Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 16, 2013/ 6 Iyar, 5773

The World (America) Is Upside-Down, Part 2

By David Limbaugh




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Recently, I wrote a column arguing that the world is upside-down — by which I meant "our" world, America. Today I offer more exhibits in support of my case that our culture is unraveling.

I realize that in today's America, the notion that we should seek to preserve and promote the traditions, values and ideals that this country's founding generation mostly shared is considered not just passé but offensively wrongheaded. Yes, why would we want to perpetuate a once underlying consensus (and the Constitution formulated on it) that gave rise to the greatest nation in world history? Well, many don't, as they level further assaults on our Constitution, our liberty tradition and what used to be our shared values.

We haven't just accepted as normal what was heretofore considered abnormal; we are, increasingly, embracing evil while calling it good and demonizing those who are still "clinging" to traditional values. Unless you buy into the self-destructive course much of our society has decided to pursue, unless you consent to the systematic dismantling of our core foundations, you are the problem.

Let me give you a further sampling of the insanity that passes for normal and the wrong that masquerades as right, plucked right out of the news the past few days.

—Liberal Democrats in Congress are pressuring their colleagues to sign a pledge not to cut entitlement spending, even though it is objectively true that without structural reform in our entitlement programs, we are headed, inexorably, toward national bankruptcy.

—Grosse Pointe South High School officials canceled a Rick Santorum speech at the school and only reversed themselves after fierce criticism, though they will require students to obtain their parents' permission to attend the speech. The original cancellation was allegedly because of Santorum's opposition to same-sex marriage, even though Santorum apparently had no intention of addressing that issue in his speech.

—The liberal media have unconscionably suppressed reporting on the "House of Horrors" murder trial of abortion doctor Kermit Gosnell. A Wikipedia editor supposedly suggested that a Wikipedia article on the case be scrubbed completely.

—It could be that Gosnell's heinous practices were not necessarily unique. Reports of horrendous conditions at other abortion clinics are beginning to emerge.

—Julia Twenge, author of "Generation Me," reported that America's high-school "students are getting better grades for less work." Jack Kosakowski, CEO of Junior Achievement USA, said: "The only things our kids rank the highest in are confidence in their abilities. Math, science and everything else has gone down."

—A Florida man alleges that the teacher of his fourth-grade son told students to express, in writing (using crayons), their wish to trade constitutional rights for feeling more secure.

—The Common Core State Standards Initiative, a push to create national curriculum standards for K-12, which has been adopted by all but five states, reportedly abandons core academic classics in favor of reading executive orders from President Obama. According to the Legal Defense Association's Will Estrada, Common Core is teaching that "the United Nations is better than our Constitution and our Declaration of Independence."

—A U.S. Army officer dispatched to dozens of his subordinates an email missive labeling Christian groups such as the American Family Association and the Family Research Council as "domestic hate groups" because of their opposition to same-sex marriage.

—Democratic California state Sen. Ricardo Lara introduced a bill that would disqualify the Boy Scouts of America and other youth groups from some state tax exemptions for refusing to accept gay, transgender and atheist members and leaders.

—A Colorado State Patrol training exercise allegedly warned law enforcement officials to be wary of groups whose members believe — horrors — that America was founded on godly principles, Christians who take the Bible literally and Christian "fundamentalists."

—Some of us warned you: A writer for the liberal magazine Slate is outright advocating that we "legalize polygamy," which is, in the writer's words, "the constitutional, feminist, and sex-positive choice. More importantly, it would actually help protect, empower, and strengthen women, children, and families."

—A New Jersey judge has ruled that a Christian facility cannot ban same-sex civil union ceremonies on its own premises, because the Constitution allows — get this — "some intrusion into religious freedom to balance other important societal goals."

—The Washington attorney general has filed suit against a florist for allegedly refusing to provide flowers for a same-sex wedding because of her religious beliefs.

—Self-congratulating MSNBC host Krystal Ball used her own 5-year-old daughter as a prop on her national television show to ask her, "What if you were in love with a girl? Would you marry a girl?"

—Mark Zandi, who could become Obama's director of the Federal Housing Finance Agency, reportedly supports the use of principal reduction (a government-ordered partial extinguishment of debt) by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac to assist some of America's 6 million to 7 million "underwater" borrowers in refinancing their mortgages.

I'm sorry; I've run out of space.

<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DAVID'S LATEST
Does this book sound intriguing?


Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 45% discount by clicking here (Sales help fund JWR.)


Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.

© 2010, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast