Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 19, 2012/ 29 Sivan, 5772

Obama's Ludicrous Self-Portrait as a Budget Hawk

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As disturbing as was President Obama's lawless usurpation of constitutional authority in circumventing the DREAM Act to grant backdoor amnesty, this type of overreach is nothing new for him.

He has frequently complained about how democracy and the Constitution are "messy" and do not permit him to exercise the authority of a Chinese president. But he nevertheless warned us that he would be pushing forward with his agenda through executive orders and administrative actions "on a wide range of fronts."

But he has outdone himself this time, even going beyond limitations he freely recognized not long ago, when he complained that he didn't have the authority to impose his immigration policy wish list. Perhaps recent polling numbers showing him trailing Mitt Romney have increased his desperation.

His frontal assaults on the Constitution are so brazen now it's hard not to conclude that he was willing to take a calculated risk that his excesses would offend fewer rule of law sticklers than they would attract Hispanic voters.

A few people emailed and tweeted me and said they bet I was disappointed my new book, "The Great Destroyer," had already gone to print so that I couldn't include this latest example of Obama's destructive behavior.

(Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here)

To the contrary, I told my well-wishers, I had in fact included this backdoor amnesty stunt in the introduction to the book (pages 6-7), saying Obama had already been considering it. I told you the book was timely — and comprehensive.

Let me give you some other examples of Obama's recurring pattern of executive encroachment on the legislative branch, which, taken together, will demonstrative why many of us are so concerned with these assaults on the Constitution, as well as Obama's destructive swath against our nation's financial health, our national security, our values, our economy, our oil and a host of other things.

His administration deceived Congress and the public in reporting that the Comprehensive Review Working Group survey revealed that our military rank and file supported the repeal of "don't ask, don't tell," before the service members had even been questioned.

It took steps to shut down the Yucca Mountain nuclear storage facility, in which Congress had already invested $12 billion, without securing an alternative site — the decision being based solely on policy reasons, not science.

While Obama pretended to be against — he later "evolved" — same-sex marriage, his administration unilaterally denounced the Defense of Marriage Act and said it would not defend it in court.

The administration granted waivers to certain states from the No Child Left Behind Act's math proficiency requirements, on the condition that these states impose its education policies. Outrageous.

It submitted a report to the United Nations Human Rights Council that sounded like a liberal policy screed, in which it strongly criticized America's "discriminatory" record against the LGBT community and minorities. It even offered up for review and critique Arizona's immigration law, an effort to allow an international body consisting of many notorious human rights-abusing and America-hating nations to pass judgment on our sovereign state. Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer was rightly incensed.

Obama unilaterally crammed down a restructuring of the automakers, in which he forced secured creditors to receive far less and enabled his unsecured union creditor friends to receive far more than the law provided. The administration disproportionately allowed minority- and female-owned dealerships to retain their businesses. And, as everyone now realizes, the Justice Department dismissed an already won case against New Black Panther Party members for voter intimidation, which DOJ insiders informed us was based on an unwritten policy forbidding the pursuit of such cases involving black perpetrators against white victims.

Though only 12 percent of employees are union members, the administration granted the majority of its 1,231 Obamacare waivers to plans run by labor unions.

Then-Defense Secretary Robert Gates was furious that the administration, in its shameless PR orgy following the Osama bin Laden raid, had leaked vital national security information that could put our troops at risk.

The Department of Justice has repeatedly refused to release the majority of "Fast and Furious" documents to congressional investigators, in flagrant contempt of Congress.

The administration pressured Solyndra to delay layoffs until after the November 2010 elections so as to avoid political damage, costing taxpayers an additional $40 million.

When a federal judge lifted the administration's offshore drilling ban, the administration just slightly rewrote it and re-implemented the ban, in defiance of the court. Administration officials also doctored a report from experts to deceitfully downplay the economic damage that would result from the drilling moratorium and overstate the environmental risk that would result from lifting the ban.

I'm just getting warmed up, but it suffices to say that it's past time for Democratic lawmakers to join with Republicans in defending our Constitution and our liberties against this rogue president.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2010, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles