on track. Let's quit underestimating American voters — especially conservatives, moderates and independents — and give them good reasons to vote for us.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2010, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast