Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 27, 2006 / 27 Teves, 5766

Why would the All-Powerful need to rest?

By Rabbi David Fohrman


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


The second in a series of five articles



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week, we talked about what seems like a quirk in the way Orthodox Jews observe the Sabbath: Switching on a light on the Sabbath is for some reason considered "work", and is off-limits during this Day of Rest. But dragging a heavy table from one end of a room to another somehow escapes classification as work, and is a permitted activity. This sounds bizarre and nonsensical. Is there any rhyme or reason to be found here?


If you'll permit me, I'd like to make matters worse a bit before I try and make them any better. I'd like to explore with you some other conundrums we face when we try and define the Jewish concept of the Sabbath. By exploring a few of these, and looking carefully at the Biblical text, we will broaden our inquiry, and our chances of seeing the internal logic of the Sabbath will, I think, start to increase.

TWO THEOLOGICAL QUESTION MARKS
O.K. Let's try the following theological zinger on for size:


"Why, exactly, would G-d feel it necessary to rest after creating the universe? Was He tired?"


The question isn't as facetious as it sounds. Judaism, like many other major religions, conceives of the Almighty an All-Powerful being. That, indeed, is why they call Him "the Almighty". So if G-d is really All-Powerful, how difficult would it have been for him to create a Universe? Presumably, this didn't require a lot of exertion on His behalf. Well, then, why did He need to rest afterwards?


Well, that's one conundrum. And now, here's another:


Most of us seem to assume that Sabbath observance is tied to our acknowledgement that G-d created the world; that is, "we rest, because the Creator rested". But there is something odd about this when you get right down to thinking about it. Why do we commemorate G-d's Creation of the Universe through a day of "rest"? Why not instead set aside a day of "work"?


In case this question doesn't strike you as all that troubling, let's bring it out of the realm of abstract theology for a minute, and couch the problem in more mundane terms.


Imagine that the government decided to institute a special "Rosa Parks Day" on the calendar. Its intent: To commemorate the civil rights triumph of the black woman who refused to give up her seat to a white man on a segregated bus in Montgomery, Alabama. And imagine that officials were looking for some sort of symbolic activity they could promote on this day to honor the memory of Rosa Parks' great act. Eventually, they came up with the following: Everyone should go home on Rosa Parks Day, and take a nap in bed. Why? Because, you see, after Rosa Parks took her historic ride on the bus, she was tired, and she went home to rest in bed. So let's all commemorate Rosa Parks Day by resting in bed, just as she did.

SPECIAL OFFER FOR JWR READERS!

It's not the least bit of an exaggeration to say that Rabbi Fohrman is among the most innovative teachers of the Bible today. (We still receive requests to re-publish his previous series years after they've ended).

While we are privileged to have him on JWR, he'll shortly begin offering his own cutting edge online classes, exploring some fascinating questions in the Bible. The first series is entitled "Why Couldn't Moses Enter the Land?" — and it includes lectures, slide shows, discussion boards, and more.

We've made arrangements for our readers and their friends to sample the classes for a full month — gratis! (Bloggers and folks who have mailing lists have our permission to spread the word about the invite) Use this link: http://www.hffts.1shoppal.com/page/page/2892204.htm

Take advantage of the offer. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain!


I don't think many people would consider this a spectacular idea. If you really wanted to commemorate Rosa Parks, then we should re-enact her historic trip. People could spend part of the day riding on buses, or finding ways to fight racial prejudice in their home towns, just like Rosa did. But taking a nap? Somehow, that just doesn't seem to add up.


Yet on the Sabbath, isn't that really what the Torah is asking of us? We commemorate the Almighty's historic act of creating the world — and we do so by resting. We do this, we say, because the Almighty rested when He finished making the universe. But shouldn't we instead remember creation by "creating", rather than "resting"? The point isn't that G-d rested — it's that He made the world, right? Isn't "rest" just incidental?

BACK TO THE TEXT
Well, let's look at the verses and check it out. In Genesis chapter 2, the Torah chronicles the coming into being of the very first Sabbath. Listen carefully to these verses and ask yourself: Exactly what is the Sabbath designed to commemorate?


G-d finished on the seventh day the work that he had made, and He rested on the seventh day from all the work that He had made. And G-d blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it He rested from all the work that G-d had created to make (Gen. 2:1-3).


These verses tell us the reason the Almighty deemed the Seventh Day special: Because on this day He rested ... Now, think about what those words are actually saying. As strange as it may seem, the verse is telling us that the point of the Sabbath Day is not, actually, to celebrate G-d=s creation of the universe. It is to celebrate His rest.


One second. That sounds downright silly. How could anyone think that G-d's Rest is more important than His work — than the very act of creating the world? It sounds roughly like saying that the purpose of work is vacation. Vacation might be nice; it helps you gear up and refresh yourself to accomplish more things when you get back to work. But is vacation really what it's all about?

PURPOSEFUL REST
Evidently, the verses are telling us we need to re-assess our ideas about work and rest. G-d's rest, apparently, had very little in common with the idea of "vacation." It was not something that merely "happened" after G-d created the world; it was not that G-d took some time off for a breather. The Creator's rest was a deliberate act. It was a kind of rest that was, somehow, an end in and of itself:


You made the Seventh Day Holy for Your Name, it being the very purpose of the Making of Heaven and Earth ...


These words come from the backbone of the Friday night prayers Jews recite every week, from the Friday night Shemoneh Esrei. Listen to what they are saying. Sabbath, "rest", is portrayed as the very purpose of creation, the end for which the entire heavens and earth were created.


What does it mean to see rest in this way — not as something you do to help you work, but something which is the very point of all your labor? Why would G-d consider His "rest" more worthy of commemoration than His successful creation of a universe?


Tied up in the secret of rest's deeper meaning is the mystery of Sabbath itself. It is a mystery we will explore further next week.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspirational articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Rabbi David Fohrman directs the Hoffberger Foundation for Torah Studies, and is an adjunct professor at the Johns Hopkins University, where he teaches Biblical Themes. He has also authored several volumes of the ArtScroll Talmud.

To comment or ask a question, please click here.



Previously:


Joe on the Plane and the Meaning of Sabbath





© 2006, Rabbi David Fohrman