Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 17, 2014 / 19 Sivan, 5774

Andy McCarthy's Faithless Execution

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My good friend Andy McCarthy has another book out, "Faithless Execution," which couldn't be timelier in view of the deplorable state of current events in America.

(Buy it at a 36% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 39% discount by clicking here)

Though I have been a consistent critic of President Barack Obama's — decrying his lawlessness and his disastrous and destructive policies — I have always replied in the negative when people have asked me whether Republicans should pursue impeachment against him.

My response has never been based on any doubt that Obama has committed impeachable offenses. Rather, it has been my painful awareness that impeachment is more a political matter than it is a legal one, and enormous political obstacles would surely prevent the successful conclusion of such a pursuit.

Sure, there's a chance a sufficient number of Republican representatives would support such an action, and impeachment, after all, is the prerogative of the House and not the Senate. But impeachment is only the formal charge against the president for the alleged offenses. Impeachment is followed by a trial in the Senate, and Democrats control the Senate. Only upon conviction by the Senate would the president be removed.

Other political considerations are relevant, as well. If Republican politicians and conservative commentators are reflexively accused of racism merely for criticizing Obama, can you imagine what kind of race baiting would ensue if Republicans actually proceeded to impeach the man? Even if race weren't an issue, the sad reality is that the modern Democratic Party is nothing if not partisan, and it would never go along with any effort to bring Obama to account for alleged "high Crimes and Misdemeanors." President Bill Clinton committed felony perjury, and Democrats wouldn't consider turning on him.

Not only that but with the collusion of the liberal media, Democrats have successfully revised history to paint Republicans as the wrongdoers for impeaching Clinton. Any misconduct of Clinton's was sanitized as merely about sex and having nothing to do with dishonoring his office and obstructing justice.

If we've learned anything from the Clinton impeachment ordeal, it is that impeachment is primarily a political matter, in the sense that it simply will not be successful unless the public is behind the effort. That is where Andy's book comes in.

The book's subtitle says it all: "Building the Political Case for Obama's Impeachment." Andy fully recognizes that unless we build the political case, the legal case is pointless, no matter how compelling.

Andy is not saying that we should impeach Obama right now. He understands that you can't effectively impeach (and convict and remove) Obama without the political support of the people but that you are not going to build that political support unless you convince them there is a strong legal case against him that warrants removal. But making the legal case involves demonstrating the broader definition of impeachable offenses, showing how Obama has committed them and then further convincing the people that these offenses constitute an assault on and a grave danger to our constitutional republic.

How does Andy — a lawyer's lawyer and a prosecutor's prosecutor — make his case? Here's where it gets interesting. He first provides us with a tutorial in limited government as crafted by our Constitution's framers and shows how our liberty utterly depends on this brilliant constitutional structure. He also gives us a primer on impeachment and what types of offenses constitute "high Crimes and Misdemeanors." Then he dovetails the two subjects together.



For it just so happens that the framers adopted this British historical impeachment standard precisely because they wanted the remedy available for those cases in which the president threatens the very framework of government through his actions.

That is, the framers wanted impeachable offenses to include not only criminal acts or other acts of moral turpitude but also those instances in which the president grossly breaches his fiduciary duty to the people to faithfully execute the laws of the land and to uphold the Constitution.

As Andy demonstrates in meticulous detail, President Obama has systematically undermined our system through his egregious pattern of lawlessness and disregard for the Constitution. Instead of honoring the rule of law, he has become the ruler of law. By usurping and abusing power, he has imperiled our separation of powers and our federalist system and thus our structure of limited government, on which our liberties depend.

As you can see, this is not about judging Obama and punishing him for wrongdoing as you would a criminal. It's about preserving our form of government and thus our liberties from his systematic threats. It is the opposite of how Democrats characterized (read: trivialized) Clinton's offenses, which was that he had just lied about sex. For Obama's offenses couldn't be more serious if we Americans still cherish our Constitution and our liberties.

The persuasiveness of Andy's trenchant and cogent arguments depends on whether we as a people still believe in liberty and limited government or we've become so jaded that we think of government as merely a means to our political ends. Do we want our government to safeguard our liberties or to determine winners and losers? Unless Americans still cherish their liberties and can be convinced that upholding the Constitution and the rule of law is essential to preserving them, any effort to impeach Obama would be pointless.

But if anyone has made the case, it is Andy McCarthy in this excellent book.

Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast