Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 11, 2008 / 4 Shevat 5768

The hallmark of dignity, the essence of power

By Rabbi David Gutterman


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

Moses' powerful and eloquent response upon seeing Egypt fall


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week we heard the concise content of Moses' speech to Pharaoh — and it was a sort of shot heard 'round the world: "Let my people go." But were I to ask, what will become the essential and defining tag line for the strength and vitality of this union of Jews — we need to hear Moses' speech this week.


Let's put this in context. Moses, the reluctant but great leader of the Jews is now addressing a people who had been humiliated, enslaved and subjugated for 210 years. They had just lived through the ten plagues — and, contrary to our popular understanding, the rabbis suggest that 80% of the Jewish people of that day did not survive. As cacophonous as it sounds — Egypt was the first holocaust of our people. The survivors, as it were, had now witnessed the discomfiture of their oppressors and they were now preparing to embark on a journey. A journey which would entail the acceptance of a sacred charge — to become the union for G-d and holy values. Jews will journey to become a "kingdom of priests and a holy nation."


So on the eve of this liberation, what would you say to this nascent and fledgling people? What would be your state of the union message?


Listen to Moses' speech because it is potent. His wasn't a call to revenge or a call to power. He speaks to the people of the more essential and fundamental things; yes — of memory and of concretizing and institutionalizing memory — but more pointedly, Moses speaks of the future, children, and learning. "When your child will ask you tomorrow," "When your children will inquire of you, you will be able to say and instruct them," " And you will dialogue with your children."


In a word, Moses delivers a most powerful and eloquent response — how will this state of the Jewish union survive and thrive? In a word — education. A people can only be free and a society can only flourish where education is the passion. This is the hallmark of dignity, this is the essence of power, and this is the Jewish message.


Interestingly enough, universal education was not instituted in England until 1870 and even later in the United States. The Talmud tells us that universal Jewish education was already instituted by the end of the Second Temple period. "Remember for good the man Yehoshua ben Gamla...he instituted that teachers be appointed in every province and in every city. (Bava Basra 21a)


Is it any wonder that Time Magazine determined that the most seminal and significant event of the millennium was the advent of Gutenberg's printing press — sometime in the late 15th century. Why? Because now knowledge and an exchange of ideas can be writ large and more widely disseminated. Now, people can become "educated." How interesting and how enlightened - but isn't this what Moses was teaching the Jewish people a mere few thousand years before?

Partners in Torah


Friends, it would be imperious at worse, and presumptuous at best to demand of you to be a learned Jew. But, with the weight of our shared tradition on my side and the wisdom that inheres in her, I can rightfully coax and cajole you to become a learning Jew. Our community is blessed with many vibrant synagogues and many talented and engaging rabbis. Our community is rich with institutions in which Jewish studies from any discipline can be accessed. If it was ever legitimate to make a so-called New Years resolution it would be this: take one more Jewish studies course; seek out and engage a conversation with your rabbi; sign up for just one adult education session at your synagogue or a course offered throughout our many community partners.


So, were I to ask: what will become the essential and pivotal tag line that will define the state of the Jewish union? All we need do is take our cue from Moses — he was, after all, our greatest rabbi. "Let My People Go" was the speech he delivered to Pharaoh; but the speech that he delivered to the Jewish people was, 'Let My People...Know.' Dare I say, powerful then and powerful now.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Rabbi and Scholar-In -Residence: Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia and Executive Director of VAAD: Board of Rabbis of Greater Philadelphia.


© 2008, Rabbi David Gutterman